We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT place to stay in Freeport ME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“A GREAT place to stay in Freeport ME”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Robin and Tori are wonderful people , their Inn is clean and comfortable, They go out of their way to insure your stay is a wonderful experience. Robin's breakfasts are excellent, the range of delicious choices is amazing and the serving sizes are huge. They are located 3 blocks from down town.
I highly recommend this place to everyone and will return there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, and all of the kind words about our inn! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit Freeport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
405
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed two nights as part of a week long New England vacation. The location is awesome - walking distance to great food, shopping, and L.L. Bean. The room we stayed in was cozy but comfortable. The inn is great, but the service is superb. Tori and Robin were wonderful - very welcoming and willing to help in any way they could. Robin even offered to help us if we needed anything while on the rest of our trip. Great experience - we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful thoughts here with us and others. It was a pleasure to have you two here as you enjoyed your vacation and celebrating your third anniversary. (Also, seeing this means your sky diving was a success)! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the location convenient for the things you wanted to do. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent two nights at the James Place Inn this summer. We are from Sweden in Europe and we were traveling around New England by car with our sons, five and seven years old. At the James Place we met an outstanding breakfast and we were very happy with all the help the owners provided us with. We had a great time thanks to all the help we recieved in planing our stay in Freeport and surrounding area. The Inn is beautifully decorated and our blue room was a treat to stay in. It was also fantastic to be able to shop all night at L:L Bean! You are just three minutes from all the great out lets! The owners also had great ideas of where we should stop for dinner etc. This is a Must if your are looking for a place to stay in the Freeport area! We would love to come back and hope to do so in the future!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You and your family were a delight to have here and we are so glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We want all of our guests to feel welcome and at home while here. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to see you back with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My daughter's wedding party were catered to, fawned over and well fed. Robin and Tori are the world's best innkeeepers. Robin's breakfasts are to die for. A mother of the bride's dream team. Plus, an easy walk to downtown outlet shopping for wedding guests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for your daughter's wedding. It is such a big day and we are pleased to know that your needs were taken care of so that you and your daughter could focus on the event and enjoying it. It was our pleasure to share in such a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Weekend away for our 15 year anniversary. We chose the anniversary package. Tori and Robin have been absolutely fantastic! They are warm, welcoming kindhearted people! The yellow room was quaint, two person hot tub. We had, cocolate, wine, cheese and crackers to welcome us. Delicious homemade breakfast. Tori and Robin were extremely helpful in providing suggestions from activities to restaurants! Highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Congratulations on your 15-year anniversary and thank you for sharing it with us. The two of you are so cute and so friendly - love those smiling faces early in the morning! Thank you for writing such kind words about us. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and your first B&B experience. We wish you many more years of happiness together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first experience in a B&B and let's just say that Tori and Robin definitely set the bar really high. My girlfriend and I have never been to Maine and did not know what to expect, but the helpfulness of Tori and Robin made it all the more easier to find fun things to do. There was never a question that went unanswered and they were always ready to help. The quiche, pancakes, waffles, etc... were delicious. I would ave eating anything they had cooked for breakfast. We even arrived a little early, but Tori has happy to greet us and give us ideas what to do before our actual check in. They also had very good suggestions for us, we are on the younger side and wanted some more nightlife and they pointed us in the right direction.

Thank you Tori and Robin for the wonderful weekend... oh and don't forget to thank Elyse too!

My girlfriend and I highly recommend the James Place Inn, their hospitality cannot go unappreciated.

Room Tip: You need a car, otherwise you will not be able to get around easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rory b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay at James Place Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We love first-time B&Bers and those visiting Freeport for the first time. There is so much to see and do and we enjoy seeing people discover it all for the first time. You two were great fun to have here. We hope to welcome you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Delightful, bright and airy accommodation set back from the main street of Freeport but within a short walking distance to the amazing shopping precinct, restaurants and highlights. We couldn't have felt more welcome, Robin and Tori are two of the most wonderful people we met on our travels. Nothing would ever be too much trouble for these happy folk, they have a passion for what they do and the food is delicious (breakfast) and the accommodation is original and quaint. We were in the Wisteria Room which is as pretty as a picture, very large, by comparison to other places we stayed, with a bath big enough for two! We loved everything about the place, the people and the shopping!!!!
Would love to find ourselves there again one day. Thank you Tori and Robin - our time with you was a definite highlight of our 4 week USA tour.

Room Tip: The Wisteria room is very large and only a few steps up which is so important if you have heavy suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing part of your holiday and your stories of the many states you have visited (over 40, if my memory serves). You two were a pleasure to have here and we are so glad you found our inn welcoming and enjoyable. Our job as innkeepers lets us meet wonderful and interesting people from around the world, such as yourselves. We hope the rest of your holiday in the states was delightful and perhaps we will have the opportunity to welcome you back some day. Thank you again for the lovely compliments and taking the time to share your stay with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
935 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.8 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing