We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, pretty, friendly”
Review of The Old Saco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Saco Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palmer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Serene, pretty, friendly”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I had the good fortune to find this place. Been searching for years for a nice place in this area. Well, we found it! Pete and Sandi are warm and welcoming. Amazing ability to remember everyone's name! The room we had, Heathers Loft was as pictured, very nice, private deck. The food Sandi prepared for their pub grubb was outstanding, first class. The breakfast equally as impressive. We ride motorcycles and were so touched on the next morning to find towels on the backs of each motorcycle to wipe the morning dew off! What a nice, thoughtful touch! We can't wait to return there and can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFos42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
141
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Looked for a inn in the area of the Saco River and Kezar Lake ... found the Old Saco Inn driving around last winter - went to their website which is extremely user friendly. Easy to review, reserve and correspondence with Pete & Sandi, the owners, was quick and professional. We rented for a 3 night stay and were thrilled with our whole stay. Our welcome was warm and the check in was professional. First impression was that this was a comfortable inn and very clean. Thrilled with our room; great view of the pasture, cozy chairs and wood stove in the corner...the bedding was very comfortable! (We were in the Mt. Washington room) The pub had a huge selection of great wine, beer and liquors. Pub menu offered was delicious and very reasonably priced. Pete & Sandi run the whole inn themselves always taking the time to check in with their guests. Delicious breakfast. The Inn offered many cozy places to sit and relax alone or sit with the other guests - inside and outside. We'd be happy to stay again and probably will as this location is great for all 4 seasons! We kayaked this summer and can ski this winter! I don't think you'd be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you prefer it very quiet at night, don't get a room in the main home because the pub is there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a fantastic place!! After a very hectic day on the road, we arrived at the Old Saco Inn. As we drove up the lane, our mood immediately changed from frazzled to a more peaceful frame of mind. It didn't take us long to realize that this place was a spa for the soul....tranquil, serene, and very restful. Everything is done to perfection...the food, the accomodations, and the grounds. Pete and Sandi are the consummate host and hostess. Their attention to detail is evident everywhere you look. Visiting weekend for grand parents at Wyonegonic Camps in Denmark, ME brought us to The Old Saco Inn, but we will definitely put the inn on our list of favorite places to visit for other occasions!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, CT
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This Inn is Fantastic !!! Friendly Inn Keepers, Manicured Grounds, Delicious Food and Super Clean/Cozy Rooms !!! A little piece of Heaven !!! Quiet and Peaceful !!! Great place to unwind and recharge !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogirlgo883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Old Saco Inn on our pre-wedding honeymoon, it was amazing. The grounds were beautiful the room was exceptionally clean, and the bed was so comfy I slept like a log. The breakfast was to die for, and the owners made you feel at home. I will most definitely be back.

It was a great location for shopping in North Conway, but we travelled into Kittery and it was a little far, next time we will plan better to have more time to stay at the Inn and less driving.

Room Tip: The Sweden Suite was spacious and well lit. The bath tub was huge and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessCole86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband & I celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary, with our closest friends and family at The Old Saco Inn! We had a wonderful time, Pete & Sandi were so amazing and accommodating! The Inn is beautiful, clean, and the grounds are spectacular! Our guests all felt right at home, the food was incredible, and we had a blast! Thank you so much for everything!!! We highly recommend The Old Saco Inn...even if you live in the area, it is a great place to have a weekend 'get away' without ever leaving Maine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandi_saco, Owner at The Old Saco Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hi E,

Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure to host your vow renewal. You brought such a friendly crowd with you that we felt like part of the party. Your sand ceremony on the porch was delightful and everyone was very pleased to be part of your special day.

For those reading this response, E & A had a rehearsal dinner for 22 on Friday evening, and the wedding dinner on Saturday evening for 38 people. Both were catered for in-house at the Inn. Friday's dinner was a casual selection of BBQ ribs, chicken, vegetable kabobs and assorted salads. Dessert was s'mores around the fire pit outside. Saturday's dinner was a buffet choice of NY strip, chicken with mushroom sauce and vegetarian pasta, accompanied by steamed vegetables and baked potatoes. E brought special wedding cupcakes for dessert that looked gorgeous!

Congratulations, and thanks again,
Sandi and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Old Saco Inn with family during a wedding weekend. The breakfast and dinner food was great and the owners got to know people by name. The bonfire and canoes and kayaks were a nice bonus for those of us staying there for the two days. The property and river were picturesque. Our room was modern and clean - the best inn room that we have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
12.5 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Oxford House Inn
Oxford House Inn
#2 of 5 in Fryeburg
229 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Saco River Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Saco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Saco Inn

Property: The Old Saco Inn
Address: 125 Old Saco Ln, Fryeburg, ME 04037-4657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Saco Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your The Old Saco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Saco Inn Fryeburg, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing