We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful retreat for a family reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coveside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Coveside was chosen by the most discerning member of our family, so I knew it would be more than satisfactory, but from arrival to departure it was special. It was like stepping into a different world, free from the noise and clutter of the world I came from. It was the perfect place for our rather large family to congregate, but yet not get in each others way. Water sports, walking paths and beautiful gardens to just sit back and enjoy. The views were spectacular. We loved the breakfasts on the patio where we lingered and caught up on everyone's lives. Then after a day of exploring MacMahan Island, our host and hostess's summer retreat, we congregated back at the Coveside cottage for more gab sessions. One of the highlights was a catered Lobster roast right there on the patio. You can't as for more than that.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Queen room on the first floor. Very comfortale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginiatraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

The whole experience was all we hoped for and beyond! We had time to be alone and with other guests as we chose. Wish we would have stayed longer! Very relaxing and amazing breakfast. I highly recommend for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerfun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our stay was everything I expected and more. The location is peaceful and out of the way but at the same time convenient to Reid state park, a lobster shack, and a couple of other restaurants. The facilities are nice and have everything you need, including bikes to borrow and a canoe to take out on the water. Breakfast is good too. There us a one cup coffee machine toi if you like your coffee a certain way!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elleellenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed 3 nights at Coveside over the July 4th weekend with my boyfriend and it was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were gorgeous and hosts were incredibly gracious. The breakfasts were different everyday and were delicious! Tom, the host, was kind and helpful with tips about how to get around the area and what to see/visit. The garden was beautifully landscaped and the view of the sea was priceless. Having traveled extensively and been to many different hotels, inns, B&Bs, I must say that this is my absolute favorite. My boyfriend and I will certainly come back for a visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thamluong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

You can safely believe all the reviews – this place is really special. We stayed 3 nights at Coveside and Carolyn and Tom seem to have hit upon a winning formula. Furnishings and fittings throughout the Inn are of the highest standard and taste – it’s immaculately appointed and maintained. The location is perfect – right on the cove. Within our first 10 minutes of arriving we had spotted an osprey perched high up in the trees.

There is lots to see and do here – you could spend a day at Reid State Park and the Five Islands village is very pretty. Bath is about a 20 minute drive – great restaurants and shops.

We stayed in an upstairs Cottage room which was huge, with a private balcony. What I loved is that the innkeepers have not skimped on the communal areas – there’s plenty of space to chill out and relax; the porches, the sitting room in the main house, the patio and the den in the Cottage. They have thought of everything. You can help yourself to tea / coffee, soda, beer and cookies. You can bring food back if you like. Make sure you read the binder of helpful notes and local insights that’s in your room – I think Tom wrote it. It’s very funny and full of great tips – his patter at breakfast is great too. Tom and Carolyn are natural hosts – her cooking is amazing, the breakfast menus are inspired and well executed. They’re posted the night before on the chance you want to make a special request.

Our stay coincided with the Stanley Cup final and while we don’t usually want to watch TV on holiday, it was great to be able to follow the matches comfortably in the garage / barn, far enough away so as not to disturb the other guests.

We loved it all and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The attention to detail at Coveside is exceptional and we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. Carolyn is a wonderful chef and her breakfasts were delicious. Goat cheese, wilted greens, and bacon omelet anyone? The gardens are gorgeous, the setting beautiful, and the location quintessential mid-coast Maine. Tom is an entertaining historian and storyteller, and both innkeepers can guide you toward any activity in the area you wish.

We stayed in the smallest room, but it was very comfortable with a to-die-for view. There are a variety of common living areas to cozy up in, as well as fridges stocked with soda, seltzer, and beer, never-empty cookie jars, a Kindle loaded with the daily New York Times, plenty of great reading material, and fireplaces.

We enjoyed lounging on the dock watching the lobster boats and the tide rise and fall, and a highlight was paddling their canoe around the point to Five Islands Lobster wharf. We're definitely going back. Coveside is a treasure (and no, the innkeepers didn't pay me to write this review!).

Room Tip: Upstairs cottage rooms probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This was our second time at the Coveside, our first being our honeymoon. Along with an expertly crafted breakfast from the finest pastry chef we know of, you will enjoy the peace and serenity of the Coveside. From every room, you can view the tides rising and falling while the lobster fisherman come and go. After which, you can talk a lovely walk to the 5 island lobster co, and enjoy a fresh Maine lobster.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
2.8 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
4.0 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
239 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
464 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grey Havens Inn
Grey Havens Inn
#2 of 4 in Georgetown
162 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coveside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coveside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6 Gotts Cove Ln, Georgetown, ME 04548-3922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Georgetown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range: $208 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish inn on a quiet cove in mid-coast Maine. All rooms have views down the lawn to Sheepscot Bay and beyond; some rooms have fireplace, spa tub, private deck. Bikes and a canoe for guest use. Great kayak access. AAA rated 3 diamonds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coveside Bed And Breakfast Georgetown, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing