We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place to stay in Freeport/Portland area... by far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the James Place Inn several times in Freeport since Tori and Robin have owned it. Every time we go up there, we are welcomed back as old friends! I can't say enough about how welcoming and friendly our hosts are... and we've seen their daughter, Elyse, grow up from a little girl to a young woman!

We typically stay in either the Green Room (LOVE that skylight over the bed and the 2-person jacuzzi) and the Pine Room (can't beat the cozy room with relaxing decor and FIREPLACE). The rooms are beautiful and exceptionally clean. The breakfasts are to die for - Robin's the best cook around and certainly loves his job! Not to mention the wonderful cookies left to snack on in the afternoon/evenings! You couldn't pick a better place to stay... and once you experience it, you'll be back year after year... take it from two who know :)

My husband was never the type to be comfortable in a bed/breakfast - staying in someone's home... this place is unique in that Tori & Robin live in the building behind the inn. My husband and I just love this place an look forward to returning again and again whenever we're in the area.

Experience it for yourself! You'll be glad that you did!

Room Tip: My favories... Green room (sklylight and 2-person jacuzzi) and Pine room in the Fall/Winter (firepl...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acool1Nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We love all of our guests however, we really look forward to seeing our regulars. We are fortunate to see many of them during the fall and winter months and it is indeed like welcoming dear friends back. We enjoy catching up on each other's lives, sharing stories, and being together. Thank you so much for being amongst those we so look forward to catching up with! We'll see you again soon.

Tori & Robin Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 591 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

The James Place Inn is by far our favorite B&B anywhere. We vacation up in Maine every summer and the first night is ALWAYS spent here. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the breakfast is always delicious, and Tori and Robin are always warm and welcoming. Without fail it is like this every time we visit, and we've stayed at least 4 times over the past 3 years. Not to mention that you can park your car and walk to everything in town! My husband had business in Scarborough this past weekend, but we decided to spend the night in Freeport just so we could stay at this inn. When we arrived, Tori was decorating the inn with boughs and berries. When I complimented on how pretty they were, she gave me a bunch to bring home for my Thanksgiving table. They're a beautiful reminder of the lovely weekend we had! Our hosts were very helpful in recommending a restaurant for dinner, securing a reservation, and the next day when we were looking for something fun to do close to town, they both offered more suggestions that only a local would know. We stayed in the Green Room this past weekend, and my husband and I have both decided that it's our favorite room so far. We are already looking forward to our return next summer!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong in the Green Room--large bathroom, skylights, and it's connected right to...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mds1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for making us your favorite B&B! We continue to enjoy meeting all of our guests and greeting our returning guests is a real treat. It is like welcoming good friends back with us. We are pleased to hear the inn continues to deliver what you are looking for, and I am so pleased you enjoyed the berries! They are quite beautiful this time of year. Have a wonderful holiday season and we look forward to welcoming you back next summer. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Words truely can not describe the warm, inviting, friendly feeling you get the minute you arrive at James Place. This was our second stay, and we had a wonderful time. Tori and Robin know how to make you feel right at home. It was snowing the day we were leaving and Tori was out with her snow brush cleaning off our car, I mean come on, where will you ever get such great service!? Try this B&B. You will love it!

Kerry and Jason, Northfield, Massachusetts

Room Tip: The "Green" room is spacious, lots of light, and has a great jacuzzi tub!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time tow write such kind things about us! It was great fun to see the two of you back with us. It is good to hear that your second stay with us was equally as good as the first and did not disappoint! Seeing our regular guests is always such a treat for us. We enjoy the company and the chance to catch up. We look forward to welcoming you back to James Place Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Tori and Robin are wonderful hosts and are exceptional at creating an environment of comfort and relaxation. Robin's culinary skills result in gourmet breakfasts that satisfy one's appreciation for quality and creative blends of ingredients from frittatas to blueberry pancakes, to the warm coffee cake and rich quiche. Robin starts in the kitchen around 6:30 for breakfast and you can smell the incredible aromas throughout the inn.
I could not resist having the sampler plate of all offerings!
Tori and Robin compliment each other to make a great team which made our stay a truly exceptional experience.
We will return in the near future for another wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you so much - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly the food! It is so much fun to watch our guests have a great experience here, especially when they were not sure what to expect when making the reservation. Saying you "will be back" is one of the nicest compliments you can give us. The two of you were a pleasure to meet and have here and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We wanted a getaway weekend to clear our heads from work and couldn't have picked a better location on ALL fronts. The location is superb (a stones throw from the main shops). We stayed in the Pine room with a private deck and fireplace. We totally decompressed with the flickering of the fireplace. Robin and Tori couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating...just real down to earth hosts. Would invite them to our home. Lastly, the breakfasts were the best we've had at any B&B (and we sample them often). Homemade-fresh ingredients cooked perfectly. From the cinnamon French toast to the frittata and quiche. We loved that we could have had anything or all of it. Couldn't have had a nicer stay. We will recommend to many and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovingbandbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We so enjoyed having you two here and talking over breakfast. Your company was delightful and our talks were fun. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location, food and accommodations all to your liking. We are so fortunate to meet so many wonderful people and the two of you are two more we can add to our long list. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently enjoyed a trip to New England for our second anniversary. While in the Freeport area we lodged at the James Place Inn ~ and what a delightful stay we had! The Inn itself is lovely, well-kept, clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable, but what makes the stay at James place even better are the hosts, Robin and Tori! During our entire trip, they were by far our favorite hosts, not to mention the most helpful! They made us feel right at home, gave us valuable information about local sights, etc, put together a lovely anniversary package (sparkling cider, chocolates, cheeses, a gift certificate to dinner...) and they made a scrumptious, full breakfast each morning! We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and especially loved Tori's special homemade granola - yum! If we're ever in the area again, we would definitely stay here again. The yellow room is darling and the two-person jacuzzi is a very nice addition! 5+ stars!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We are so glad that we could be a part of your second anniversary celebration. It was truly our pleasure to have you with us. We enjoyed your company and chatting about the Midwest. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our inn. We love to help people have a good time and enjoy their vacation. Thank you for sharing such warm and wonderful thoughts regarding your stay. Come see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a great time staying here at the tail end of a vacation to the Northeast. Tori and Robin are outstanding hosts, and we enjoyed chatting while enjoying their excellent breakfasts. Say "yes" to all of the breakfast choices and you won't be disappointed. Robin took the time to customize dishes for lactose intolerance, which can be tricky to handle for a breakfast menu. The inn is in a perfect location for shopping in Freeport, and it isn't far away from Portland to enjoy the sights there.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyCalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at James Place Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your dietary needs. We are always interested in finding new recipes. We'll keep working on them so that we are ready should we have the pleasure of your company again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
967 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.7 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $194 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing