We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Stay for breakfast”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed at a holiday inn express and were impressed starting at the front desk at check in. We were given a king size bedroom that was very spacious. The bed and bedding were comfortable. The biggest surprise was the extent of the breakfast in the morning. Hot food besides waffles and instant oatmeal. They had eggs, sausage, and bacon. They also had a nice assortment of other breakfast offerings as well. The eating area was a mixture of tables and chairs along with sofas and arm chairs around small coffee tables. This hotel is located several miles away from downtown Freeport proper but an easy drive into town for LL Bean and outlet stores.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casualtraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Good Afternoon,


Thank you kindly for leaving us a fantastic review. Our employees goal is to make sure all guests feel like they are at home and I am glad they were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible! We hope you enjoyed your time in Freeport Maine and if you are ever in the area again we would love to have you stay with us again.

The pancake machine is a big hit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    183
    61
    19
    17
See reviews for
153
186
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mass, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was just what we wanted as a base for the Freeport/Portland Area. Our room (a king executive suite) was just right for our family. Everything seemed clean and the staff at the front desk were delightful. I am not a fan of the Styrofoam plates in the room and at breakfast. Real cutlery would have been nice too. We also used the pool which was on the small side, but almost empty even on a peak summer weekend. I would stay there again if in the area and the price was right. Breakfast was standard for this sort of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_M_in_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I have already passed your comment about utensils and plates onto the General Manager so that he can forward to Holiday Inn Corporate. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you stay with us in the future. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive, we decided to stay here because
It looked nicer than other choices. It was moderately priced and exceptionally clean. The bed was so comfortable and we had a great night.
Check in was very quick and easy as well.
The room also included a continental breakfast. It was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for leaving our hotel a fabulous review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have your stay with us in the future. Please contact us directly if you are even in the Freeport area and need accommodations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here with 3 other family members. The young lady at the front desk was very nice and upgraded us to a larger room with a couch and little sitting area. The room was very clean. The only complaint I have is the large amount of garbage at breakfast. I wish they would go back to using real cutlery, plates etc. I hate all of the throw away dishes and it is very hard cutting with those plastic utensils. It would also be nice to have ceramic mugs and glasses in the rooms. we had so much garbage by the end of only one night. Most hotels do the same, but it certainly isn't very good for the planet. Very nice hotel other than that and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave our property a review. I do agree with you that at least the cups should be glass I have already passed this on to the General Manager who is in the process of making this happen.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and I hope next time you stay with us we do have the glass cups/mugs in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Clean. Good breakfast w/ ample food. All staff were very nice. We tried to book rooms in Portland, ME, but none were available at the right price and we didn't know where the good places to stay were located. We chose nearby Freeport. Great town! Shopping and location were terrific. We drove north to the islands and had lobster rolls at Orr's island, Salt Cod restaurant. Ate on their back dock. Pretty decent food--nice folks and great view. We drove further to land's end and waded; climbed on rocks in bay. Great for kids of all ages. Glad we got a room in Freeport instead of Portland. We visited two great places instead of just the larger, better known city. When in Portland, dine at Dogfish Bar and Grill on free street. Excellent food and reasonable prices ($59 for four). Congested streets. Save time trying to find street side parking and park in the nearby parking garage for $1.75/hour.

Room Tip: Rooms on front side are quieter. Highway parallels back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Celia,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and your room was clean and comfortable! We have a fantastic staff and we stive to make our guests feel at home. We hope to have you stay with us in the future.

And I agree Dogfish bar and Grill is fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is nothing exceptional, but it is a clean property with good proximity to the attractions of Freeport. It's exactly what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. I stayed two different times on the trip, and had two very different check in experiences. The first stay, a middle-aged gentleman checked me in and I felt like he thought he was doing me a favor for having a room (I had a reservation). The second stay, the young lady who checked me in was a delight, very helpful and cheerful. I travel a lot on business (this was a vacation) but I was never aware how much the check in experience can color one's hotel experience.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front side. The rear backs up to I-295, although there are trees for blocking som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlr7311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review about our location. I apologize your first check in experience was not as delightful as your second time around. Our staff is fantastic however he must have been having a off day which is unacceptable however we apologize for that and hope this does not make you think twice about staying with us again. I have already copied this review and left it at the front desk for all staff members to look over..


Again thank you for your kind words about our property and thank you for making us aware of your first check in experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had the opportunity to spend 3 nights at this hotel and everything about it was GREAT! the hotel was incredibly clean, the staff friendly and VERY helpful. They had just received new pillows which were king size (for our king size bed) and extremely comfortable. We left some clothing behind and when I called several days later, I was I formed that they had the clothing, in a bag with our name, ready to be picked up on our way home. I stay in. A lot I'd HIE and this is by far the nicest one if all. It is also well located to the. Main Street and shops of Freeport Maine. We will definitely recommend this hotel and stay here on our next vacation to ME!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you, thank you for the fantastic review. We have a fantastic staff and I will be sure to share this with everyone. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this review and we hope to have you stay at our property in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
925 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
413 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freeport
#6 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing