We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the North Country's Best Tables” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant

The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Fryeburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Oxford
Description: Culinary Institute of America graduate chef/co-owner crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer, using techniques from around the world in the farm to table concept. Enjoy spectacular sunsets or fireside dining while savoring a delicious and creatively presented meal.
Ware, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of the North Country's Best Tables”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Oxford House Inn Restaurant maintains a consistent high standard. Don't be fooled by the spectacular views of the White Mountains that several of the intimately-scaled dining rooms offer: this is not a tourist trap. Wonderful food prepared with locally-sourced ingredients, on the sane side of creative, supported by impeccably attentive yet discreet service makes the meal the real attraction. The menu is not cheap, but the value is excellent. We've had several really delightful evenings here and plan to return. Children are cheerfully accommodated, but this is really a place for grownups; the menu is suited to foodies and hearty appetites alike. I am very grateful to have a true fine-dining restaurant available in a region dominated by clone-like joints serving fried mozzarella cheese sticks and steak tips.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank unavailable11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    21
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Place With A No View”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

I made a reservation for my wife and family, and was guaranteed a view for our table. It was a special occassion and we come for the view and food. When we got there we were ushered to a table with no view. I checked to see what went wrong. They apologized and said 5 could not fit at the table with the view. A few minutes later they took a chair from our table to seat five people at the table we were denied. It ruined our planned evening and we were frequent customers. We will never return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank omn2162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Owner at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
First I'd thank this guest for appreciating our spectacular view and the effort we put into serving delicious & creative food. My husband Jonathan Spak, the chef and co-owner of our inn, took this reservation personally. He was very busy cooking when the call came in, and unfortunately he had a multi-tasking failure, neglecting to note on this gentleman's reservation that a certain table had been specifically requested. The table they had wanted with the best view had already been seated when they arrived. (This table seats up to 8, so the size of the party wasn't an issue). They were seated at the table next to it. At this point, we didn't realize there had been a mistake. Once the gentleman who had made the reservation made me aware of his request and our mix up, I profusely apologized for our mistake. We take full responsibility for this error and did everything we could to make the guest's evening still a wonderful experience. Unfortunately, the guest had already decided that his wife's birthday dinner was ruined. Jonathan offered all five guests complimentary dessert to show our sincere regret for the situation, and I assured him that I would personally make sure he was seated at the table of his choice the next time they dined with us. Both of these offers were flatly refused. We do hope these guests realize at some point that this was an honest mistake. We take all guest's requests very seriously.
Natalie Spak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best dinner in the White Mountains.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I have been coming to the Mt. Washington Valley for about 6 years. We've had nice dinners at a lot of places, but this was the best so far.

We made reservations, which I suggest, and arrived at the non-descript house on the main drag in the center of Fryeburg. We were seated in the main dinning area in the front of the house. We asked for a table facing the mountains in the back of the house and were told that those were reserved. Apparently you should ask for those tables when making a reservation (Hint, Hint). The hostess said that the tables with a view of the mountains book up far in advance.

All of the staff were friendly and attentive. The wine list was very good with reasonable prices. The food was outstanding. We both ordered salads, which were good, but nothing to brag about. Then we both had the filet, which we both raved about. We also had desert, Key Lime Raspberry Trifle,which was very good. Dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine, 2 salads, 2 entress, a glass of ice wine, and desert was about $125.00. The ice wine was great.

After dinner we went downstairs to the bar. The bar was very cool! They have very interesting drink specials and a very good local beer selection. The bartender was very nice and we had great conversations with him and another couple at the bar.

Overall, this was a great time.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Portland ME
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience! Consistent quality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We returned to Oxford House for the 3rd time for a special occasion. We have never been disappointed. We had drinks and 4 courses for just over $100, and everything was superb. The waitress was attentive but not obsequious. The choices are varied and well presented--I like to eat something I cannot/don't prepare at home. We started with a chilled cucumber, garlic and scallion soup that was marvelous and ended with a mouth-watering white cake layered with meringue and topped with buttercream frosting, accompanied by slightly cooked peach slices. The view from our back porch table, was over tilled fields of corn and hay with NH mountains in the distance and a wonderful sunset!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lspwroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food I have eaten in two years, Fabulous INN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Self contained, Inn, Restaurant and Pub all in one.
Excellent food, great wine list at a great price.
Fun little pub downstairs.
great views of the mountains.
Husband and Wife owners/host were really a pleasure

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R1150RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 
North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing