We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in God's Country”
Review of Canalside Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake Stream
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canalside Cabins
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My husband cannot say enough about the hospitality of our hosts at Canalside Cabins and to the entire community of East Grande Lake Stream. This was our first trip to this area of Maine and we are intending to make this an annual event.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudette207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

We travel to Grand Lake Stream every year and absolutly love staying at Canalside Cabins. Whether it has been our annual summer or winter stay the owners of Canalside have always been extremly helpful in whatever we may need assistance with. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the surroundings beautiful. Whether you are visisting for a winter or summer adventure or to just get away and enjoy a relaxing trip in a wonderful spot, we would recommend this location to anyone interested in visititng the great state of Maine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip2010-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Canalside is a semi remote gem. The owners John & Mary go out of thier way to ensure your stay is comfortable and friendly. The cabins are clean and cozy , easily accessable to unload your gear and just a skip to the lake. You have all the comforts of home with just steps to some of the best fishing around. They offer rentals of many types of outdoor gear and bait is just across the yard in the basement of thier home. If you're not familiar with area John is a registered guide or he'll give helpful advise. Snowmobile trails are easily accessed with miles of excellant groomed trails. A local boat ramp makes summer fishing a breeze as well. Overall a sportsmans paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronvShapleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Grand Lake Stream is the place and this is the place in Grand Lake Stream. Clean rustic cabins with complete kitchens located a literal stone's throw from the stream and the dam pool. Run by the warmest and friendliest people. Always a great hunting or fishing experience. Many miles of ATV trails. A great family place. Their ad says "Welcome Home" and that's the way it feels. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

If you like to hunt and fish this is a great place to be. This is a family owned and operated business. The guide service is excellent along with the accomodations.Even if the action is slow you will still have a good time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brewsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Not only is it the most beautiful place we have seen, The hospitality of the Owners Mary and John make you feel like family. It is so relaxing. We wish we could go more often. We could go on and on about how great it is, but you have to experance it for yourselfs. Do yourself a favor and visit John and Mary at Canalside Cabins. I promise you will love it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The location near so many great waters and trails is fantastic. It is like a trip into an earlier time, yet it is actually quite convenient to reach any time of the year. The cabins are rustic, quite cozy and near the lakes, stream, and town. Fishing for the salmon during the fall run was great but I have done a guided Ice fishing and snowmobile excursion in January too and that was just simply fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoovmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canalside Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalside Cabins

Address: 31 Canal St, 31 Canal Street, Grand Lake Stream, ME 04668-4071
Location: United States > Maine > Grand Lake Stream
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake Stream
Price Range: $35 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Side Cabins located in Grand Lake Stream is a unique place in today's busy world. Imagine a small lakeside village, nestled in the woods, which has remained unchanged for generations. We are an all year facility with an array of Outdoor activities and Registered Maine Guides. All cabins are fully equipped with propane heat. We are proud to offer Traditional Guiding. Fly Fishing for Landlocked Salmon in the famed Grand Lake Stream to traditional Smallmouth Bass fishing on Big Lake. All types of hunting from Spring turkey to winter coyotes, Guided and non-guided. Visit us at canalsidecabinscom or call us Rates are per person, per night, based on double occupancy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing