We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are too small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rooms are too small”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The staff at this hotel was excellent and the breakfast was as well. The main problem is the size of the rooms. For 2-3 people, you are probably ok. But there just isn't enough space to accommodate any more. There are no refrigerators or microwaves either which has pretty much become standard in most hotels. There is also no hot tub and the pool is very cold. And they will tell you that you can walk to LL Bean - which you can - but don't. After a long day of shopping and being loaded down with shopping bags, that 1 mile walk back to the hotel is miserable. There is free parking in town. Take advantage of it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBeingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    201
    77
    22
    11
See reviews for
248
200
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Everytime my wife and I visit Freeport, we stay at the Hampton Inn. The staff is very welcoming, friendly, and courteous. The rooms are spacious, super clean, and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is always varied and very good.

I highly recommend the Freeport Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

If you are familiar with Hampton Inns this one won't disappoint. It is conviently located off the Interstate although a little tougher than usual to find since there signage isn't in the usual Hampton colors. Freeport must have regelations governing corporate signs as even the McDonalds is understated and not looking like you expect most of them to look like. The front desk was very helpful, and LL Bean and the downtown area is a nice walk of about a mile, with a couple great shops like a chocolate and bread store in between. We would certainly stay here again when in the area. They did miss getting our HHonors snack treat out, but that was the only negative at a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crescoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This was a nice Hampton Inn. The bed was a tad uncomfortable though. The price was a bit high too. Nice breakfast and friendly service as is typical with Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labsuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I knew I had good place from reading other reviews but when you experience it yourself it all comes together. This place is a gem . LOOK NO more for a place to stay if you are in this area. Front desk---amazing. Breakfast cooks---grandma's all the way. Rooms--perfect. Location---everything is right there. Indoor pool a must with the kids especially with Maine temps and rain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendsFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Aaaahhh - that is what you will say when you get in the wonderful heated pool. The water is sooo nice and warm - just what you need after a day of shopping.
The rooms are spacious and very clean, staff is friendly, free breakfast is fabulous. Fresh waffles!! Fruit salad!! And hot breakfast items - first morning was scrambled eggs and sausage, second morning was cheese omelet and bagel topped with egg, bacon and cheese. YUM! And cookies in the lobby every night at 6pm will please the kids.
This is a wonderful hotel, and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javajava1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We have now stayed at every hotel in freeport and I think this is my favourite. The service was great and the room was really nice. The location is what sets it apart and the pool and breakfast make it a great option for young families. You're right next door to the grocery store which is also a nice convenience. We stayed for two nights and this will definitely be our first choice for all future visits to freeport.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilac7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
16.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick

Property: Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Address: 194 Lower Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Freeport
#4 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
feel at home at the Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick hotelHave a comfortable and relaxing stay at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, our Freeport, Maine hotel. Unwind in welcoming bars and inviting restaurants. Enjoy the great outdoors with a mountain hike or cross country ski adventure. Walk through gorgeous forests, relax on beautiful beaches and enjoy ocean cruises just minutes from this Freeport/Brunswick hotel. Spend an afternoon shopping in some of the 120 outlet stores near the hotel. Visit L.L. Bean's Outdoor Discovery School and learn biking, kayaking, archery and fly fishing skills. Our complimentary shuttle service can get you to and from the Freeport Train Station to connect to the Amtrak Downeaster, which is located one mile from the hotel. We also make scheduled stops to downtown Freeport daily.Unwind and feel at home at our Freeport, Maine hotel in a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities. Relax on a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay entertained with a range of premium TV channels and free high-speed internet access. Start your day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast before heading off for a day’s business or sightseeing. Keep in shape during your stay in the indoor pool, and rejuvenate with a workout in the fitness center. Four versatile meeting rooms accommodate board meetings for ten or receptions for up to 100 attendees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick Hotel Freeport
Freeport Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing