We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy rustic cabins on beautiful isolated pond”
Review of Spencer Pond Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer Pond Camps
GreenLeadersGold level
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy rustic cabins on beautiful isolated pond”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Spent three nights and had a wonderful time. Very beautiful and peaceful location. Serene. Owners friendly, helpful. gracious and hardworking. Cabin very clean, and very cozy. Cabins are rustic- but equipped with everything you need: well-equipped kitchen with gas stove and fridge and lights and hand pumped water at the sink, books and games. Beds so very comfy! Little wood stove kept the cabin cozy. Great hiking, fishing, swimming, canoeing, kayaking right outside your door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appletonridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Spencer Pond Camps is a very very special place. If you enjoy quiet walks, canoeing on an undeveloped large pond with the chance to see wildlife in their natural setting, being off the grid, gardens, wandering chickens, leaving your car behind, etc. then this is the place for you. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

A friend and I only spent one night at the camp - and it rained the whole time - but the camp was dry and warm, propane lights, and everything you'd need. The camp and outhouse was very clean and nice. This place is off the beaten path and has hiking, canoeing and kayaking right there. The screened in porch (with view) elimated any bug problem and it was quiet and peaceful. The owners were helpful and it's a great place for families.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank coast222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We hadn't even been at Spencer Pond for a full day when we'd already decided that we'd be back next summer -- this time, for a week. It was clear that four days wouldn't be enough time here!
We stayed at the Moose cabin & enjoyed the swing on the screened in porch more than anything, I think. Lucky the cat was a companionable visitor and the kids loved the "chicken parade!" when the hens & rooster would stroll through the lawn.
It's a very special place and the love that Christy & Dana have for it shines through. They are excellent hosts & we loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenduskeag
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Great couple days with my wife and dogs. Very dog friendly place. Great views across the lake and looking up at Spencer Mountain.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbrowning65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We rented a cabin at Spencer Pond after browsing through the website, and without really knowing what to expect. The reality was even much better than predicted from the already very nice website !
This place is absolutely unique, probably even more for European people, and since we left it I keep recommending it to every people we meet.
Despite some heavy rain, this will remain one of our very best moments in Maine !
Thanks Christy and Dana !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom_Bourgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We enjoyed a two night stay at Spencer Pond Camps in "Lunkers Lodge". It was perfectly sized and situated for two couples. The view of the mountain and the serenity of the "Pond" .....matchless. Dana and Christine are a hard working couple that understand what their guests want.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainer04917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
17.4 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
42 reviews
15.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
246 reviews
17.4 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
73 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Spencer Pond Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer Pond Camps

Property: Spencer Pond Camps
Address: 806 Spencer Pond Rd, East Middlesex Canal Grant, Greenville, ME 04441-6100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind "unplugged and off the grid" in natural beauty, the way life used to be. Built in 1901, Spencer Pond Camps are an authentic and historic Maine Sporting Camp. They are the only cabins on the pond and sit in the shadow of Little Spencer Mountain. 14 miles via dirt roads from our closest neighbors, on an undeveloped and scenic pond. Recognized as an environmental leader, we offer you a choice of six rustic wilderness lakeside housekeeping cabins - each with its own unique personality. The cabins are fully furnished for comfort including screened porches, rocking chairs, woodstoves, libraries and homemade quilts on the beds.Canoes and kayaks are provided free of charge. Plumbing is "out back" and relaxation is everywhere, non-modernized without electricity and reminiscent of "Little House in the Big Woods" these cabins will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer Pond Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing