We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thanksgiving on Tugwassa...πŸ‘πŸ’–πŸŒ‡”
other travelers have booked this property
Tugwassa from pond side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tugwassa from pond side
new pond side deck and rockers 2017 from driveway/parking area- Tugwassa & screened gazebo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Tugwassa from pond side
new pond side deck and rockers 2017
from driveway/parking area- Tugwassa & screened gazebo
view from pond side door/deck; fire pit
5 kayaks available on site
full kitchen
dining area
between dining area and living room
living room
master bedroom- queen bed; looks out on pond 2017
Claw foot tub with shower. Full bathroom between bedrooms
guest room w/ twin beds,adjoins shared bath
Milky Way by guest Don Hite from dock
spring babies, may 2018
full moon at dusk from door
misty October morning
Bald eagle waiting for ice fishermen
New Year's snow
winter in Acadia
Corea harbor- Feb 2013
Acadia Sand Beach in winter
groomed x-c,  skate ski, and snow shoe trails in Acadia
village green and bay almost across from driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gouldsboro, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
noreen728
Contoocook, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanksgiving on Tugwassa...πŸ‘πŸ’–πŸŒ‡”
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Spent Thanksgiving week at Tugwassa.
What a relaxing getaway... The setting on Jones Pond is beautiful with views of the water from almost every window. Cottage itself is very comfortable and has everything needed for a weeks stay.
The cottage comes with a wonderful history which can be seen throughout it's furnishings. The owner, Anne is wonderful to deal with and was very accommodating when I needed to make a change in my booking. The area is great for exploring! Very close to the Schoodic Peninsula area of Acadia National Park. Also easy day trips to Lubec/Campobello and Acadia National Park on Mt. Desert Island.
Definitely looking forward to returning in the warmer weather to take advantage
of the kayak/canoe and easy water access to beautiful Jones Pond.
Thank you Anne for sharing your lovely cottage!!
Noreen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2017
Noreen, I am so thankful to have met you and been able to share Tugwassa with you! I look forward to paddling with you come warmer weather! Safe travels and adventures until you return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LV69Dawg
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pure Peace and quiet”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you are seeking peace and quiet in a beautiful location this is it. The cottage has a world of old charm and perfect for a lingering morning of coffee just watching the wind blow through the trees. If you stay then you must go out on the pond in the provided canoe or kayaks. We were able to experience the leaves changing and it made the place that much more magical. The area is just far enough away yet close enough to anything you would need.
Anne will provide you with any info you need. The best was a recommendation to the Pickled Wrinkle. Excellent place with scratch made food.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
Thanks, Tom! Glad you has such a great week of good weather! Autumn is not usually this mild in mid October; you lucked out!! Now you will have to think about coming back for more relaxation and exploration! "Lunch on the Wharf" in Corea is an experience, but closes for season earlier in October! How did you two do on the Tugwassa "scavenger" hunt?
anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Court L
1 review
“A little piece of serenity”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We loved our stay here. Very comfortable and cozy. The stobe was a nice touch for cool evenings. It was far enough from crowds but close enough for day trips to Acadia National Park. Do yourself a favor and turn off all the lights and just enjoy the night sky.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thanks, Courtney! I am so glad you had some clear weather to explore and see the night sky. Do come back again, as there is soooo much more to do! anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaD163...
1 review
“Peaceful & relaxing place to stay.”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Away from all the hustle and bustle. A very peaceful cabin sitting on a georgous pond. Yet close enough to drive to town and other wonderful landmarks. (Acadia Natl. Forest, Schoodic Pennisula, Bar Harbor, other quaint harbors as well. many preserves to hike in the area. If your looking for quiet, peaceful, relaxing yet close enough to surrounding towns then this is the place for you. Owner very friendly and as helpful as you need her be. So much to see and do I have to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2017
Thanks, Donna! I hope you do come back! There is so much more to see and do, as well as just relax! Who knows? You might find your moose next time!! ;-) And go fishing!!
Thanks for leaving the cabin so neat and clean. I really appreciate it!
anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad1722...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, calm, waterfront!”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very close to everything..Got fresh lobsters right down the road. Schoodic point very close , amazing views and part of Acadia National Park. Short ride to Bar Harbor and Acadia Ntl Park..Grocery shopping close. Lots of little places to eat. Went to Bar Harbor 4 times..so much to see and do. Lots of antique shopping everywhere. Cabin had everything you needed..just bring yourself...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Thanks, Dee! Great to see you again! Glad you enjoyed good weather for the most part and got to relax. Sorry you had to leave a few days early; you'll just have to come back again! Thanks for doing such a great job cleaning up!!
Happy autumn!
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bc D
Robesonia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gets better every year”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've been vacationing in this area for 33 years and at this cottage for four. This is a real "down east" lived-in home instead of the usual glamorous lakeside cottage. Jones Pond is full of fresh water bass and trout; and the sea with its gorgeous sunsets is just a four minute walk away. Our hosetess, Anne, has thoughtfully provided all the furnishings, equipment and extras that one needs, including row boat which is ready for your outboard motor, new canoe and several kayaks. The new improvements we enjoyed this year included a flt screen TV with HDMI connectors, a new queen bed and a front deck with weather proof rocking chairs. We thought the seafood restaurants in Winter Harbor, Corea, Sullivan and Hancock were better than ever this year. Well, we've already made our booking for next year. Can't wait!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
Thanks, Been & Jane! I listened to some of your suggestions last year!! Glad you had a good 2 weeks, and look forward to seeing you again next summer. And thank you for caring for my beloved Tugwassa! Happy autumn to you!
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
couple777
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“True Maine Experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

While Bar Harbor is great - and busy - Tugwassa is quiet, serene, relaxing and close to everything, including awesome Acadia National Park. The canoe and kayaks were such a treat and while they may call it a "pond" you can spend the whole day canoeing or kayaking on this beautiful "lake". We bought fresh caught lobsta direct from the Corea wharf and had 3 awesome dinners in our home away from home - WAY better than a restaurant. Thank you Anne for sharing your peaceful and unique cottage and letting us see the real Maine right out our front window. The Fall colors were simply spectacular!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing