We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean and great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Skowhegan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice and clean and great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in and got upgraded to a king suite! Very nice! Room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel was very clean as well. Will be back again for sure. Room prices were very reasonable. We were happy with our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Good Moring,

First off thank you for choosing to stay with us! We greatly appreciate you business and are glad to hear your stay was enjoyable. We strive to provide all guests with the best value, service, quality and cleanliness. We really hope to have you stay with us in the future and again thank you for taking time to leave us feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    176
    59
    19
    17
See reviews for
147
179
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Two couples visiting Maine and shopping in Freeport. Upon arrival, Amanda checked us in and upgraded our rooms because we are Priority Club members. We also received a nice gift bag with water and snacks. Our room was very spacious with refrigerator and microwave. It was very clean and very quiet and comfortable. The location was perfect for shopping and going out for dinner. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor. It was convenient and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamweaver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dreamweaver11,

Good Morning! Thank you so much for being a rewards member and choosing to stay with our Holiday Inn Express in Freeport. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We upgrade all guests when suites are available to show how much we appreciate you being part of our rewards club. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed your snacks for your membership, your room and the service you received at check in with me!

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review and we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We reserved a king room, and requested a crib for our infant son. We were shown to our room by a staff member who wheeled the very-old metal crib in for us. He set up the crib then left, when we noticed that there were some personal items in the room (toiletries but no suitcases). The staff member appeared back at our door and apologized, saying this room was already occupied! We were glad no one was inside, to say the least.

We collected the items we had set down, and went back to the front desk. After five mins or so, they found us another room. Our little caravan of three adults, an infant in a stroller, a few pieces of luggage and a crib made its way to the new room.... which was also occupied! Luckily, the guests weren't inside this one either.

Repeated the full process again, third room was empty of other guests. This really made us feel nervous about leaving anything in our room while we were out, not knowing if others were going thru the same thing. In the morning, we had no newspaper or check out slip under our door, so still unsure if they had OUR room listed as occupied!

Room Tip: Knock before entering!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. This was brought to my attention the following morning by the gentleman who checked you in. Both rooms were due to check out and did not extend their stay with us at the front desk. Housekeeping forgot to make us away they cleaned the room as a stay over causing this error.

I want to assure you this hardly ever happens and it was just coincidental that both rooms were occupied by the same group of guest. We do apologize and hope you do stay with us in the future.

We hope that everything after check in was up to our typical high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Big, bright, spacious rooms, nicely appointed, spotless, with really comfortable beds and pillows. Common areas also big, bright, inviting, including the decent-sized pool and whirlpool. Good continental breakfast in nice, comfortable dining area, including sausage, eggs, and pancakes. Building new in 2006, and a definite upgrade compared with older Holiday Inn properties. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Rt. 1 are quieter than those facing I-295.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Penny MN,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed staying at our location. We do have lovely, large rooms and are constantly updating the property to keep it looking brand new!

If you are ever in the Freeport Area again we hope you chose to stay with us again! Thank you for leaving us this fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night at the Holiday Inn on our way to Boston. Our room had a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker and would be a place we would choose to stay if we were able to spend a few days in the area. Breakfast had lots of variety. We also used the pool after a day of shopping.

My only complaint was that the bath tub was rather slippery when trying to get out of the shower. Would suggest that a bath mat be provided or some non stick strips be placed in the tub.


Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank digitalcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Good Afternoon Valued Guest,

Thank you for leaving us feedback. I have passed your suggestions onto management. I know we do have bathmats for the tubs available at the front desk however I do agree we should have them in all rooms. I believe they are planning on putting some type of paint on the tubs to prevent the slippery bottoms however I am going to pass this along to management to speed this up!

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us this feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Welcomed by the front desk staff, I loved how she gave me choices of which floor and how close to the pool I would like. The suite was spotless and well stocked with a mini kitchen and everything we could have wanted. Quiet and comfortable sleep.
Location was good close enough to the shopping, about a 5 minute drive.
Had a ball in the indoor pool although was disappointed that it was a chilly pool and closed at 8, even for adults ..
I will stay here again next time I go to freeport...

Room Tip: We booked a 2 Queen suite, very happy with the space for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toonzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future!! Remember to call us directly for the best rates and to guarantee your room preference (Floor, location!). Thank you again for taking time to leave us such great feedback. We greatly appreciate it and will be sure to share with our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great breakfast, eggs, sausage, coffee, sweet rolls,auto pancake maker, nice dining room.From 6:30 -9am. Bottom floor, rooms down hallway along pool area the best. 100-107? Pool and hot tub. Early am. best for pool & hot tub, other wise full of kids. Coffee pot, micro, fridge in room. Free Wi-Fi. Great employees. And the rooms are QUIET. Must be lots of sound proofing, no road noise. Natural food store and Vodka distillery across street. I'd stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Lower rooms on hallway by pool gives easy access to this area and is quiet and can exit outside to v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boarstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave our property feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Breakfast hours are actually until 10 am so next time you come you can have breakfast later if needed! I would also be happy to leave the pool and hot tub open later for adults so please check with the front desk and that will let you know the extended hours for adults.

Thank you again for leave us a review and we really hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freeport
#6 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing