We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard HI Express a little too. Close to the highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Standard HI Express a little too. Close to the highway”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

On arrival, there was a line of people waiting to check in. The key coding machine was inoperable, so the staff couldn't issue keys. They did, however, run guests to their rooms and let them in with their master key.

The room was clean and comfortable--pretty much a standard HI Express room. Mine faced the Interstate highway (about 100 yards away) and there was some traffic noise. If you're a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a room that faces US 1.

The location is a few miles south of the hustle of all the shopping in downtown Freeport, so you would need to drive there from the hotel.

Finally, the receptionist offered up several suggestions for nearby restaurants.

While not the perfect stay, I would return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zed1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave such an in depth review of our hotel. Feedback is the best way for us to follow up on issues we may not be aware of.

That being said, we are sorry for the inconveniences you experiences while checking into our location. The key card machine has never given us any problems up until the day you arrived. Of course it happen to malfunction on one of our busiest days of the year!

The highway is fairly close to our location which some people like because of how convenient it is however if you are a light sleeper it could be a bit of a problem if you are on the back of our hotel. The rooms on the front are much quieter and we would be happy to assign you a room on the front if you call us directly!
If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you stay with us! Call us directly and I will be sure to assign you a room on the front and even upgrade you to a suite at no additional charge!

Amanda Marinko
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    183
    61
    19
    17
See reviews for
153
186
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Recently stayed one night & we were facing the interstate , alot of road noise and to make matters worse in the middle of the night the garbage truck came in and woke both of us up to a huge bang bang bang ! Nice hotel & would stay again but would want to face route 1 & not highway & on the other end of the garbage bins ! Great rooms , breakfast , location & staff ...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calebaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
So pleased to hear of your positive experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We look forward to your return with open arms. Your comments were warming and well received by the team.

We look forward to having y ou stay with us in the future!

Amanda Marinko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My family stayed here on a trip back from Bar Harbor. The hotel seems newish and the room was clean and almost posh! The free wireless was odd in that you are given a scratch off card with a name and password for each device you wanted to connect, but I will say that the internet was faster than at any other hotel at which we stayed. The rooms on the interstate 295 can be noisy once the big rigs start whizzing by at 5 in the morning -- better to ask for a room facing route 1. The pool was fine, although we used it in the morning and the main pool was pretty cool and the lights were all turned off.

Room Tip: Get a room facing route 1 (the front of the hotel), not interstate 295.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for leaving feedback! We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here in Freeport. We are the newest hotel in Freeport and try our best to make sure everything is 100%! We do have a great staff all around and it is extremely rare to get any complaints!

The free wireless passcode is new and we have found this service to be much faster with a lot less problems! We do uderstand the user names and passwords for each divise can be a pain however with the speed of the internet and the network being more secure it is worth the time to enter it!

The rooms on the interstate 295 can be noisy at night however we would def. assure you a room on the route one side if you call us directly! I will even upgrade you to a suite next time you stay here with us!

Thank you for leaving feedback and we hope to have you stay with us in the future!

Amanda Marinko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We were very happy with the hotel...clean and convenient...also a good deal with the local hotel discount book.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller154960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for your gracious comments about your experience here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Freeport, Maine. We are no longer in the coupon book however call us directly and we will be happy to offer you a discounted rate or match one of our competitors rates!!!

Next time you are in the area we hope you chose to stay with us. We promise to do our best to replicate the service you received!

Amanda Marinko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here one night on a trip home from Nova Scotia. The hotel was clean and the rooms were a good size for my family of 5. I would probably rate this hotel higher but we had a less expensive more positive stay on the trip up at the Courtyard by Marriott in Bangor, ME.

Pros: Suites with two doubles and a fold out, easy to get to, easy check-in & check-out. Free hot breakfast. Small pool with whirlpool. Close (by need to drive) to LL Bean and the outlets in town. Free Wi-Fi. Microwave and fridge in room.

Cons: Who designs shower heads to be 5'9" from the floor? I hate squatting to wash my hair. Not exciting enough to take pictures of.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof5fromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It sounds like you enjoyed your visit to Freeport, Maine. If your travels bring you back to this area, feel free to contact me directly and I will be sure to give you a great rate and if available I'll even upgrade you to one of our newly renovated suites. You can reach me at (207) 865-9020 or email me hiexpressfreeport@yahoo.com.

Amanda Marinko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed the hotel. Fairly large rooms, clean and comfortable. Free wireless internet and breakfast. Beds were nice. We liked it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMonteRunsOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I apologize for the delay in responding to your fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us last year and if you are ever in the area again we would love to have you stay with us.

Again thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Hotel is out a couple of miles from town. A good location. Rooms are typical but very clean.
Breakfast was excellent. Many choices.
Backside of hotel faces I-295. Could be noisy. We were in the front.
Desk staff was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okiegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to apologize for not responding to your review sooner. Feedback is extremely important and we appreciate you taking the time to share your view of our property.

If you are ever in the area again we would love for you to stay with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
925 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
415 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Brunswick
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freeport
#6 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing