We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Nicholson Inn

Nicholson Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nicholson Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. The Inn is convenient to town and Jane and Alden were welcoming as well as the lab, Nick. Alden gave us great advice as we drove up the coast to St John NB. We can't wait to see the countryside on the return trip as he shared some favorite routes with us. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent 2 perfect nights at Nicholson Inn. The location is the best in Freeport, so easy to walk to LL Bean and all the other stores, just leave the car at the Inn. Breakfast was such a delicious surprise each morning, Alden is such a great cook, mmm delicious. Jane is a wonderful hostess with great local knowledge of the area and its history. Our rooms were full of New England charm and very comfortable, our son wanted to bring the pillows home! Lovely fluffy towels and the sheets were crisp cotton perfect for good night sleep. The central air conditioning was welcome in the evenings due to the high humidity of the season. Lovely sitting in the rocking chairs on the front verandah before venturing out for dinner. There is a guest fridge for you to keep drinks etc, very convenient.

Room Tip: Having had 3 rooms they were all lovely & well equipped .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is my family's fourth year staying at the Nicholson Inn. It began as a convenient stop on our way to other Maine destinations, but it has turned into a highlight of our trip! The rooms are lovely, always comfortable and extremely well-cared for. The decor is very tasteful and loaded with interesting family history if you ask Jane or Alden. The grounds are stunning, a testament to the hard work of the owners. And breakfast is amazing! Always! We have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the inn keepers. Alden has more knowledge of Maine and how to "get there from here" than any map ever printed. And Jane is as wonderful and real as it gets. To top it off, Nick the black lab, gives hugs upon departure. We have every intention of spending more time at this home away from home. Let's hope this year is the one that gets us there more than once! We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Stayed in four out of five rooms and have been happy with each. Even those on the main street are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Total relaxing experience with a wonderful room and private bath. We were treated to the best a Belgium waffle breakfast that we ever had. The inn owners are the very best and take pride in their beautiful historic inn. This will definitely be our place to stay when we are in Freeport. Thank you Jean and Alden for your most gracious hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great stay at the Nicholson Inn over July 4th. A beautiful home right on Main Street, it's extremely convenient to everything in Freeport. The rooms are perfectly decorated and spotlessly clean. When we returned at the end of a long day, our bed had been re-made which was a really nice surprise. Plenty of B n B's don't provide that service. Jane was a wonderful host, she clearly cares a great deal about making sure people are well taken care at the Inn. As later risers than the average B n B guest, we were relieved that breakfast was served until 9:30 each morning. We ended up really enjoying the communal seating in the dining room, and had some nice conversations with fellow guests as well as with Jane. A great spot. If we head back to Freeport, I'll check for vacancy here first!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERSofNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nicholson Inn last September, just for one night. Everything was perfect. It was beautiful and clean, and located right on Main Street in Freeport. Jane and Alden were wonderful hosts, and we felt like we were leaving family when we left. The breakfast was awesone, and Jane's sense of humour is worth the stay. She is a sweet, funny, beautiful woman. We can't wait to go back this year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have traveled in many countries and would rate the Nicholson Inn near the top of all the places we have stayed. Jean and Alden made our stay feel like visiting long lost friends. Great location and very close to LL Bean. The breakfast was great and we learned a lot about the history of Freeport from Jean. Will certainly stay there during our next stay in Freeport. Alec M

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicholson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholson Inn

Property: Nicholson Inn
Address: 25 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicholson Inn, conveniently located in the heart of Freeport, Maine offers all the amenities a traveler could desire. The Nicholson Inn has long been known for its convenience, quality and comfort. We are located in the heart of Freeport’s shopping-restaurant district and less than 500 steps from LL Bean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nicholson Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing