We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding weekend”
Review of Oxford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxford House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
“An outstanding weekend”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We would highly, highly recommend the Oxford House. We first visited a year ago and have been back several times since. We recently celebrated my birthday with a fantastic meal and a lovely overnight in a beautiful room. The Oxford House is a treasure, and we will be back again soon. Food, room, service all outstanding - and the view is spectacular.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back have the lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you, Jeannie M, for your comments. The views you speak about are changing all the time; now we see budding trees and fields getting ready to bloom. It has been wonderful celebrating your birthday with you and look forward to many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    17
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
146
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
woodbury, CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Needed to find a place to stay after skiing at Bretton Woods. Looked online and found the Oxford House Inn. The reviews for the restaurant attracted me to this place and most of the other places to stay in the surrounding area did not excite me. What a great find. The room was very clean. The owners could not have been more friendly or helpful. And the food was excellent! Dinner was superb and we are still talking about the breakfast! Have a drink at the Omni Bretton Woods if you feel you MUST be taken advantage of and rub shoulders with the one percenters but then make your way over to the Oxford House Inn to be treated like a member of the family and eat some pretty great food. The drinks aren't bad either! Will be back during hiking and biking season.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sewing Room. No complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pianomandds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to to comment on your stay. It's always exciting when we meet a new "member of the family." We look forward to your next visit, pianomandds, during biking and hiking season; we'd be happy to share some of our favorite hikes with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My son and I stayed at the Oxford House and loved it. Breakfast was great! Dinner in the below dining was superb. This inn has the best mountain views and scenery that I have scene in the winter months. The rooms were very well clean and the owners/staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneal132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you, oneal132, for your kind words, and thank you for your persistence; we're happy you were able to get a room after a last-minute cancellation. We enjoy getting to know our guests. Welcome to The Oxford House Inn "family."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Oxford House Inn is a great find. We stayed three nights, arriving past midnight for check in due to earlier traffic issues in our home state. The owners were very accommodating with our late check-in. We stayed in Room #3. The bathroom was completely renovated within the last six months and well appointed with a spa like feel. The large walk in tiled shower has double shower heads, granite counter sink, and nice floor tile. The room furnishings were all new or like new and the room felt spacious and comfortable. Note, the Inn's website pictures of room #3 do not reflect the new room configuration and this room is even better than the existing online photos. The owners should update the photos to show off this wonderful room. We had drinks at the lounge late one evening and the bartender was friendly and service excellent. Breakfast is included in the room price. We ate fresh baked muffins, eggs, and a assortment of fresh fruits. The coffee was so good we bought a pound to take home. The breakfast room view of farmland, a pond, and distant mountain is very peaceful. We ate dinner in the dining room one evening. Service was great and again the food quality and presentation top notch. I would highly recommend Room #3 to anyone who likes a more modern feel to their room. I definitely would stay again and request room#3.

Room Tip: Room #3 recently renovated to a spa-like quality. Large walk in tiled shower with double shower hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 446kad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear 446kad, Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us. We are honored to take care of our guests and appreciate when they notice the small details. We have created our unique coffee blend with a local roaster, Austin at The Frontside Grind in North Conway, NH. Innkeepers know & appreciate, perhaps better than anyone, the importance of good, strong, flavorful coffee- so glad ours stood out to you! Room Three was a fun renovation project completed in 2013. We did get quite busy and neglected to update our website photos, but it is on our "To Do" list for this week- check back soon. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels lead you to Fryeburg!
Natalie Spak
Co-owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this place. First off, the owner's, Natalie and Jonathan were wonderful hosts. Very friendly in a low key way, without making you feel suffocated. The room we stayed in was called the sewing room and it was like staying at Great Grandma's home. Cute, comfortable, very clean and private. The bathroom and shower are small (the sink is actually in the room itself), but functional. Comfy queen bed with nice linens and a thick comforter and lots of pillows. Free wifi and a small flat screen TV mounted on the wall were all the electronic comforts we needed. The view from our bedroom window was of snowy mountains and fields. Now for the food! We did a one night package deal that included a 3 course dinner as well as breakfast the next morning. Jonathan does the cooking and he is a wonderful chef. You are allowed to get anything off the regular menu with the package deal. I got the surf and turf which was a small filet and a fresh lobster tail on top of creamy mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus. The menu is very creative and the portions are perfect. Before we ate, we went downstairs to the lounge which is a small but lovely space. you can actually eat there if you choose but we just sat at the bar and had a drink. The bartender made me a delicious espresso martini and she was very friendly, as was all the staff. For breakfast the next morning there is a small menu with something for everyone. Fresh fruit comes with whatever you order as well as a sinfully delicious, still warm, cinnamon sugar donut. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. So if you are looking for a wonderfully laid back, romantic, charming place to get away to up north, you have to give them a try. There are only 4 guest rooms so it is quite exclusive. I truly hope to go back again, maybe in the spring next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Michelle C, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have passed along your comments to our staff; we're very happy to have such great people working with us.

Like you, many of our guests mention our breakfasts and the fresh pastries, including croissants, doughnuts, banana bread, etc.

We hope we'll be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed overnight for a ski race at Shawnee; very pleasantly surprised . Enjoyed a relaxing and delicious evening in the pub with friends followed by a great breakfast with an spectacular view of the mountains. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
It is our pleasure to provide a warm, welcoming experience for all of our guests. We appreciate your recommendation and hope we'll see you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Jonathan & Natalie are truly Inn Keepers. They are excellent Stewards of this Historic Fryeburg landmark.

My wife and I stayed there for our honeymoon in January 2014. It was a cozy, romantic, and relaxing get away. The food was delicious, even the Breakfast, which is included in the price of the stay.

Also, it's within 20 minutes of 4 different ski resorts.

We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The front room is the largest and by far the best. Though the rear rooms have a view of the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at Oxford House Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Nathan J, we were honored to have you spend your honeymoon at The Oxford House Inn. It's very satisfying to know that our guests feel welcome. We hope we'll see you again when your travels bring you back to Fryeburg; perhaps during the summer or fall...there's always something fun to do nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
6.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 25 in North Conway
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.3 mi away
The Old Saco Inn
The Old Saco Inn
#1 of 5 in Fryeburg
258 reviews
13.7 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House Inn

Property: Oxford House Inn
Address: 548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price range (per night) $139-$189 USD. Clean, contemporary, Arts & Crafts Style inn celebrating rich history of the area. Traditional features include dramatic use of hardwood throughout and stunning mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Oxford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Hotel Fryeburg
Oxford House Inn Fryeburg, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing