We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”
Review of Weatherby's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake Stream
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Weatherby's
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our trip here was in August 2011. Jeff, Beth and family really make you feel at home at Weatherby's. Frank is a hoot. He has the best sense of humor. Chef Jonny whips up some great meals in the inviting kitchen. It is great to hang out in there. The cabins are rustic but clean and they have everything you need. The lake and stream are beautiful. It is such a relaxing place. The guides are first-rate. Steve was a great guide for a trip to the St. Croix. The shore lunch was delicious. The basket lunches are great. You pick your sandwich and beverage and it is ready for you at breakfast in an old basket and thermos. Also included are delicious pickles, fruit and a dessert in an old tin. It is charming! This was one of the best vacations. It was relaxing - it was nice to be pretty much off the grid - and the surroundings are just beautiful. The arts festival in August is really good which was a surprise for such a small town. There are exercise classes available at the post office for locals and visitors which was really nice. This was a wonderful experience! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GK704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, enjoyed it tremendously. Owners and staff are very accommodating. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean and orderly. Cook was excellent and the pepperboy was really good! The food and service was good. I will recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

From the time you arrive until you leave you are guaranteed an adventure not to be forgotten. Fly fish in beautiful Grand Lake Stream or cast in any of the numerous rivers or lakes. Your guide will make sure you have a fine day--a successful catch and a fabulous lunch. Fishing on the lakes and rivers in a Grand Laker Canoe and taking in the fresh outdoors is fantastic. Would love to do this every year, and some do. Back at the resort you can tell your fish tales and enjoy the hearty home-cooked meal. Plan to have fun!

Room Tip: Take your own fishing gear or let them put it together for you. Take warm clothing even in the mids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllenCA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Talk about being made to feel like you are one of the family! I had a great time and look forward to being with the folks at Weatherby's again. This is a true Maine tradition and and not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pskydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

One of my favorite trips of all time was to Weatherby's in early June 2011. I cannot thank Jeff, Frank and the rest of the staff enough for what turned out to be the trip of a lifetime. The fishing was phenomenal as I was guided by Jeff for two days fishing for smallies, and also caught some very impressive salmon fly fishing on Grand Lake Stream. The resort is pleasantly rustic with excellent food and customer service comparable, if not better, than a Ritz / Four Seasons type of stay. I can't say enough good things...I was blown away by these folks. I can't wait to go back next June. Cheers to Weatherby's for creating an experience that is truly unforgettable and at the same time keeping it affordable!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank upstatedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

To get away from the "world" and spending mother & daughter time was well needed.
It was actually last year in May 2010 when this last minute get away was decided. We showed up at last minute and at our luck a cabin was ready for us. The kitchen staff were so0o wonderful at getting us alittle late dinner together to fill us up before the end of the day.

We had a roomy cottage with a rustic fire place & lots of logs for the fire. Which was easy to start. Two comfy chairs to enjoy the fire place, allowing us to talk and laugh.
It was a perfect. We slept well and woke to singing birds. We had a exciting breakfast.
We fished, laughed and got sunshine. When the world is spining to fast, this patch of heaven will live in our memories for diaries to come. Thank You.
I will remember

Room Tip: It's a spa for the soul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Downeasterns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

My husband is a sport fishing captain/guide from Costa Rica so after a family reunion with my siblings and cousins we headed off to Weatherby's for a little alone time and fishing. My father, brother, and his girlfriend ended up tagging along and our romantic get away turned into a fantastic family trip with time for romance! From the moment we arrived we felt like we were at an old friends house! The staff and hosts were incredibly warm and welcoming. Our cabin was perfect! We had a fire going whenever we could and loved reading the journal with entries from past clients and their fishing tales. It is the perfect log cabin on the lake setting, and hearing the loons brought back childhood memories of summer camp in Maine.We fished with same guides everyday so we really got to know them and they us, which ultimately helped us have better fishing days. Their knowledge of the area and wildlife kept the conversations flowing, when it was time for talking! I have never been more comfortable spending all day in canoe as I was at Weatherbys! Picnic lunches on the side of the lake were gourmet treats and dinners were divine! Homemade meals with a gourmet touch! And there was nothing more relaxing then settling into our cozy cabin and reading by the fire after each long and fun packed day. We hope to return some day and hope to open our doors to the owners at our place in Costa Rica as well! Thanks Weatherbys...we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandpiperCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Weatherby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weatherby's

Address: Grand Lake Stream, ME 04637
Location: United States > Maine > Grand Lake Stream
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake Stream
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Weatherby`s Hotel Grand Lake Stream

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing