We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dishes”
Review of 91 South

91 South
Reserve with OpenTable
91 South is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Gorham
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: 91 South featured an intimate dining room often with live music. Our cuisine integrates savory combinations from around the world into local fish, beef and produce. Our wine list boasts of 65 wines by the glass and almost 100 bottles priced at only $10 over suggested retail. Never again be taken to the cleaners with an overpriced bottle of wine.
boston,ma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful dishes”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals. We shared the brussel sprout salad, the naan bread, the chicken schnitzel and the flat iron steak. Everthing was expertly prepared. Wonerful options of bar drinks and wines.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tempted_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Trip!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

After reading the outstanding review in the Maine Sunday Telegram Audience section recently, we were intrigued enough to give this Gorham, Maine, restaurant a try. Unlike the experience of one of the other T.A. reviewers, we were warmly welcomed on a Friday night. The atmosphere is cozy and warm, and we joined a number of parties in the very small dining room. The food choices, while not extensive, were varied enough that we had trouble making our selections -- and the food was great! Service was friendly and gracious. The wine list was extensive for such a small place, and the detailed explanations of each wine in the back was very helpful. We had a wonderful evening, and look forward to returning again and again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming Owner- good food, nice atmosphere sullied by inhospitable reception”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were so looking forward to visiting the wine bar after reading positive things and being happy about not having to travel into Portland. We arrived early in the evening (6-6:30) and when we walked through the door the owner and staff member were very close to the door. We weren't greeted and after a moment of blankly looking around to figure out how to get to the wine bar, we asked. We were brusquely asked by the owner who seemed annoyed (it felt like trespassing) if we had a reservation (we did not as we were out for a glass of wine and appetizers, preferring casual bar seating). We explained we were there for a glass of wine and asked if we could also have appetizers. The owner responded that they "probably" could do that. When we entered the wine bar, there was only 1 table of the 8 or so taken, and all of the bar stools were available. If we hadn't arranged a babysitting drop off of our daughter to a babysitter in Gorham, the unwelcoming reception would definitely have caused us to go elsewhere. It's too bad because we had hoped it could become an easy regular Friday night spot for us without traveling into Portland. We asked the server (who was much more gracious than the owner) if reservations were accepted for the bar stool seating and they are not, which made the reception (or lack thereof) odd, in addition to off putting.

The food was very good, nice acoustic music, and the room itself was warm and cozy. Unfortunately, the tone set by the owner is the opposite of warm and welcoming. We won't return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitME, Owner at 91 South, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I apologize for such a delay in responding to your experience. I only now realized we had a review page on TripAdvisor. I will certainly admit, from time to time I can be rather unpleasant. And it appears I was so during your visit. I won't make any excuses for that but will extend my sincere thanks for your trying us out and apologies for your experience. Your welcome is not how I wish to great our customers or expect anyone here to greet our customers. I hope perhaps you might try us again next time let us know you are coming. As you know, we only have 4 chairs at the bar and 7 tables. Let us take care of you the way we should have the first time. Again with my thanks, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

PineCrest Inn and Restaurant is a treasure. Wonderful accommodations, tastefully appointed, in a quiet, yet central location near the Maine Turnpike. The inn's restaurant, 91 South, is outstanding, with exquisitely prepared food, delightfully presented, in an upscale pub/restaurant atmosphere. Breaksfasts are also fabulous. The ultimate gems: the owners and staff. Yes, we would go back in a heartbeat. Use this B/B as a location from which to travel around southern Maine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
330 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“forget portland go to gorham”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

91 South [both address & restaurant name] @ the pine crest inn is outstanding; food is freshly prepared, well flavored & spiced and quite eclectic. Most dishes are a mélange of flavors. We had: shrimp etouffee over rice-good, not too hot or over spiced & no skimping on the shrimp, also-chicken schnitzel with spaetzel-again freshly made, well flavored and just down right good. With a glass [or 2] of vinho verde made a great meal. Desert was carrot cake, made in house=great. Great place to come=only open Thurs-Sunday for dinner.
Well worth the visit!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 91 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing