We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Room was very clean and a good size. Our family of five was very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was standard fair but served in a nice room with big screen TVs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us feedback. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn in Freeport. We are glad we were able to provide you and your family a clean room and a room large enough for your family of 5. We hear often that our suites are much larger then most ! We hope to see you in the future!

Amanda Marinko
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 479 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I just stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport for a little getaway to Maine. We wanted to stay in Portland but the Holiday Inn in Freeport was $100 cheaper a night. The hotel staff was extremely nice and place was very clean. It was right off the highway and only 15 mins from Portland. We were only 5 mins from the outlets in Freeport as well.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. They also have free breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you so much for taking time out to leave us feedback. If your travels bring you back to the Freeport area, feel free to contact me directly and if available I'll upgrade you to one of our suites. You can reach me at hiexpressfreeport@yahoo.com.

Amanda Marinko
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I specifically asked for a room that did not face the highway. I arrived late at night and proceeded to the room. I had booked a double queen room. When I got to the room I found a king. Since there were three of us we couldn't switch. When I went back to the desk and requested the correct room I was told that all the doubles left were on the highway side. The noise from the highway kept me up all night. I would suggest that anyone looking at this hotel go to the Hampton Inn that is not right on the highway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Thank NorthJerseyGirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are disappointed to hear that we didn't accommodate you in a way that is typical of the high standards we uphold as a Holiday Inn Express and Suites. I would ask of you to contact me directly so we can discuss your stay further and try to figure out why so many errors were made.

We have had more guests then normal recently check into rooms and come down and tell us they requested different then what we have assigned to them. Usually it is a third party site that made these guests their reservations. If booking through a 3rd party site we highly suggest calling the hotel to confirm details. I don't want to put the blame on them especially because I am unsure as to how you reserved you room.

Again we greatly appologize for the inconveniences you have experienced and I would love to talk further so that we can prevent this from happening in the future.

Contact: hiexpressfreeport@yahoo.com

Amanda Marinko
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Was there for a few nights on business so wasn't particularly interested in all the amenities offered, but some of the basics weren't really up to par with other business hotels I'm used to.
- lumpy pillows, sheets not as soft or fine as other hotels like Hiltons etc.
- smelled like a Holiday Inn motel - memories of my childhood where we would pull up to a Holiday Inn motel impromptu
- breakfast was provided but on disposable plastic / styrofoam plates. Egg and sausage patties looked uninviting....probably best to stick with cereals, yogurt, fruit and other baked goods.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeontheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you for taking to time leave feedback, We are extremely disappointed to hear that we didn't accommodate you in a way that is typical of our standards for Holiday Inn. I would ask for you to contact me directly so we can discuss your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback so we can take appropriate actions to ensure the future comfort of our guests. I can be reached by email at hiexpressfreeport@yahoo.com

Amanda Marinko
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

On arrival, there was a line of people waiting to check in. The key coding machine was inoperable, so the staff couldn't issue keys. They did, however, run guests to their rooms and let them in with their master key.

The room was clean and comfortable--pretty much a standard HI Express room. Mine faced the Interstate highway (about 100 yards away) and there was some traffic noise. If you're a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a room that faces US 1.

The location is a few miles south of the hustle of all the shopping in downtown Freeport, so you would need to drive there from the hotel.

Finally, the receptionist offered up several suggestions for nearby restaurants.

While not the perfect stay, I would return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zed1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an in depth review of our hotel. Feedback is the best way for us to follow up on issues we may not be aware of.

That being said, we are sorry for the inconveniences you experiences while checking into our location. The key card machine has never given us any problems up until the day you arrived. Of course it happen to malfunction on one of our busiest days of the year!

The highway is fairly close to our location which some people like because of how convenient it is however if you are a light sleeper it could be a bit of a problem if you are on the back of our hotel. The rooms on the front are much quieter and we would be happy to assign you a room on the front if you call us directly!
If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you stay with us! Call us directly and I will be sure to assign you a room on the front and even upgrade you to a suite at no additional charge!

Amanda Marinko
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Recently stayed one night & we were facing the interstate , alot of road noise and to make matters worse in the middle of the night the garbage truck came in and woke both of us up to a huge bang bang bang ! Nice hotel & would stay again but would want to face route 1 & not highway & on the other end of the garbage bins ! Great rooms , breakfast , location & staff ...

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calebaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

So pleased to hear of your positive experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We look forward to your return with open arms. Your comments were warming and well received by the team.

We look forward to having y ou stay with us in the future!

Amanda Marinko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My family stayed here on a trip back from Bar Harbor. The hotel seems newish and the room was clean and almost posh! The free wireless was odd in that you are given a scratch off card with a name and password for each device you wanted to connect, but I will say that the internet was faster than at any other hotel at which we stayed. The rooms on the interstate 295 can be noisy once the big rigs start whizzing by at 5 in the morning -- better to ask for a room facing route 1. The pool was fine, although we used it in the morning and the main pool was pretty cool and the lights were all turned off.

Room Tip: Get a room facing route 1 (the front of the hotel), not interstate 295.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for leaving feedback! We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here in Freeport. We are the newest hotel in Freeport and try our best to make sure everything is 100%! We do have a great staff all around and it is extremely rare to get any complaints!

The free wireless passcode is new and we have found this service to be much faster with a lot less problems! We do uderstand the user names and passwords for each divise can be a pain however with the speed of the internet and the network being more secure it is worth the time to enter it!

The rooms on the interstate 295 can be noisy at night however we would def. assure you a room on the route one side if you call us directly! I will even upgrade you to a suite next time you stay here with us!

Thank you for leaving feedback and we hope to have you stay with us in the future!

Amanda Marinko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
473 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
982 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freeport
#6 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $77 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing