We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Northwoods Outfitters - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northwood's Outfitters Is Maine's Premiere outfitter and guide service. We offer guided trips like Moose Watching & Wildlife Photography tours, Fishing Trips for Salmon, Trout and Bass, Guided ATV, Snowmobile Trips, Canoe, Kayak, and Rafting. Our Gear rentals include Canoes, Kayaks, Paddle boards,Camping gear, ATV's, UTV's, Snowmobiles, Bikes and more. The outfitters shop carries great outdoor brands like Patagonia, The North Face, Trek, Salomon, Wilderness systems and much more!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Lexington, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Moose watching was our favorite part of our trip to Maine. Matt was our guide and he was great. He picked us up at our bed and breakfast at 5:45 in the morning. We saw one moose in the road on the way to the pond. It took about an hour to get to our destination. Once we got to the pond we got in a canoe to paddle around and look for moose. The pond was peaceful and the scenery was beautiful. We paddled around for a little while before we finally saw a bull moose at the edge of the water. We were able to watch him for about 45 minutes. Matt was able to get us pretty close for us to get some good pictures.
After moose watching, we stopped by Northwoods Outfitters and asked about renting an ATV for the afternoon. They set us up with the ATV and we were on our way to enjoy the trails. Great customer service from everyone that we encountered. We are looking forward to making another trip to Maine and will definitely stop by Northwoods Outfitters to enjoy more of their activities!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    19
    6
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wildlife in their Environment--the Best Way to See Moose or any critters”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Eleven days in Maine--- that was our plan. We wanted to eat lobster every day, watch the waves break on massive granite boulders (some the size of small homes) watch shore birds, enjoy the beautiful forested land, see the light houses and did I mention eat lobster every day? We ended with two days left before our departure A passing conversation with another traveler brought up moose watching. We traveled inland to Moose Lake and settled, by good fortune, on an afternoon trip with North Woods Outfitters. Matt was our guide.

We drove an hour in a van to take a 2 hour canoe trip on a "pond"--very shallow where moose like to feed on underwater plants. The first hour we paddled and saw no moose but not a waste because it was peaceful and beautiful. Finally turned into another section of the "pond", which must have covered 3/4 mile in each direction from where we put in. There on far shore was a moose. We paddled to the area and watched for 10 or so minutes while a bull, cow and her calf from this year moved along the shore and into the water. Then the cow began to come farther into the water in our direction. Our guide held our ground and we spent an hour watching as they came within 10 to 12 feet from our canoe. What a thrill. It was the highlight of our trip. Matt was professional, informative, and relaxed and very respectful of the moose and all the wildlife. He was the perfect guide. This was an excellent experience---far beyond our expectations. We give unequivocal kudos to the North Woods Outfitters and to Matt.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to Maine. (well, my husband would say it was the seaplane ride!) ;) Ashley, our tour guide was spectacular! We learned so much!! We had to do a private tour since our children were so young (2 and 5), and she was awesome with the kids. She had our 5 year old ride with her in the canoe, and even let her have her own paddle help with the paddling. We unfortunately didn't see any moose on the water, but we saw one full grown cow on the way to the pond, just grazing...and she slowly crossed the road right in front of our truck, and once on the water, we got to watch a bald eagle for about 5 minutes and we also saw loons, and then 2 more moose (bull and cow) on our drive back to the store. Ashley was so informative and friendly and such a joy! She showed us signs of moose being in the area, showed us how to hide our scent with bog laurel, and by the end of it, my 5 year old little girl was convinced she had a new best friend! :) I highly recommend this tour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Backincincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Guided canoe trip with small children.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I visited Moosehead Lake as a teenager back in the early '80s on an Outward Bound trip and it was magical. Now I wanted to take my kid on just such a trip. I liked Northwoods' website the best of those that Google found for me. It was a fortunate choice. We went with our BFF family, also with a young child. NWO picked an itinerary on a nearby river that matched our skill level. It was lovely; exactly what I had wanted. They provided all of the gear and food for the trip at a very reasonable price. Our guide, Matt, was great with the kids and made delicious camp meals every time. We were able to fly into Bangor, then drive just an hour and a half to Greenville in a rental car because we did not have to bring our own camping equipment. All in our party agreed it was their best trip ever. NWO's home base store makes espresso drinks and sells everything you might need to have a good time around here. Matt says it is always best after July 4th because that is when nasty black fly season ends. There were Mosquitos so bring your repellent. There are no ticks however which is huge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice store”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We did not go on any tours this time but we did stop into their place. Very friendly people who gave us lots of info on where we might see moose in the area. Also got a good cup of coffee in the attached coffee shop. Worth a stop if you are in Greenville Maine. Next time we might take a moose safari with them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northwoods Outfitters - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Northwoods Outfitters - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing