We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great First Snowmobiling Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northwoods Outfitters - Day Tours

Northwoods Outfitters - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northwood's Outfitters Is Maine's Premiere outfitter and guide service. We offer guided trips like Moose Watching & Wildlife Photography tours, Fishing Trips for Salmon, Trout and Bass, Guided ATV, Snowmobile Trips, Canoe, Kayak, and Rafting. Our Gear rentals include Canoes, Kayaks, Paddle boards,Camping gear, ATV's, UTV's, Snowmobiles, Bikes and more. The outfitters shop carries great outdoor brands like Patagonia, The North Face, Trek, Salomon, Wilderness systems and much more!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
new jersey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great First Snowmobiling Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We'd never snowmobiled before so we booked a guided trip. Matt, was our guide, and he was great. We definitely would have gotten lost without him. My hubby loved the trip and the gorgeous scenery. My 17 year old daughter did get a little bored after a while.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CANJGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    15
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Awesome Experience from Folks from Georgia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We rented snowmobiles (2 days) and went on a guide ice fishing trip. Bothe experience were great! The staff worked with us to plan the days to go snowmobiling because the snow was not great at the beginning of our week in Greenville. I felt like they looked out for our safety! Better yet we visited the store everyday we were in Greenville (7 days) just to get recommendations on activities and dinner for the day! Matt was our guide for ice fishing and we had a great experience. The staff in the store and the guides were fantastic!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tresch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
“AWESOME!!! 9 MOOSE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went on a moose tour with Eric on October 7, 2013. The weather started out a little chilly with slight winds but by the end it was raining sideways with the strong winds blowing. Eric was so great with all his knowledge he shared with us about the moose and the Greenville area. The first 2 hours of the 4 hour trip we didn't see any moose but talking with Eric the trip was still enjoyable. We came to the pond and saw a large cow with 2 babies on the other side. The weather was terrible at this point. I didn't think Eric would want to canoe over to them in the pouring rain and the strong winds but he didn't miss a beat. He quickly got the canoes on the water and off we went. As we got out on the water we saw another cow that we were able to paddle right up to. It was so cool even though it was hard to keep the canoe straight. On the way back we saw a juvenile that turned to walk away from us when Eric called it back. It turned around and walked towards us, standing for a while before going into the woods. We saw several more on the way back with one being a big male with large antlers. He stood for a while looking at us as we took pictures and got great video. - We are already planning our next trip back to Greenville and will definitely be going on another moose trip with Eric. We can't say how much this trip meant to us and how much we appreciate Eric going above and beyond what we could have hoped for.-- The Wittmans, Ohio

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I did a 2:30 moose tour on a Saturday. Ashley, our tour guide, was a wealth of knowledge about local wildlife and talked for the hour-long ride (rough and bouncy at times in the van) to the pond. We quietly put in, nine of us in 4 canoes, and saw an adult cow immediately on the other side of the pond. Ashley had given us instructions earlier about the need for silence so as not to spook the moose, and we quietly rowed across the pond. There we sat silently watching the moose and taking a ton of pix. The cow tolerated our presence and after about 45 minutes slowly walked right by our rafted canoes, 25' away! Patience paid off. Ashley knew where to find moose and how to maximize our time in the vicinity of the animal. Money very well spent!

Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveler1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“AWESOME VACATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been looking forward to visiting Moosehead Lake for quite some time and the area did not disappoint. It was the best vacation that we have had in a very long time. Greenville, Maine - population 1200. The residents in this small town were polite, helpful,and so very nice. It is a little piece of heaven on earth. What really made our vacation however was Matt Lavigne, a Registered Maine Fishing & Recreational Guide from Northwoods Outfitters. Matt took us on two private guided moose safaris. The first day we say 9 moose.....yes - this is not a typo. It was AMAZING!! My husband specifically went to Moosehead Lake to photograph moose and he was able to take some phenomenal shots thanks to Matt. A bull moose went into the woods but Matt was able to "call" the bull moose back out of the woods. We saw cows, calves, and a bull moose with one antler!! He looked kind of grumpy - but you would be too if you lost an antler. Matt did a SUPER job and we had so much fun that we took another moose tour a couple days later again with Matt as our guide. We only saw one cow that morning but it did not matter. We had such a great time. My husband and son also went on a guided fishing tour with Matt. They had the best time. Matt is extremely knowledeable and went above and beyond to make our time enjoyable. We loved our time there so much that we plan to go back in June 2014 to see the calves. We are also going to rent an ATV and perhaps try fly fishing. We highly recommend Northwoods Outfitters if you are going to Moosehead Lake. But we call "dibs" on Matt when we go there in June 2014. ENJOY!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northwoods Outfitters - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Northwoods Outfitters - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing