We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best!”

The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Fryeburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Oxford
Description: Culinary Institute of America graduate chef/co-owner crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer, using techniques from around the world in the farm to table concept. Enjoy spectacular sunsets or fireside dining while savoring a delicious and creatively presented meal.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

The Oxford Inn offers classic dining in Fryberg, Maine, just a few minutes from the Mt. Washington Valley. This is a reservations recommended evening of fine, fine dining, superb service and one of the best wine lists I have seen in a while. Meghan was our server and she brought wisdom and professionalism to our table. Presentations were artistic. Main courses came from a limited list, but were expertly prepared and succulent. We loved the ravioli special but with Meghan's advice got the half-portion to save room for dessert. We were not disappointed. It was a great evening!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalonymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
We appreciate your comments, Kalonymos, and your recommendation for reservations. We are eager to accommodate all those who wish to dine with us; however, especially during the busy seasons or on our specials nights, we do tend to fill up quickly.

In late autumn, winter, and spring, we offer our Taco Trio Special on Tuesday evenings and Pint & A Pound on Thursdays. Both are popular with our neighbors and friends, near and far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    21
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Claymont, Delaware
Level Contributor
205 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner - just marvelous”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We went to the Oxford House for both our 25th and 30th (this year) anniversaries and both times were so pleased with everything. We consider this a "special occasion" restaurant. The setting is in a beautiful inn, in the heart of Fryeburg. The food is outstanding with many different and exciting offerings prepared with very fresh and oftentimes local ingredients. We were seated both times in the back room that has a spectacular pastoral view of beautiful landscaping, farm and distant mountains. Our server was efficient, friendly and polite. The entrees are on the expensive side, but well worth the cost as they are carefully prepared. We will return again...and plan to before another 5 years go by!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Splanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Whether it's your first or your fiftieth anniversary, it is our honor to serve you on such a special occasion. Thank you for choosing to dine with us.

When possible, we like to seat our guests according to their wishes. Each dining room has its own charm and the pub atmosphere is unique.

We're pleased you've enjoyed your experiences with us, and we'll look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great First Anniversary Dinner!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

6 months ago I was searching for a fancy restaurant for my 1rst anniversary dinner with my husband. I am very glad I made a reservation early and chose this place! We were greeted with a friendly host, who brought us to the back porch. The scenery was beautiful, music playing softly in the background and a candle light table adorned with flowers and a classic etiquette display with mood lighting. The cocktails were delicious as well as the French fries we had. We ordered the Lobster Broil and Maine Mussel and they were just fabulous! Its was seasoned to a great taste and beautifully adorned. Our waitress was very nice and hospitable and made sure our time here was perfect, as well as the other customers who were having a great time. We finished with a blueberry crispy skillet and a homemade smore. The smore was very rich and the blueberry crisp was juicy! We will definitely be booking again for next year!
I posted some photos of our delicious and beautiful food. Sorry for the lighting, my phone was running low on battery, so I couldn't use flash! I also managed to take a picture of the inside dining room as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for posting the photos from your anniversary visit. I never tire of the views and am delighted when I see it from a fresh perspective.

I'm so glad you were thinking ahead and made your reservation early; the Back Porch is very popular, especially for small celebratory events.

We hope to see you again for other occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, CT
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Eat Here If You are Staying Here and Even If You are Not”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at Oxford House Inn and benefited from the great breakfast provided to guests, but we also had dinner the evening before. The food is excellent, and the menu is varied.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WoofleDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Yesod. Our chef is currently working on the new fall menu to be posted later this week. We hope you'll have another opportunity to return and sample our northern New England autumn fare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mass
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal this year, in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were staying in North Conway at an Inn that didn't offer dinner, so Trip Advisor guided us to the Oxford House, just a short drive away across the border.

We were seated on their recently converted back porch, with a picture-window view out onto an astonishingly beautiful panorama of mountains and farm fields, with a perfectly situated willow tree in the foreground. It was upon this scene that we watched the sun set throughout our meal.

Oh, the meal -- we expected it to be good, given the previous reviews, but even as someone who is regularly able to visit fine restaurants, I was delighted with the cuisine. I had the seared yellowfin, accompanied by soba noodles and some delicious tempura mushrooms, and my wife had the hoisin braised pulled duck BBQ. We both agreed that this was among the best meals we've had in years. I noticed that the kitchen also had a picture window with the same view, so perhaps that's the inspiration, but I can only hope it continues until our next visit (if only it weren't a 3-hour drive from where we live...).

The service, too, was friendly, helpful, and just attentive enough. They seem like genuinely nice folks, and I'd have to imagine that this would be a nice place to stay. We may have to try that someday.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Assistant Innkeeper at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
We appreciate your wonderful comments about the food, the service, and the view. Our menu changes seasonally with the views, and as of Thursday we will have new fare to match the changing colors of autumn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing