We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for some retail therapy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good base for some retail therapy”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night after arriving from Europe and driving up from Boston Airport.
Much better than HIE's in the UK, this was the second time we've stayed here. This time we were ugraded to a suite due to our Priority Club status.
The room was large and clean and the be was very comfortable which is all we look for when staying at properties of this type.
It's a 5 minute drive to the shops and restaurants of Freeport, although there are a few eating places nearer (Thai etc). Breakfast was included and was typical for an HIE. Pastries and some hot dishes as well, not what I would generally choose but hey...
Would happily stay here again if ever I was in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishlee0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you greatly for taking time to leave a review aboutyour stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your membership with our IHG rewards program. We look forward to havin you stay with us in the future and if there is anything at all we could have done to improve your stay please email us: hiefreeport@gmail.com

Again thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    175
    59
    19
    17
See reviews for
147
180
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Two months before a wedding we attended in Maine, we made a reservation directly through the front desk. About two weeks before the wedding, I noticed a much better rate through Hotels.com (where I get rewards as well) and booked it. We called to cancel the first reservation and were told we were all set. Fast forward two weeks and the original reservation was charged to our credit card.

Hotel claims they never spoke to us, and that they held the room all night for us and we were a no show... even though we were staying in the hotel. General manager and front desk manager were rude and unwilling to help resolve the situation. Truly terrible experience dealing with management who thinks they are entitled to charge us twice for their staff's incompetency. Don't foresee myself staying at another Holiday Inn Express, let alone this poorly run location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfarrell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry you were not satisfied with the way we handled your no show reservation. This reservation was never canceled. After speaking with your girlfriend I asked who she spoke with when canceling this reservation and she gave me a name of someone who does not work at our property leading me to believe she didn't cancel with us directly so the error was not on our end.

We were sold out that night and the room in your girlfriends name was held all night resulting in a one night room charge. If you did put the hotels.com reservation in her name we would have saw you were in house and confirmed you needed two rooms. We offered you a comp. night to uses within the next 6 months and your declined this.

I feel we did everything and more to work this out and I apologize you do not feel the same. For future I highly suggest getting cancellation numbers to prevent this from happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

There are some small luxuries that one appreciates - a cover over the blanket is one. The beds here are comfortable and clean, The rooms are generous with a sitting area, microwave and refrigerator. The staff is friendly. Other than the free breakfast, which was barely edible, this motel gets no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3dogsnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. I am glad you enjoyed your room. We do have large, comfy rooms and strive to have the best house keeping possible. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast. If you would be so kind to email me with suggestions about how we can improve breakfast that would be very helpful because we take all comments and suggestions into great consideration (hiefreeport@gmail.com).

Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review and I look forward to talking further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We wanted a hotel between Boston and Acadia and this suited us well. The room was spacious and clean, the front desk staff very polite and helpful and the breakfast was plentiful. I would gladly stay here again and think it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 660Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for leaving our property a review. We appreciate you taking time to leave feedback to share with us and other future guests. I will be sure to pass this review along to all appropriate departments.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowtown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have been staying here for over 4 years during business trips and not once have I ever had a complaint about the staff. They are always helpful with different activities that are happening locally. The rooms are clean,quite and modern in style. The property is always being maintained and updated. The breakfast staff is very accomodating which is great as I'm not a morning person. The management is always asking for ideas to improve and add comfort to my stay.

Room Tip: You can hear very little noise from 295 when staying on the west side of the hotel which is great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you so much for taking time to leave our property a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again. We appreciate your business and look forward to have you stay with us again. Thank you again for leaving feedback and I will be certain to share this review with our amazing staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Second time we have stayed here. We took three friends this time. A brilliant stay again.
Comfy beds and great service. As hotel fast breakfasts go this was also fine. If you are in the are stay here I dont think you will be disappointed. Hope to be staying again next year.

Room Tip: Upper floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving our property a review. We are so glad to hear that once again you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you bringing your friends along to share a great experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. For best rates please contact us directly and let the front desk know you are a returning costumer! Thank you again for taking time to leave us feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport, Maine which was a lovely hotel--clean, friendly and helpful--on a 2 week motorcycle trip from Minnesota to the East Coast.

We had a box to ship from the hotel back to MN. The manager went "Above and Beyond" helping us to resolve the problems we had getting it picked up and shipped. She certainly went out of her way and we thank her for that.

If you are looking for a place to stay where you are not just a number...this Holiday Inn Express cares.

Thanks from the MN Harley folks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,


I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly apprecaite you taking time to leave our property a review. I am glad we were finally able to get your package sent off for you. If you are ever back in Maine we would love to have you stay with us again. I will be sure to share this review with our housekeeping and front desk staff. Happy Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
895 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
400 reviews
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freeport
#6 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing