We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coveside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ultimate B&B”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Tom & Carolyn were the perfect hosts. The attention to detail was outstanding - even a Mosquito Magnet to ensure we ate but weren't eaten. The accommodations were excellent, the breakfasts delighted all (and one of our group is a celebrity chef) - do not miss the best ever blueberry muffins! Tom's knowledge of the area was superb and his recommendations stellar. The lobster shacks were great, and for an excellent dinner the short trip to Bath is worthwhile.
Bowdoin College Museum and the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay were excellent side trips, providing balance to relaxing in situ. We had traveled from San Francisco and four days at Coveside were the perfect start to our vacation - relaxing, rewarding and far more than we had hoped for. Tom and Carolyn have made converts of those in our group who had concerns about staying at a B&B - I doubt if the Coveside has an equal, so a return trip is being discussed.

Room Tip: We traveled as a small group and the cottage was perfect - with three bedrooms and a living room it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
150
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This summer we really wanted to gorge ourselves on lobsters and, thus, decided that we'd take a long weekend trip to Maine. A search of tripadvisor quickly led us to deciding on Coveside. There's not much more to say than what's already been said by previous reviewers.

We got a lovely welcome email from Tom & Carolyn and booked kayaks right away (which were delivered right to the b&b). A small recommendation would be to get help lugging the kayak to the dock - extremely heavy and unwieldy otherwise.

Carolyn and Tom were nice. Very accommodating and helpful when we had questions about what to do and when (even helping to check sea levels). But, also, we were, for the most part, left alone.

The accommodations were clean and tasteful - better really than the pictures show. The views from the rooms (we stayed in both Alice's and Tom's rooms) were breathtaking. Having makeup removing toilettes were a really nice and useful touch. The one thing I will mention is that the water in Alice's room wasn't as hot as we'd liked (though we just thought maybe it was from the well water?), but the water in Tom's was very hot! Maybe just a fluke? But, certainly not something to elevate to a complaint.

The breakfast was wonderful, and if Carolyn was offering breakfast, lunch and dinner, I think we would have gone for it most of the time. My boyfriend who does not like sweets or breakfast pastries, was happily gobbling down the blueberry muffins - which were, indeed, the best both had ever had.

Finally, we had a lot of privacy and really didn't hear any of the other guests during our stay, with the exception of breakfast, of course. Most guests appeared to be much older than us (we were 22 and 36 at the time), but that's basically what we were expecting. It seemed like mostly couples with maybe one single person during our brief stay.

The bed & breakfast was in a really nice location. We drove to various lighthouses and lobster shacks each day. The lobster shacks were great, but we were unimpressed with many of the dinner options at the restaurants. I found them to generally be overpriced and mediocre.

I would definitely recommend this place to others, without any reservations, and look forward to being a guest again.

Room Tip: Tom's has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I spent a very delightful long weekend at Coveside B and B. Our room was beautiful, the breakfast and cookies were outstanding and Tom and Carolyn were the perfect hosts. We were able to relax and we felt right at home. We hope to make this an annual trip as we research my family ties to the Bath area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was our second visit and it was just terrific, excellent food, room, hospitality from Tom & Carolyn (their knowledge of the area is great) plus the addition of the barn with the TV so we could watch the baseball! (even tho' the red Sox lost out) We are now safe back in England, still dreaming of our stay in Alice's room. What a view. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizHoward_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We came to Coveside upon the recommendation of a family member who has stayed at this B&B many times. Gorgeous natural setting, top drawer hosts, lovely rooms. Absolutely delightful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nappiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

After reading previous reviews, I cannot think of a single original compliment that has not already been paid to Coveside and its hosts, Tom & Carolyn. Our stay---a celebration of my 70th birthday---was exquisite. Coveside has been our very favorite B & B experience to date.

Oh, perhaps there is a unique addition to previous already excellent reviews: Carolyn was kind enough to refer my sister, who lives in CA, to Five Island Farms which is down the road apiece. Upon our arrival, a tasteful, not-your-ordinary gift basket---complete with chilled sparkling wines, artisan cheeses, crackers, fruits, chocolates and a blueberry cheesecake---filled with Maine-made treats awaited us! We luxuriated in this feast, for which Carolyn provided all utensils, in the comfy Adirondack chairs at the edge of the cove.

Believe you me, it doesn't get any better than Coveside!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickers925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This bed and breakfast provided one of the best weekend get-aways I've ever had. Beautifully decorated, peaceful, welcoming...Breakfast is to die for...and I usually don't grab more than a piece of fruit and a yogurt for breakfast! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amd-cba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
2.7 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
347 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
4.0 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
1.3 mi away
Grey Havens Inn
Grey Havens Inn
#2 of 4 in Georgetown
149 reviews
4.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coveside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coveside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Coveside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 Gotts Cove Ln, Georgetown, ME 04548-3922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Georgetown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish inn on a quiet cove in mid-coast Maine. All rooms have views down the lawn to Sheepscot Bay and beyond; some rooms have fireplace, spa tub, private deck. Bikes and a canoe for guest use. Great kayak access. AAA rated 3 diamonds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coveside Bed And Breakfast Georgetown, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing