We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jenison, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

For our first trip to Maine, we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Nothing could compare to the hospitality, comfort, cleanliness and location. Robin and Tori (and Elyse) were excellent at helping with suggestions for dinner and the whale watching excursion they recommended was AWESOME!! We stayed 3 nights in the Taupe room and would have loved to stay 3 more. Thank you Robin and Tori - we will be back. Don & Brenda

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Awe, thank you! We so enjoyed having you here. We love to see our guests having a good time and wanting to return to Maine. It is great to hear about your experiences and the things you enjoyed doing and seeing. Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about your stay here and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
397
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at James Place last weekend. Our friends, another couple, also stayed at the Inn. All four of us were in Freeport to visit a third couple who live nearby with their two children. Tori, Robin, and their daughter were so kind and generous. They gave spot-on recommendations for meals and they encouraged us to hang out at the inn with our local friends. When we forgot crackers for our cheese and wine, they were quick to donate their own. In the morning, they fed our friend and his kids breakfast, even though they were not staying at the inn! And what a breakfast. Robin whipped up two types of scones (cinnamon and raspberry), a quiche, a fritatta, bacon, AND buttermilk blueberry pancakes. Next time I'll have to also try their daughter's famous scrambled eggs. It was the best breakfast we had on our weeklong trip to Maine. It was also the best place we stayed. We will be back again and we are happy to have such a friendly place to stay in Freeport!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jaymes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have all of you here and watch you enjoy each others' company during your reunion. What a great thing that you have remained friends all these years.

We are glad you enjoyed the food and your stay. That the food was among the best breakfast while in Maine is saying something, with all of the great food in our state. Thank you for that!

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at James Place for one night and would love to have been able to stay longer! Tori and Robin are great hosts, and very helpful and accommodating. Robin gave some very helpful suggestions for finding the right spot for dinner. The room was clean, pleasant and very attractively done. We loved the homemade soap! And the full breakfast was unbelievable - from Tori's homemade granola to start, to the delicious quiche and frittata in the hot course. The inn is located on a quiet side street, and an easy walk to all the downtown Freeport stores and restaurants. Tori and Robin are exceptional hosts, and we can highly recommend James Place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important that all of our guests have a wonderful time here on their vacation. Thanks for sharing with others. We look forward to welcoming you back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have stayed at James Place Inn twice in the past year and am thinking about another trip this fall. Tori and Robin are wonderful innkeepers. They always provide great suggestions for the area (restaurants, entertainment). I always look forward to the delicious breakfast. The rooms are beautiful. Love this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you, Amy! Returning to our inn time and again is the nicest compliment you can give us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay once again. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience here with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The James Place Inn is a beautiful place. It is super well maintained, very clean, and the rooms (each with its own theme) are great. Much like other reviewers have stated, Tori and Robin really do make you feel at home. They are full of suggestions for local activities and eating. Breakfast was so good that we wished we had stayed longer just to experience it again. When we are in Freeport again we will definitely be coming back to the James Place Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review and to share your experience with others. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfasts. We do like to feed people! We look forward to welcoming you back to the inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Being from the West Coast (California), we weren't sure how to go about finding the perfect B & B on the East Coast. After doing some researching on the web, we found a few but the James Place Inn is what we decided to go with in the end, and we were glad that we did.

First off, their atmosphere overall was exceptional. Tori and Robin really make you feel at home and not just "guests". Their homemade breakfast is awesome and you must try Tori's homemade granola! It's wicked good!! They know the area well and are very helpful in finding places for you to dine, shop or take a day trip on the coast.

Second, the James Inn is a beautiful, quaint and quiet place. There Victorian house has spacious rooms and they are decorated very nice. The outside of the Inn has gorgeous flowers and plants that give the area just the right touch!

Thirdly, the location of the Inn in perfect walking distance to the outlet mall down the street. We were able to walk there in no time. We had a vehicle but walking made more sense so you didn't have to worry about parking. Its also not on the main street therefore making it very quiet during the day and at night.

We are very glad and pleased that we stayed here. We are already talking and planning our next trip and most definitely staying at the James Inn again!

-The Parnells

Room Tip: We choose the Taupe room that had a little kitchenette. Because we stayed a couple of nights, it hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosParnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We are so glad that we were able to help make your honeymoon enjoyable and memorable. It is gratifying to know that our guests have had a wonderful stay and that we met (exceeded)? expectations. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, most enjoyably your use of "wicked good!" Congratulations on your marriage and may you enjoy many happy years together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at this B&B. It was a great location, easy walking distance to the many outlet stores in Freeport. The ground floor room was fine. The built-in hot tub was wasted on us, but that's just us. The bed springs squeaked, our only slight concern (no jokes, please). The hosts were very friendly, easy to chat with, and very helpful with our holiday plans. We were very well fed each morning with a delicious and generous breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize for the squeaky bed and will look into that right away! (Promising no jokes). We are glad that everything else was enjoyable and do appreciate that you would stay with us again. We work hard to insure all of our guests have the best possible experience and all feedback is important to maintaining the quality standards we expect. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.3 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing