We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement!”

302 West Smokehouse & Tavern
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Fryeburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: 302 West Smokehouse and Tavern is a family owned and operated business, with a dedicated staff and strong local following. With a committed focus on happy customers, the entire restaurant is passionate about great food and good times! The restaurant can be found in the renovated, yet rustic, barn of an old Maine farmhouse. It is centrally located in the heart of Fryeburg village.
Sebago, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs Improvement!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Waitresses and Bartender scared to death of the owner! REALLY DARK in the place. Asked if the lights could be turned up and she said owner is really picky about the lighting. They turned them up and half way thru the meal they turned them back down! We could tell they were nervous. Place was cold due to people going out on the deck to smoke. To bad..because the waitress was excellent and the food was great! I like romance but this was crazy dark and who wants to be cold when they eat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, General Manager at 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We do tend to keep it a bit dark around here, but rest assured the owner is a hoot and we will be happy to turn the lights up (a little bit) for you next time. We strive to make every one happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    80
    21
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great BBQ for all”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We went with family for BBQ and conversation. Wait staff is knowledgable and extremely helpful in deciding among the BBQ choices. Our group had St. Louis ribs which literally fell off the bone. Pulled pork with onion strings which was delicious. Also we ordered lobster sliders with sweet potato fries. All was consumed with a nice selection of beers to wash it all down. This is a gem that always provides a comfortable and welcoming place.

Helpful?
Thank Arias55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
713 reviews
566 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“can,t wit to go back”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

can't remember when I had such a great meal , I had ribs ,chicken and clams only 23.00 and took it home and had three more meals . wife had full rack of ribs only 19 she got two more meals out of it . daughter had lobster pie and clams and loved it also got another meal out of it . service was a bit slow but the place was full .waitress was very good .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

busy pub with good pub fare and good beer selection. Somewhat noisy. Wait staff was attentive and we were seated promptly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the atmosphere”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a very good meal and enjoyed the atmosphere of this rural tavern. Our server was helpful in our selections...especially the mud pie sundae for dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZ2FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing