We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming and comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My stay at the Admiral Peary was perfect! My diabetic cat and his best buddy loved the 600-thread count sheets of the Tuscan room, as did I. Donna was wonderful in trusting them to be the well-behaved cats they are. I so enjoyed Maya, the golden lab who surrounds everyone she meets with love and enthusiasm. Donna's cats were busy elsewhere much of the time but very sweet and welcoming too when they did appear. There is plenty of room for all, with the sun porch full of comfy cushioned spots and the pool room and the TV room with lots of sectional spots for viewing. I loved the common refrig and microwave area where I could get a snack from the array she thoughtfully provides. The location was perfect for me because it's near family but perfect for anyone wanting to explore the North Conway, Bridgeton or Lovell areas from a quiet, comfy, homey base. Donna's breakfasts were wonderful too. I watched her thoughtfully help the other guests with dinner reservations and other arrangements that newcomers to an area need. And she has set up the inn so I could easily come and go to my family gatherings. I have already booked my next stay and am so looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Donna greeted us upon arrival, along with her beautiful golden retriever, Mya. It was very warm and welcoming greeting.

We were treated like family, with the warmth and charm of a true New Englander. The comfort of The Admiral Peary Inn is charm, warmth and everything you could possible ask for from a B & B. We hated to end our three day stay and definitely made a new and lasting friend with Donna. As a travel agent, I cannot give a high enough recommendation to Donna as an Innkeeper. Donna made us feel like old friends immediately and provided a welcome atmospehere throughout our stay. Breakfast was perfect - above and beyond our anticipation.

I am posting a referral for The Admiral Peary Inn to my travelers as a "must stay" location to visit Fryeburg, ME and the White Mountain area of Maine & New Hampshire.

Donna and The Admiral Peary Inn will see us again. We look forward to trying each of Donna's well decorated and theme driven rooms of the Admiral Peary Inn.

Thank you Donna for a wodnerful three days in Maine.

Dave & Reggie

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oriental Room which was lovely. Donna gave us a tour of all the rooms and we are an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davemts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The brochure really is accurate. Arrive as guests but leave as family. Donna has put so much of herself into the The Admiral Peary Inn and it shows. The rooms are decorated in a whimsical manner and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom in the Tuscany room had its own separate heater that I appreciated on our cold March days. It was also stocked with a great hair dryer and all the necessary toiletries.
I was in town to pick up my son from an educational wilderness program at Summit Achievement in nearby Stowe. Donna couldn't have been more accommodating to me with a late check in and a wonderful breakfast the next day. I arrived the night before a big snow storm hit and she offered to drive me to pick up my son as she knew I was concerned about driving in the snow. Donna had to wait several hours before it was time to head back to the Admiral Peary and she did so willingly and with a smile on her face. We were snowed in for an extra day but Donna was ready to play host to us and we got an extra day of yummy breakfast and snuggles from her sweet yellow lab Maya. My son loved staying there and just hanging out in the comfortable house watching the snow fall. Donna had the snowplow out to dig us a pathway in the morning and we said goodbye to our new friend. My son has kept in touch with her by phone and she has helped us out on several occasions. We are so glad to have such a lovely friend nearby our son as he finishes his semester. See you next time Donna!

Room Tip: We loved the Tuscany room with a nice decor and 2 chairs for reading. Pack light as all rooms are up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmama913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful b&b over school vacation week with our 2 kids (12, 8) and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are great and the breakfasts very filling. Our kids loved the pool table and Donna's dog Maya. I loved sitting in the front library reading my book in this grand original room. Donna is a great host and very knowledgeable about the area. Fryeburg is a great location with lots of activities nearby. Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnC01907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had the chance to see the Admiral Peary House after Donna, the new innkeeper, moved in. Wow! What a beautiful inn. I love the themed rooms (with decor from around the world). Not too over the top, just comfortable, inviting and lovely to see.

I'm a dog-lover, and there were others there with their dogs too. I'm happy to see that the inn is pet-friendly. And friendly is the operative word here! From the time you enter, you feel welcomed and part of a large group of friends.

This is a great place to stay when visiting Fryeburg Academy, Fryeburg, Maine or the Mt Washington Valley - accessible to all that both Western Maine and the White Mountains have to offer. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center here, but don't miss the Oxford House (within walking distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CousinsIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Being from the Bay Area (live in Singapore now) I've staying in many B&B's; Napa, Sonoma, San Francisco, London, Sydney, etc. and have an eye for quality and very picky about food and comfort. In a relatively short time, Donna has assembled a masterpiece at the Admiral Peary Inn. She has excellent taste in room decor and all amenities. As a dog lover, the greeting from Maya wagging her tail upon arrival and her trotting upstairs in the morning for my "wake up call" was as if I was at home. Breakfast was whenever I got up and tasty as ever with sausage and waffles topped with her homemade warmed blueberry preserves. And this was after my starter of fresh strawberries with yogart and granola. Quantity and quality was just right. The shower had good pressure and water well heated even upstairs which is not always easy in an older property. Rooms were emaculate and bed was super cozy. The historic house is a perfect fit for Donna and who puts her worldly impression and good taste on different themed rooms. I stayed in the Tuscany room and will try a different one next time. Donna has succeeded in making this Inn feel like home. Any weary traveler can't help but be put in a relaxed mode after spending time with her in this beautiful home. Will be through again in Spring and stay at there, for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripadvisemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I did not book this b n b since this was my husbands plan / surprise.. This Inn has all the charm you could want and expect from a histrorical Inn. We where greeted by Donna P and her love bug of a dog Myra.~ Donna had all the amenities needed .. and had our tickets for our mystery murder dinner / train ride show.. it was fabolous and Donna was if not more excited about us going~ We sat outside on one of the decks in the afternoon sun , and than we were shown to our room .. THe room was so quaint with the english charm (we stayed in the english garden) room.
The bed was oh so comfortable... we loved the decor and feel of the Inn, we only stayed one evening however we would love to come back... did i mention the waffles!! delicious .. Donna makes your breakfast when you want it:) just not at 5 am:)
Everything was so nice it was quiet , clean. ANd also lovely to meet the pets .. myra, honey, and shasha .. (spelling) two cats and a dog so if your not an animal friend/ this may not be the place for you .. (dogs are welcome)
we look forward to a future visit.. check out this beautiful location .. in the amazing white mountains with out the insane crowd.. s and noise.. this is off the beaten path but not too far
tremondous value for the $ .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 27 Elm St, Fryeburg, ME 04037-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range: $128 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Peary Inn is close to all activities in the White Mountains, near North Conway. Come snuggle in by the fireplaces or relax on the 3-season porch. Numerous indoor and outdoor activities available in the mountain and lakes regions of western Maine. All rooms have private baths. Pet friendly with resident dog and cat. Walking distance to Fryeburg Fairgrounds and Fryeburg Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast Fryeburg, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing