We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The James Place Inn sets a high standard for B&B's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had a thoroughly delightful long weekend at the James Place Inn. Tori and Robin were wonderful and helpful hosts, the food was delicious (homemade from scratch and bountiful), the location perfect for shopping and outings in nature, and the room (with a jacuzzi!) charming. We took advantage of one of their packages and had a glorious sunset cruise on Casco Bay. We're already planning our return trip to this wonderful B & B!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 603 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

An excellent place to stay. Great location within walking distance of the the shops at Freeport. The Rose room was very comfortable and the Inn-Keepers were friendly and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was fabulous. I recommend this B&B enthusiastically.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My husband and I and another couple spent a night here in August. The rooms are charming and very clean. The owners are really really nice people. The breakfasts are fabulous. We had homemade oatmeal raspberry muffins, sausage cheese frittata, blueberry pancakes, bacon, fresh fruit and juice, granola and yogurt....all great! When we arrived we were welcomed with home made chocolate peanut butter cookies. The owners know all the best spots to see, shop, eat, do. The Inn is the best location - down a quiet side street near all the shopping. The four of us voted and we'd all stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSaavy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Just returned from a stay at James Place Inn.Stumbled on it by accident and were glad we did. We felt welcome and accommodated from start to departure.
My husband and I enjoy cooking and it was wonderful to be served homemade food.
As I write Tori's homemade granola is baking in my oven!
Rooms are lovely, attention to detail is in them.
Hope to visit again!
Chris and Elaine

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank elaineO1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Robin and Tori are fantastic. This is a charming Inn with all the amenities of home. They do a great job with recommendations as well as travel info around ME. Just a beautiful place and a perfect setting.

Many thanks,

Torri and Ross

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cre1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

From the first moment we arrived, the innkeepers were helpful and gave outstanding service. They took care of all our needs at the inn as well as made reservations for side trips and dinner reservations. The food they served was outstanding both in quality and variety. We traveled with friends and commented the owners could easily open a gourmet restaurant. We had such an excellent time the first part of our trip, we made additional reservations to come back to stay with them toward the end of our trip. Our stay at the James Place Inn was the best we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This was the second time in 5 years that I stayed "at the Inn" during my trips to Maine to visit my daughter at camp. As I said hello to Tori and checked in, the scent of oatmeal/raisin/chocolate chip cookies wafted out from the kitchen. Need I go on? Tori graciously helped me with the 22 cupcakes I brought from Portland which needed refrigeration before I set off for visiting day. I settled into my favorite blue room and then went downstairs. Robin showed me his homemade bread (ready for duty as french toast) and helped me figure out where my favorite shoe store was. He gave me a map of Freeport which I studied that night. After shopping, I had the chance to catch up in my spacious, air conditioned blue room (It was 97-99 outside). Breakfast featured Maine blueberry pancakes. I did not feel uncomfortable asking to join another couple's table. Robin gave me great directions for my outings that day. I recommended my friends from Miami to stay at the Inn as well, which is a recommendation in itself.

We needed to leave a bit early for visiting day. Tori and Robin accommodated our request for an early breakfast and allowed me to use their computer to check in for my flight the next day. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
Thank kitchencounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
978 reviews
12.6 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#8 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.5 mi away
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $172 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing