We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of home, in Freeport, ME!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little piece of home, in Freeport, ME!”
Reviewed February 27, 2009

I booked a weekend away for my husband and I to go snowshoeing (for the first time) as part of a Christmas present for him. I called the James Place Inn and spoke directly to Tori who helped select my room for me based on what I was telling her. We decided together on the Green Room and that ended up being an excellent selection! My husband was worried as he's a "hotel snob" and spends 16 days a month in hotels (he's a pilot) but had never stayed at a B&B. Well, the kindness and friendliness that Robin and Tori extended made him a believer! Instantly Robin and my husband bonded over talks about flying and we spent our two amazing breakfasts laughing with them. Robin guided us to our snowshoeing destination and also provided suggestions for our return trip (which will be soon)!

Room: Our room was the Green Room and had a hot tub, an amazingly comfortable bed, and nice private bath. Everything was clean and crisp and the hot tub was very relaxing (and much needed!) after a day of snowshoeing. It was on the first floor so you could hear early birds in the kitchen - but that wasn't an issue since we were awake early as well. The one thing that was a small issue is that some water was leaking through the window - we were more concerned about their beautiful oom being damaged than the water actually coming in, so we made sure to tell them about it and kept towels down so the wood wouldn't be ruined.

Breakfasts: I cannot say enough about how amazing the breakfast that Robin prepares every morning. They use fresh, natural, local products and you can really tell. Start with fresh cut fruit, granola, and yogurt, then try a wonderful scone (not hard as a rock!), and then move to the two items he's prepared and you're ready to tackle the day! We had cinnamon french toast, made from Robin's homemade bread - amazing. We also had spinach and goat cheese quiche which was unbelieveable and my husband can't stop talking about the sausage he had! I could have just sat and ate all day - it was so good!

Location: You are within walking distance to everything on Main Street when you stay here. That was the best part - we walked everywhere for shopping and food and it was a nice, brisk walk and being so conveniently located to all the downtown happenings made our stay even better.

We truly enjoyed our stay so much - we didn't want to leave. My husband says he's sold on B&Bs, but only the James Place Inn for now. :) Freeport was such a wonderful little town in the winter - a little piece of winter wonderland not too far from where we live. It was such a relaxing escape for us and we'll be excited to return!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAllan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
397
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jfadvisor
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2009

The room was great. The food is awesome. The owners are super friendly. Freeport is a great town in a wonderful part of Maine. If you're visiting, you have to stay at the James Place Inn.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2009

We took a few days and explored the area-- -- this inn and the environment was just what the doctor ordered--

Sooooo relaxing and the food was so well prepared and tatsy!

We have never been treated so well and felt so comfortable
Easy to get directions and get things done-- with our new friends Robin and Tori-- the innkeepers--

Close by fitness facility which we went to yoga and swim.

What a pleasant suprise on a whim-- will be back and stay again --

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonBackBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
236 Clarendon St. Boston Ma. 02116
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2008

I was looking for a quiet retreat outside of Boston after a stressful season in my retail business. As a frequent traveler for business I usually seek out smaller "Boutique" Hotels for their ambiance and homey feeling, I was not disappointed here.The breakfasts were unparalled,homemade breads, sausage and bacon from a local butcher and so much more. My" Wisteria" room was immaculate and just as you would expect, a soothing soft blue.Even though we didn't use the jacuzzi it was decadent just having it there. The Inn keepers were attentive but respected our privacy.
When you go don't miss the cookie jar in the sunny dining room. It's full of homemade cookies, or was at least!

  • Liked — food cleanliness
  • Disliked — no view
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank relaxed76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My wife and I spent two wonderful days at The James Place Inn. It is conveniently located in Freeport, Me and yet is very quiet. The breakfasts are fantastic and are adjusted to meet any taste or diet requirements. The best feature of this Inn though is the personal treatment provided by the owners, Robin and Tori Baron. You'll feel like part of the family and will hate to leave.

  • Liked — The friendliness and attentiveness of the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fairfax_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We stayed here 1 night in early Sept (last minute decision). We stayed in the Pine Room because of the fireplace. This room was huge and even had a little deck. The bathroom was tiny (on par with a cruise ship one). Robin and Elyse were wonderful Hosts (Tori was away), they greeted us upon arrival with baked goods, gave us a tour (allowed us to look in the other rooms - no one else had checked in yet) and then breakfast was cooked to order the next morning. Robin had prepped the fire so was easy to start. We had a great time, though should note the room is near the kitchen so we did hear morning prep (we are early birds though so no complaints)

  • Liked — The Hospitality of the Owners and the Fireplace
  • Disliked — the bathroom was tiny
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2008

My boyfriend and I decided to go away to Maine last minute. I searched for hours online to find a B&B...there was nothing to be found. I stumbled upon the James Place Inn, which was the only B&B that had one room left for a Thurs and Fri night availability. I read the reviews here on TripAdvisor, and decided to book the room due to the fabulous reviews the inn received.
Let me just say, that words cannot do this Inn justice. It is absolutely adorable. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Yellow room on Thurs and Friday. They had a cancellation for Saturday night and we immeditely decided to stay...they moved us to the Green room (utterly amazing).
The rooms were absolutely beautiful and the inn is so charming. However, aside from the aesthetics, I have to say that the innkeepers, Robin & Tori (and their adorable daughter Elyse) were the most hospitable hosts one could ever hope for. As soon as we arrived, Robin showed us around and made us feel welcome and "at home". Anything, we wanted was made available to us. Robin cooks breakfast each morning...we had homemade cinnamon bread french toast, quiche, blueberry pancakes....mmmmmm! He also made chocolate chip cookies fresh each day. Robin and Tory were so amazing...we really enjoyed getting to know them!
Everything about our trip was perfect...the weather, the inn and the hospitable innkeepers...Thanks Robin and Tori!!! We will be going back up to Maine soon and we wouldnt think of staying anywhere else! I can't recommend it enough!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank allie2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2008
Wow! Thank you so much for the generous words and review. We love what we do and are so glad that it was reflected in your experience with us. Thank you again and we will look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.3 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing