We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B/Country Inn in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Saco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Saco Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B/Country Inn in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My family of four (including two young teens) recently spent 2 nights at Old Saco Inn during a fall foliage trip in New Hampshire. What a wonderful, wonderful find -- truly a (somewhat) hidden gem. The other reviews pretty much cover the essentials, but I'll reiterate that Pete and Sandi are very gracious and interesting hosts and run an exemplary establishment. Although we stayed at several great B&B's during our trip through New Hampshire, Old Saco by far had the best setting (it's out in the countryside right along the Old Saco River) and the best breakfasts. After the first night, my wife told me that she would have been very happy to have used Old Saco as our base for the entire trip. Although the Inn is in Maine, it's close enough to the White Mountains to be convenient, and if that's your destination, I would highly recommend Old Saco. As a bonus, they also provide kayaks and canoes since they're right on the river. Although I was a little dubious about taking out the kayaks in the chilly October air, we had a great time. Unfortunately, we were leaving that morning and couldn't spend a lot of time paddling up and down the river, but it was a memorable experience. If we're ever in the White Mountains region again, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were easily able to sleep four (2 adults, 2 young teens) in Heather's loft, a very large, com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
140
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The Old Saco Inn was a great choice and both my wife and I had a great time there. The room was immaculate and spacious, and the breakfast was a 10. Pete and Sandy were fabulous hosts and made us feel very welcome. A perfect place to get away in a great setting. Looking forward to coming back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marcosl329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I spent two wonderful days in this beautiful lodge. Nice room, beautiful surroundings and above all excellent hospitallity by the owners Pete and Sandi. I recommend it to everybody and I really hope to come back some day!

Wido Scholte
Almere (Netherlands)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wido S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our family rented 2 rooms at this GREAT country Inn as we traveled from Vermont to Maine on a fall foliage trip. The Inn is clean, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was wonderful and the ambiance in which it was served made it unforgettable. The owners themselves, Pete and Sandi, are kind and attentive and make this quaint place a #1 place to stay! On top of that, canoeing on the Saco River made this stop a highlight of our 3 week vacation. Don't miss staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panamanian-Style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Old Saco Inn two weeks ago for my brother's wedding. We were booked into the Mt. Washington suite, which overlooked the back fields, the Old Saco river, and all the wedding festivities. The wedding itself was magical, but made even more so by the setting and experience of staying at the Inn. The tavern was such a nice place to gather after the rehearsal dinner, and the breakfast was divine. We truly didn't want to leave. We can't thank Sandi and Pete enough for such an incredible stay. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place. I visited guests at the carriage house rooms, and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibliochick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Old Saco Inn is heaven! We plugged in the address in the GPS and found the sign and followed the winding road to this wonderful retreat! You walk in and after you get past the wow, you start noticing all the things that make this a stress free environment. The easy listening music playing with the rustic background. The river behind the lodge slowly meandering down with adirondack chairs facing it. The innkeepers are genuine and have the nicest South African accents, and are so accommodating. The breakfast is great also. Put all this together and we decided when we were there to book for a nine day trip next year. Can't wait! The Old Saco Inn was our favorite place on our 9 day New England trip. Also going west from here (Fryeburg) is the White Mountains. It is a good day trip and beautiful when the leaves are turning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airmanmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed one night on a 2 week fall tour of New England to see the colors. The Old Saco Inn was on our travel path and we were pleasantly surprised to find such a beautiful spot out in the country. Situated on a serene river and surrounded by farmland, Pete and Sandi are attentive, helpful and friendly, while at the same time tending to everything from preparing for the next day/evening's wedding reception to stoking the boiler with firewood and serving a wonderful breakfast. When in New England again, we would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
11.0 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Saco River Lodge & Suites
11.4 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Saco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Saco Inn

Property: The Old Saco Inn
Address: 125 Old Saco Lane, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Saco Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Saco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Saco Inn Fryeburg, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing