We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable w/congenial hosts and lots of charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed for just one night, and really enjoyed our stay with Tori and Robin. The house is spotless, the breakfast was delicious, and it was in walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 591 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2009

My stay at James Place Inn was very relaxing. The Inn was adorable, clean and comfortable. The breaksfasts were amazing!!! I would stay here again. Its only a twenty minute drive to Portland Maine and about an hour to Booth Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyjeanbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

From the welcome we received in the driveway to the comfortable room to the delicious breakfasts, the James Place Inn proved to be a terrific place to relax amid the hustle of Freeport. It was a great place to unwind after touring and shopping. The tone is set by the proprietors, Tori and Robin, who were not only friendly and hospitable, but clearly on top of the guests needs and wants. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownsandBuckeyeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Green Room for two nights this September. Neither of us had stayed in a B&B prior to this and were uncertain as to what to expect. We were very favorably impressed, our room was clean and cute as can be with a jacuzzi in the main room and a nice sized bathroom. We also got a look at the pine room which was much bigger than ours with a fireplace and porch, looked like that would be a good choice as well. The inn is located on a side street yet very easy walking distance to the main shopping district in Freeport including LL Bean stores and great restaurants. Robin and Tori were perfect hosts, intuitively knowing when you needed them and out of your way the rest of the time. Breakfast was excellent, freshly baked and prepared with choices to meet every taste. Nice breakfast area, with indoor or outdoor seating weather permitting. It's nice to to visit with the other guests over breakfast, but if you aren't into that you could stay out of the conversation without any problem. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLGOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

What a wonderful B&B!

Excellent location in Freeport…everything is within walking distance. I stayed in the Rose room which featured a private bathroom and Clawfoot Jacuzzi tub. The bed was very comfortable and the room extremely clean. Even a TV and DVD player in the room.

The hospitality and service were irreproachable. I travelled throughout the UK a few years ago and stayed in B&Bs throughout. The James Place Inn was by far the best B&B and the Barons are the kindest and most helpful innkeepers; they offered the best service, bar none. They were always eager to help, and are very knowledgeable of the surrounding areas. They made great recommendations for restaurants, shopping, beaches, golf courses …

Hats off to the cook! Breakfast was fabulous. The French toast made with homemade cinnamon bread is out of this world. You may even be lucky and have Elyse bring you breakfast.

I plan on returning this fall when the leaves change.

Thank you Elyse, Tori and Robin for my memorable and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadLessTraveled-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I stayed at The James Place Inn for two nights over the 4th weekend and I must say I totally enjoyed my stay.

Let me say, I don't usually stay in B&B's as a rule but this could convert me. The hosts are genuinely nice. My room, The Pine, was totally charming and comfortable (even with the very small bathroom) and the breakfast, especially the variety of homebaked items, were excellent. So convenient, just a short walk to the center of town, restaurant and shopping, yet on a very quiet side street.

I will certainly stay there when in the area again and can totally recommend it !

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitemaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Once again Bill and I had such an amazing time with such wonderful people. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one :) we look forward to spending our time with you and eatting your mouth watering breakfast once again in November!! We stayed in the Green Room and we decided that's our summer room and the Pine Room is our winter room. Take Care and enjoy the remainder of your season :) Highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmkrawczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
966 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.7 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $194 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing