We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Weekend away for our 15 year anniversary. We chose the anniversary package. Tori and Robin have been absolutely fantastic! They are warm, welcoming kindhearted people! The yellow room was quaint, two person hot tub. We had, cocolate, wine, cheese and crackers to welcome us. Delicious homemade breakfast. Tori and Robin were extremely helpful in providing suggestions from activities to restaurants! Highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Congratulations on your 15-year anniversary and thank you for sharing it with us. The two of you are so cute and so friendly - love those smiling faces early in the morning! Thank you for writing such kind words about us. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and your first B&B experience. We wish you many more years of happiness together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 603 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first experience in a B&B and let's just say that Tori and Robin definitely set the bar really high. My girlfriend and I have never been to Maine and did not know what to expect, but the helpfulness of Tori and Robin made it all the more easier to find fun things to do. There was never a question that went unanswered and they were always ready to help. The quiche, pancakes, waffles, etc... were delicious. I would ave eating anything they had cooked for breakfast. We even arrived a little early, but Tori has happy to greet us and give us ideas what to do before our actual check in. They also had very good suggestions for us, we are on the younger side and wanted some more nightlife and they pointed us in the right direction.

Thank you Tori and Robin for the wonderful weekend... oh and don't forget to thank Elyse too!

My girlfriend and I highly recommend the James Place Inn, their hospitality cannot go unappreciated.

Room Tip: You need a car, otherwise you will not be able to get around easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rory b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay at James Place Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We love first-time B&Bers and those visiting Freeport for the first time. There is so much to see and do and we enjoy seeing people discover it all for the first time. You two were great fun to have here. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Delightful, bright and airy accommodation set back from the main street of Freeport but within a short walking distance to the amazing shopping precinct, restaurants and highlights. We couldn't have felt more welcome, Robin and Tori are two of the most wonderful people we met on our travels. Nothing would ever be too much trouble for these happy folk, they have a passion for what they do and the food is delicious (breakfast) and the accommodation is original and quaint. We were in the Wisteria Room which is as pretty as a picture, very large, by comparison to other places we stayed, with a bath big enough for two! We loved everything about the place, the people and the shopping!!!!
Would love to find ourselves there again one day. Thank you Tori and Robin - our time with you was a definite highlight of our 4 week USA tour.

Room Tip: The Wisteria room is very large and only a few steps up which is so important if you have heavy suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing part of your holiday and your stories of the many states you have visited (over 40, if my memory serves). You two were a pleasure to have here and we are so glad you found our inn welcoming and enjoyable. Our job as innkeepers lets us meet wonderful and interesting people from around the world, such as yourselves. We hope the rest of your holiday in the states was delightful and perhaps we will have the opportunity to welcome you back some day. Thank you again for the lovely compliments and taking the time to share your stay with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This B&B was Absolutely amazing! Couldn't have asked for better accommodations, breakfast and hosts! Definitely returning! Highly recommend this place to anyone and everyone! You'll feel right at home with tori and robin!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krysandmaryjkacigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the high praise! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and that it felt like home. That is our goal! I also appreciated the chuckle from the title of your review:-) Thank you so much for taking the time to post this and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 8 wonderful days in August. We can honestly say that Robin & Tori run the best B & B we have ever stayed in. Breakfasts were wonderful, all accompanied by Robin's stories of how he came by the recipes. The whole atmosphere was warm & welcoming and we found out so much about the local area because of their obvious delight in the area they live in. If you want to stay in a great bed & breakfast you must try James Place Inn, Freeport!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsyd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you, Tricia! It was such a pleasure for us to have you two here. We miss your sunny faces at breakfast! We delighted in watching you make new friends with our fellow guests and are so glad you enjoyed your time here with us and in the area. We are fortunate to do what we love and to meet such wonderful people like you. We cannot wait until our paths cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in the Pine Room which I would not recommend. However, the owners, Tori & Robin were very friendly and the breakfast each morning was wonderful - especially loved the raspberry scones. The afternoon cookies were a great treat too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoeKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food while here however we are sorry that the rest of your stay was not the experience you were looking for. We work hard to insure all of our guests do have a positive experience. Our sincere apologies that your room and overall stay were not as you expected. We do appreciate knowing about this and the chance to make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip to Freeport, Maine for a Saturday night in August. Of course, it was difficult to find a room on such short notice but as luck would have it, the James Place Inn had just one room available for just one night! I can't help but feel it was fate that brought us to the James Place Inn - it was like a dream come true. The house was beautiful, the room and common areas were spotless, the food was delicious and the hosts were sublime. If I could, I'd give Tori, Robin, and their daughter, Elyse, TEN stars. I can't wait to go back again;)

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their good points whether it's a jacuzzi, kitchenette, extra bed - you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaylesullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for all of the kind compliments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you stumbled upon us. (Robin was thrilled to be called "sublime"). We enjoyed meeting fellow mid-westerners and talking about big 10 football. It was truly a pleasure to have you here with us and we will certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
982 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#10 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.5 mi away
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $172 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing