We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing, peaceful”
Review of Wilson Pond Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilson Pond Camps
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I haved stayed here many, many times over the years and have always really loved it. The cabins are neat and clean and almost all are right on the water. It is truly the place to go to de-stress!

There is wildlife to see (we've seen moose several times) and love the loons on the lake. We've also seen an eagle a few times.

It is a pretty area of the country and good to see by hiking or renting a kayak or boat. Our hosts - Martine and Bob - are very helpful and you couldn't ask for nicer people. Their son, Chris, has a guide service as well for sightseeing or hunting.

We highly recommend this as a relaxing, peaceful vacation - either to just read and get some R & R, or utilize the lake for fishing and boating.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lollylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 43 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

Bob & Martine are the best. You feel like you are family as soon as you arrive at their piece of paradise. The views across the pond are beautiful. There are lots of loons calling out at night and swimming by during the day. We have been going there for ten years. We have stayed in every cabin there and love them all. I have one I love the best, but you will have to try them and pick out your favorite. It is very quiet and relaxing and we always hate to leave. The location is excellent, as you are away from the busy day life but close enough to stores, etc. so you don't have to travel for a long time to go shopping, eat out or get supplies. Some people go kayaking, fishing, hiking, etc. We just love to sit by the pond, read and relax at this beautiful place. GO, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All great... depends on your needs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We've been vacationing at Wilson Pond Camps for over 10 years. The cottages are absolutely spotless and the location is truly gorgeous. We've enjoyed numerous outdoor activites, as well as, just relaxing with a good book. We're always so warmly greeted by the owners, Bob & Martine Young, that we immediately feel that we've come back home. We highly recommend WPC!!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Maine97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We had the privilege of returning to WPC in 1997 and have since returned 2 or 3 times a year. The hosts previde a serene atmosphere in beautiful cottages created by Bob & decorated by Martine. The area is beautiful and a variety of animals and birds can be espied. This is the only location where we become physically and spiritually refreshed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peabee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Immaculate grounds and cabins, inside and out. We were even hard pressed to find a stray twig for toasting marshmallows! The cabins are not camps, they are beautifully appointed, small pine homes! Full kitchen, private deck or seating area outside, private dock, gorgeous view. We took kayaks out on Wilson Pond and had the most incredible time. I'd prefer staying here on Wilson Pond than on Moosehead for the privacy but you're only 5 minutes tops to downtown Greenville and the lake. Bob and Martine knew we wanted to toast marshmallows one night so they left charcoal for us so we didn't have to buy a whole bag. And speaking of charcoal, Bob cleans out the grill at each cabin after each guest - the grills look brand new - cleaner than ours at home! They maintain this property in pristine condition. And frankly their rates are more than reasonable for what they provide. Can't wait to return in the spring!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChezRookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

These housekeeping cottages are just perfect, they are clean, comfortable and have all the amenities you need while still fitting perfectly with the northern Maine setting. Wilson Pond is one of the most picturesque in Maine, quiet and serene. The Hosts, Bob and Martine, are wonderful and ready to make your stay perfect. The area has plenty to do from hiking, fishing, swimming, wildlife viewing (Moose, loons, eagles etc.) shopping and eating out if you want to. We will be returning again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clktwr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Amazing place!!. Great location, great hosts/owners. Cottages were spotless upon arrival, owners were so accommodating. Lots of activities, boating, fishing, kayaking, swimming, hiking, and looking for moose in the evening. Wilson Pond was so serene, you could sit back and read a good book while listening to the loons call, so relaxing!! It was so hard to leave, we will certainly be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalt1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
3.4 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
257 reviews
4.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
2.4 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Pond Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Pond Camps

Address: 15 Wilson View Dr, Greenville, ME 04441-4031
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside housekeeping cottages, less than 4 miles from downtown Greenville. Boat & Motor / Canoe / Kayak RENTALS. Wilson Pond is known for it's Land-locked Salmon, Lake Trout (Togue), and Brook Trout. The Pond is the home of numerous LOONS, nesting EAGLES, and an occasional MOOSE wading on the shoreline. Kayak or canoe our quiet waters and enjoy it all! Registered Maine Guide on site for guided moose tours, fishing trips and more. There is a no pet policy at our base camps, and the cottages are smoke free. 2 Of our larger cottages are open year round. Wilson Pond is known as the "Secret Gem of The Moosehead Lake Region." We are not far from town, and central to all the activities in the area. The "Pond" is actually a LAKE......Being over 4 miles long with depths over 130 feet. It has crystal clear waters for your total enjoyment! You can swim right in front of your own cottage. All of the cottages have their own docks, their own beach front, Adirondack chairs, picnic tables and BBQ grills (charcoal briquette type). It is drinkable well water right from the tap. The cottages offer electricity and hot & cold running water. Most have screened-in porches, wood stoves and automatic heat. All of the cottages are well supplied in the kitchens to do your own cooking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilson Pond Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing