We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and fun”

Maine Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Gray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: State run wildlife park whose wildlife is permanently injured, human dependent or had been raised in captivity; so cannot be released back into the wild.
Windham, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fun”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great outing for kids. It is clean, animals are well cared for, staff are great. We spent years going here when our children are young and will take grandchildren often.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank windhamged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    91
    21
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Winter tours are to die for!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It was a beautiful park and very well laid out. Staff were helpful and polite. We went on a photography tour and learned about how the animals were brought there. The amazing thing were most of them were injured or orphaned, and so accustomed to people that they were willing to tolerate our presence. Loved it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Saving Injured or Orphaned Wildlife”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice, well arrange and maintained facility. Not huge amounts of animals, but displayed behind cages, so photography not very good. But then, this is a place for the animals and not for the amusement of humans. The animals are obviously well cared for and protected. The grounds are nice and clean for humans to picnic and even have a birthday party. On the day of our visit the park was preparing a Halloween Walk for children.Only place I did get to see moose but the male chose to stay in his barn and the female and baby were resting in the shade . Minimal entrance fee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Maine wildlife park in Gray Me.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very clean , animals looked in very good condition, unable to "see " what most of their problems were , had a very enjoyable visit the moose were awesome .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maine Wildlife Park was the best time ever!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Maine Wildlife Park was the most awesome zoo ever! The staff was very friendly, and the animals wether they were close to you or not it is excellent! One of the best parks I have ever been to!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Maine Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing