We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

I am a very basic type person. I want a clean place to stay that is quiet. That's it. This place matches my needs. Breakfast was actually very good. Basic stuff but done well. The desk staff was remarkably friendly. TV was decent and the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank_castle911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our location! We here at the Holiday Inn Express strive to accommodate the need of all our guests, and I'm pleased to hear your stay was exactly as you wanted! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    176
    59
    19
    17
See reviews for
147
179
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We came from Switzeland and stayed two weeks in the Freeport area, most of the time in the Holiday Inn Express that we loved.
We liked the way the rooms are decorated, the great wi-fi, the very friendly staff, and the nice free breakfast. During these 2 weeks, we also spent one night at the Hilton Garden Inn (probably the best in the region but more pricy, not so good wi-fi, and poor Verizon reception), one night at the Confort suite (clearly the worse of what we've seen here), and didn't stay but checked the rooms at the Best Western and at the Hampton Inn. But we came back 3 times at the Holiday Express, our best choice all things considered.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pseudocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
We are so glad you decided to stay with us! Our staff remembers you and is pleased to hear you enjoyed your stays with us! We strive to be the best and most friendly hotel in Freeport! Its no wonder we are becoming one of Freeports Favorites!

If you come to this area again we certainly hope you will return to us here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

I spend one might at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport. TRAVEL TIP: pick up one of the hotel coupon saver booklets at the Tourist Information booth on the way. I saved over $79 on my room by clipping one coupon. Well worth the 5 mintue stop. I think I would have been disappointed to spend $179 for this room but was ok with the $99 I got the room for.
Back to the hotel - it's about what you can expect from a new HI Express. Decent room, clean, spacious, safe and a nice continental breakfast. Granted, this is not the 4 Seasons so lower your expectations accordingly but for a "value" chain, this hotel was quite nice. The woman at the front desk was terrific - very friendly and helpful. Kuddos to her! Here's the bad..I was given a room in the back of the hotel, which is very close to the interstate highway. When the air conditioner was on, the noice was not an issue, but when the fan wasn't running, the noise was very loud which made it difficult to sleep. Because of that, either book a room at the front of the hotel or be sure the fan is running all night or sleep will be a problem.
The location was good - just a few miles from the center of Freeport with all the outlets.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank CarynW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and give tips to our future guests! We certainly appreciate it! I'm sorry your sleep was disturbed by the highway in the back, we do recommend that light sleepers request a room on the front of the building, we do all we can to accommodate such requests!

We hope that if you return to this area you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

I always use trip advisor so often when booking vacatons and find it extremely helpful, so I wanted to make sure that I wrote detailed and accurate reviews when I return. We travel quite a bit and have stayed in many types of hotels, motels, and resorts. We have seen and experienced the good, the bad, and the ugly when it comes to hotels.

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport for 3 nights. We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the shopping outlets in Freeport and because it looked like a newer property. We were not disappointed!! =)

Check in: The woman at the front desk was polite and welcoming. She even gave us our choice of rooms - what side of the building we prefered, what floor, etc.

Room: We had a King room and it was perfect. The room was extremely spacious and VERY clean. The king bed was very comfortable with clean, crisp sheets and 4 pillows. The pillows were a little soft, so if that's not your preference maybe bring a pillow from home. The TV had lots of channels and there was a mini-fridge and microwave. AC worked great! Unlike previous reviewers, we did not hear a single noise from the highways unless we had the windows open during the day. Even then, the noise was minimal. The bathroom was clean and new. Toiletries and towels were always replenished. Maid service was excellent.

Breakfast: There was a free breakfast provided which we took advantage off every day. There was bagels, toast, biscuits, eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, muffins, fruit, etc. Coffee was great. Some people were very impatient, but unfortunately there appeared to be only one girl refilling the trays and platters. No biggie.

Freeport area: the area was perfect. The hotel was about a 2 minute drive down the road to the shopping outlets. We could not believe the deals were found there!

The hotel offered a discount at a few of the local restaurants when you showed your hotel key card.
There was also free parking and free wireless internet in the room.

We will definitely be returning to the Freeport area and will stay at this hotel again. We got an excellent rate ($140/night) and feel it was well worth it.

The hotel, service, and area were all fantastic.
There are a few other hotels and motels in the area and they did not appear to be any nicer than the Holiday Inn. The Hilton looked nice, but was double the price. Anyone who had issues with this hotel must have VERY high standards. It's a small town and this hotel was great.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank novascotiacouple111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet all your needs an surpass your expectations! Being just outside of Freeport we're able to provide our guests with close proximity to the shops while not being in the middle of them, which provides a more relaxed feeling when you return 'home' from a long day of shopping!

Thank you for your comments on the room, we do have two types of pillows in each room. We can often find firmer pillows if the ones provided are too soft. Many of our guests enjoy the space our suites provide as well as the micro fridge. Our housekeeping staff will be pleased to hear you were happy with their service. They strive to be the best!

Thank you for your kind words regarding our breakfast. At times breakfast can be busy, during those times we do have extra staff who will come to assist our attendant. We are always looking to improve our service, we will be looking in to ways we can do even better!

We encourage every one to take advantage of the restaurants in town that offer discounts to our guests! Just ask the front desk! They know where to send you for an excellent Maine meal.

We hope you will soon return to the Freeport area and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Room #1 on interstate side (almost like working at a toll booth., Room #2 deadbolt locks, but doesn't OPEN, when I talk to front desk she said they know about the problem with a few rooms, she pulled out a list to update the rooms with this problem and it was about half the hotel. Room is okay, but just really ok. Bed looks like someone slept in it, sheets are very crinkled (and don't forget this is our 3RD room at this property. HIEX prides itself on offering many different pillow types (soft, firm, etc) in each room. We do have 4 pillows each, bu they are the same. Usually stay at Hilton Garden or Hampton when in Freeport, won't make the mistake of staying at this HI EX again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GT_KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am sorry you had such a poor experience with us. Most of our guests enjoy their stay and have no issues with our rooms.

Thank you again for commenting on your stay, we hope you will return and give us the chance to prove to you why we are becoming the best of Freeport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed here for a night on our way to Boothbay Harbor so we could check out the outlet stores. The hotel is really clean and the room was very comfortable. They even served us a complimentary hot breakfast with fresh-baked cinnamon rolls, biscuits, sausage and eggs. This is definitely worth choosing if you're staying in Freeport!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel! Whether driving through or stopping to stay a while the Holiday Inn Express is eager to give you a pleasant stay, with the best value! Thank you for your kind words about our free hot breakfast! We look forward to seeing you again.

Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

A couple of miles from the busy, shopping center area. Had a really nice gal check us in (but didn't see her again). Room was okay but seemed to quickly get a damp feel to it. Turned the heat on to see if it might help, but quickly got a burning smell and stopped that. No frills here other than a pool. No real landscaping or anything around the building other than parking. Pool was okay and did have a hot tub next to it. Breakfast was included and we gladly would have paid for a better one. Coffee was terrible, OJ was watered down, and the gal that was checking it let everything run out until someone asked for it. We were there two days and saw this gal get overwhelmed by the guests to the point of things running out. On both days, the sugar was out. The gal seemed like she didn't understand English. In our two days we saw just about everything run out from coffee, sugar, bread, cinnamon rolls (the highlight of their breakfast) , hot water, bacon. The bacon was very thin and weak. It just seemed that everything that this place did was done to maximize the dollar. Cheap everything with effort to add to the hotel for the good or convenience of the customer. The Hampton down the road (although we didn't stay there) looked so much more inviting. Fitness center was a joke. Two tread mills and a stair climber in a small room. No weights or anything else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dylanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express. I am sorry that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. We are always looking for ways to improve. Since your stay we have furthered our training and process to ensure that our breakfasts hosts can keep up with our guests. We welcome your comments and strive to improve.

We hope you will return again, and give us the chance to prove why are quickly becoming the Best of Freeport!

Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freeport
#6 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing