We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only downfall is breakfast. All the warm food seem to come out of a microwave. Great location, close to Freeport shopping and downtown Portland.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking time to leave our property a review. We apreciate all feedback and take all comments and suggestions into consideration. I am sorry to hear you thought breakfast could have been better. We are working on adding additional fruits to make a healthier choice and we rotate weeks for pastries and muffins. We have recently added the pancake machice which everyone seems to love! We heat all hot food items in the oven before putting out for guests. We do not microwave any food.

We hope to have you stay with us in the furture and if you do please let us know if breakfast improved!

Amanda Marinko
Sales and Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 479 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

A friendly greeting and a clean comfortable room, along with free wifi. What is there not to like.! Only minor concern was a noisy refrigerator which i solved by unplugging it.

Breakfast was normal polystyrene plates and plastic cutlery which i dislike, but you get what you pay for..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmdsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our location a review. We appreciate the great feedback and I will be sure to share this with everyone at our property. I do apologize about the noisy fridge. In the future feel free to call the front desk and they could have sent someone to fix or replace for you. Again thank you for leaving feedback and we hope to have you stay with us in the future!

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

the people at this hotel are very warm and friendly and very accomodating. I messed up my reservation arrived a day late but they took care of the problem so i wasn't double charged. They even accomodated me with a room selection. The next morning at check out they couldn't help me with a receipt that i needed but when i called the manager the next day i was sent one immediatley.
this hotel is very clean and everything is in it's place. The breakfast area was clean and well attended and stocked up. A major reason i like to stay here is that it is about a mile to downtown Freepeort. However there are restaurants to the south of the hotel as well as to the north in Freeport. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our location. We strive to make sure all guests are satisfied with our location! I'm and glad we were able to refund you for the no show since there was an error made when booking the room. We do know that errors happen!!! Again we thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and we hope to have you stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very nice Holiday Inn Express.
Staff was very friendly and a bonus was an upgraded room.
Hotel is new, very bright, modern public areas.
Upgraded room had microwave, refrigerator and sofa bed.
Location is a short drive from all the shopping and stores in downtown Freeport.
I would recommend this location as very comfortable hotel with a value pricing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjm21650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our location. We are the newest hotel in Freeport and update often. We do try to always upgrade PC Members when we have upgrades available! Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and we look forward to having you stay with us again! Please call us directly for the best rate and a comp. upgrade!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express was perfect for our needs! Spacious comfortable rooms with mini-frig, coffee maker, nice bathroom, and sitting area. Indoor heated pool and hot tub nice for exercise and relaxation, free wifi. Rooms were quiet, even though located on highway. Good complimentary breakfast and helpful staff.

Room Tip: The King executive suites have a second, separate room with door and pull out couch which worked wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srmonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us such wonderful feedback. We have a fantastic staff and a wonderful property!!!! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September. We loved this place. The room was huge and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was fabulous. The beds were very comfortable and all the facilities one could need were here. I found the pillows a little uncomfortable but hey the same tends to be case for me in most hotels. The firm pillows were just not firm enough. A minor hiccup though. We would definitely stay here again at the drop of a hat and will do when we return to Freeport next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a fantastic review. I have looked into the room you were in and we have replaced the pillows in that room. We do our best to replace everything frequently however there are time something wear out sooner then others! Thank you for letting us know!

We hope to have you stay at our location in the future and again thank you for taking time to leave our hotel a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having used Holiday Inn Express throughout the US & UK we opted for this location as a stop
- over on our trip from Boston to Bar Harbor.
The check- in was efficient and the room very clean. Breakfast was good except for the quality of fruit juice (watery!).
The beds were one of the best that I have experienced within the HIE chain. All staff we encountered were friendly and polite.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Movingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. I have already passed this onto our wonderful staff. We take all suggestions and feedback into consideration. We have already adjusted the juice machine to make the juices stronger.

If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you back at our location. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
473 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
982 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freeport
#6 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $77 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing