We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great atmosphere, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osprey Restaurant

Osprey Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

A bit on the pricey side for a marina restaurant (sailors are a notoriously cheap bunch), but a great location and atmosphere overlooking Riggs Cove in Georgetown, ME. Service is very good, staff are great, Food is above average, certainly plentiful. If you're already there, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    49
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
230 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Acceptable but not great....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Services was a little haphazard. We had a reservation and they kept us waiting for about 15 minutes past our scheduled arrival time. The waitress was perfectly pleasant but a little spacey when we asked questions about several of the dishes. Portions were nicely sized and the three of the four entrees we ordered were good. The crab linguini had miniscule amounts of crab in the dish. The lobster fritters were yummy. There should be a note on the ceasar salad that it's a deconstructed ceasar with basically half a head of lettuce you have cut up yourself. The fried clams were perfectly respectable, while the clams themselves were small, the portion was generous. Pricess seemed a little high for what you received, after all, this was a marina, not downtown Portland. Beautiful views - ask for a table on the screened porch (NOT the unscreened deck).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seems like a Down year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I keep a boat in Robinhood Marina where the Osprey is located, so have patronized the restaurant for years. Seems like there is a new operating group every year. This year (2012) is not wonderful. The food perhaps is a little more imaginative than than in previous years, and more expensive, but the service is pretty poor. At my last visit there they were totally disorganized and service was very slow. I had the impression that they were all novices at running a restaurant. For reasons that escape me they refuse to take any reservations for 6p or 6:30p which means the options are 5:30 or 7p. Guess what happens when all the 7p reservations arrive promptly. Still a wonderful view out over the marina and osprey nest however.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Firespotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Resident ospreys and straight from the pound lobster1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

When we visited and ordered lobster, we watched the kitchen staff go down and pull the lobsters out of the pound -- can't get fresher than that! The view from the window tables (and deck) offers a beautiful panorama of working fishermen and a marina full of pleasure craft. You can almost be guaranteed to see osprey if you visit June - August. The Osprey's menu has changed from years past, and the fare has expanded beyond the usual waterside offerings. Still their deep-fried seafood and steamed lobsters are excellent. Expect to battle a crowd 5:30 - 7:30 on weekends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThreeRosettes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Visited twice, not again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This will be short and to the point, not only did the chef burn the top of the haddock to a crisp, but then the waitress put 3 plates of it in front of 5 five of us. My pasta was dried and had been sitting too long.
This is a place where boaters and tourists can get food and say, well we don't have to go back again. Every year we hope for better food, and we are still waiting.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flowergirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osprey Restaurant also viewed

Georgetown, Mid Coast Maine
Georgetown, Mid Coast Maine
 
Georgetown, Mid Coast Maine
Georgetown, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Osprey Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing