We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$62
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$120
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Harraseeket Inn(Freeport)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveler rating
179
197
66
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
197
66
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskcinnamon rollsyogurtroom was cleannice hotelfree breakfastking suiteshower headroad noisell beansitting areaminute drivethe breakfast areahot tubconvenient locationwould stay here againone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 481 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014

New wife and I were on NE vacation and determined to visit Maine. We drove up to Freeport without reservation and chose this propery. Ultra clean and awesome staff. Every staffer we saw asked "how we help during your stay?" Check in a breze and breafast with server Amber deserves praise. The rail line behind the property only has four train a day operated by Amtrak.

We stay in a dozen hotels a year and rank this #1 of 2014. HGI is close to LL Bean and fine eateries. Staff will gladly make suggestions on what to see, eat, or do in area.

Bottom line, this hotel is in town but feels like rural setting. Management deserves praise for training of awesome helpful staff. We'll likely return. A quality hotel indeed. Excellent wheelchair access.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentuckyTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I will be sure to pass this review onto the proper hotel! If you are ever in the Freeport area again please feel free to give us a shot at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Freeport, Maine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights of July 4 weekend. I was running in the July 4 LL Bean run and we were doing some shopping. Typically we just drive to Freeport as a shopping trip from Bangor but with the race and holiday we stayed in Freeport. It was a great location, just off the interstate, not far to Main street shopping and lots of places to eat. The hotel was very nice and clean and had a small pool and small fitness room. Breakfast was very good, they need more tables and fewer couches and coffee tables. Lot of choice for breakfast but lack of space meant either taking things back to your room or eating breakfast on the couch. Front desk staff were helpful at check in with maps, and coupons.

Room Tip: Liked being on the ground floor and close to breakfast room, pool and room for bringing all your Freeport outlet shopping back to room
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Willram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad to hear that we met your expectations here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Freeport, Maine. We strive to provide guests with a comfortable night stay, superb costumer service and clean accommodations. I am glad we were able to provide you with just that!

I thank you for sharing your review about the breakfast room! The room does currently accommodate over 40, however, we realize that this is not the adequate amount of seating when sold out, especially if everyone comes at the same time! We have added additional seating outdoor which we understand can't always be used however we will be redoing the breakfast area sometime in 2015. We will be replacing the carpet, removing the couches and putting additional tables in there!

We hope you stay with us again and check out the new breakfast room! I am not certain on the exact date it will be finished, however, I do know it will be done in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel using it as our headquarters as we visited Kennebunkport area, Boothbay and of course downtown Freeport and L L Bean. Pleasant and helpful staff. They were able to give us great directions and suggestions for great places to eat. Clean and comfortable rooms with easy access to the thruway and area attractions. Good continental breakfast and breakfast area. Clean pool area.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room not far from the lobby and elevators but heard no excessive noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad to hear that we met all of your expectations while staying at our Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Freeport, Maine, for three nights! We strive to provide guest with exceptional accommodations and service and I am glad to hear we did just that! I will be sure to share your feedback with our staff.

If your travels ever bring you back to the Freeport area we hope you choose to stay with us again! Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very nice hotel on the outskirts of Freeport. Clean room, very nice bedding. They had a good continental breakfast in the morning. The front desk staff Amanda M. was very friendly and informative to guests about what was in the area,

Room Tip: All rooms should be quiet as the traffic was not that noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy426669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so honored to hear that I was able to provide you with information you requested! We strive to provide guests with clean accommodation and great costumer service and I am glad you received just that!

If you travels ever bring you back to this area we hope to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

A nice hotel with pleasant staff and clean rooms. The pool area was clean and well maintained. A parking area is available for larger vehicles. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel enough that we stayed here several days later on our return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, you returned to stay with us on your travels home. We strive to provide guests with a comfortable, clean room and superb costumer service and am so happy to hear we did just that! I will be sure to share this review with all staff members!

Thank you again for taking the time to share you feedback and thank you for being such a valued costumer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews