We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best trip we've ever had”
Review of Oxford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxford House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We had driven by the Inn a number of times going to New Hampshire, always wondering how the accomodations were. For my wife's birthday, I decided it would be a good time to experience the Oxford House Inn. We stayed in the "Porch Room", which was absolutely gorgeous. It had all the country charm you would expect at an older inn, with many modern amenities. The bathroom had a two person whirlpool tub, new stone tile, and the best shower I have ever used. The room was divided with a porch sitting room, and a bedroom with a very comfortable king bed.
We had dinner at the Inn, which was perfect. My wife and I agree, it was one of the best meals we have ever had. Everything from the appetizers, to the homemade Belgian milk chocolate ice cream for dessert--absolutely perfect. You could tell every ingredient was fresh and the meals were expertly prepared--which was evident in the flavors and its presentation.
Breakfast was heavenly. I had the stuffed french toast with strawberries and white chocolate. Again, it was quite possibly the best breakfast I have ever eaten. To top it all off, the beautiful morning view looking at the White Mountains was just breathtaking.
Go see for yourself...you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 249 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Natalie and Jonathan have created a warm, inviting atmosphere with particular attention to detail. The meals were substantial and the wonderful aromas emanating from the kitchen when we arrived were confirmed by the quality of our dinning experience that evening. Upon waking up the next morning after a snow storm, we discovered that Jonathan had not only removed the snow from the parking lot, but had cleaned off our vehicle prior to starting breakfast. We will be back with friends. The dinner/lodging package is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

If your looking to stay at a place that feels homey and welcoming, then the Oxford House Inn is the place for you. I was looking to go skiing and snowmobiling with my son for the week-end and happened to come across the Oxford House Inn. The owners Natalie and Jonathan were so friendly and gracious. The food which is prepared by Jonathan himself is phenomenal. High quality for sure. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. I give the Oxford House Inn 5***** stars for sure. Check it out!!!!!

Michael and Dante
Medford, Mass

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mkfd16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

We spent a week at the Oxford House Inn during some of the coldest weather we've ever experienced (-23 degrees!). Yet the Inn and the Innkeepers were warm and inviting. Each morning we wondered what delectable freshly baked treat was awaiting us in the breakfast room. We were never disappointed! The breakfasts were quite substantial. The suite we occupied was roomy and the bed very comfortable. The dinner we shared with our family and friends in the dining room at the Inn was exceptional. Each entree was nicely prepared and very tasty. And the "Pub" in the basement was an unexpected surprise, with a nice bar, some small tables, a sofa and soft chairs. We look forward to future visits.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank foxcubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We just spent a long weekend at The Oxford House Inn with our kids (ages 20, 19, 12) It was absolutely GORGEOUS there. The Inn is beautiful, the inn keepers - a young couple - Natalie and Jonathan Spak were really really wonderful. They also have two beautiful dogs who are so sweet and laid back. Loved them!

The view of the mountains is breathtaking from 2 of the 4 rooms they rent (the other 2 rooms face the downtown - main street - still very pretty). All 4 rooms are spacious and have their own bath. They did most of the renovations themselves. It really shows how much they put into the small details and extra care taken in renovating and making their accommodations comfortable, spacious and beautiful. Same with the restaurant part of the house and the basement that was turned into Jonathan's Pub. Very very cool. ! The restaurant and Jonathan's Pub were EXCELLENT. The food is top notch. The gourmet breakfast each morning was delicious. And the coffee - I had to buy a lb of it to take home - it was THAT good. If you go up there, you have to ask them about their coffee, maple syrup, etc. Great little stories !

The rates are very reasonable and includes a gourmet breakfast each morning. They welcome well-behaved children but this is definitely geared more towards adults and children over age 12. Truly outstanding. There are also local restaurants and pizzerias within walking distance in town. North Conway, NH is a short 15 min drive from the Inn. www.oxfordhouseinn.com

Next door is Fryeburg Snowmobile Rentals (Terry is the owner). Literally a short walk in the snow around the backyard to the snowmobiles. The view out back faces a very large field, maple trees and a gorgeous view of the mountains. You rent the snowmobiles and drive down the field onto the trails. That easy ! They have 30 new Arctic T500 machines ! We rented two double sleds and had a great time ! They provide you with a map with detailed trails. Rumored to have over 1000 miles of trails from this area ! www.sledandbed.com

We also snow tubed at Cranmore Mtn. It was $22 pp for 2 hour session. It was a lot of fun. Great for all ages ! They have a towline or you can walk up the mountain. They have 2 sections for snowtubing. After the first towline, you walk further up to another towline that is higher up the mountain. This snow tube trail is steeper and longer ride. We did a few runs on that one and then walked to the lower one and finished with a few more runs from there. Great time and not as cold as the weathermen predicted ! Just dress warmly and in layers and you will be fine ! They have a small tent setup at the bottom with two port o potties (a rest room is not that far of a walk either) and snack machines and two picnic tables with heaters running at all times - in case you need to warm up or need a short break. www.cranmore.com

We will definitely visit there again !

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BL4330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

This was the second time we have stayed at the Inn and hope to make it an annual event. The room, the food, the drink...it seems no detail is left out. The care and work they put into the Inn really shows and makes it a very special experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed at the Oxford House 1 night and had a really nice night. We ate at the lounge/pub downstairs and my husband and I both loved the food, along with the room. He went with the standard burger (although simple, it was delicious) and I had the corn/lobster fritters and a bowl of mussels. Our waitress was great as well. I could have easily taken a shower in the mussel broth, it was THAT good. This is the first time we had eaten at the restaurant since it switched owners and I'm happy to review that their standards are obviously just as high as the previous owners.

We stayed in the Sewing Room, which was lovely. However, and this may be just chalked up to personal preference, the mattress was very HARD and a smidge uncomfortable for us. Again, it might just be preference, but if you like a medium firm mattress (like we do), this bed will be too hard for you. Other than that, the bathroom is teeny tiny (no big deal). The breakfast the next morning was delicious and again, the young woman who served us was great. We will definitely be revisiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bridgton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oxford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House Inn

Address: 548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037-1146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range: $178 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price range (per night) $149-$205 USD. Clean, contemporary, Arts & Crafts Style inn celebrating rich history of the area. Traditional features include dramatic use of hardwood throughout and stunning mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Oxford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Hotel Fryeburg
Oxford House Inn Fryeburg, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing