We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine B&B with Personality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Several cousins and I decided to have a reunion and stayed recently at the James Place Inn and were absolutely captivated by both the place and the people. It’s the friendliest place I’ve ever stayed, the accommodations are quite comfortable and attractive, and it’s perfectly located at the edge of the Freeport shopping district, close enough for daytime and evening walks to restaurants and stores while back far enough from Main Street for a quiet, secluded stay.

We were greeted warmly by the Baron family, and that warmth was unrelenting throughout our four-night stay. I felt from the moment we met our hosts that they were genuinely caring about our comfort and our thirst for information, recommendations, and directions. Never did I feel it was a “reach” for them when we asked for anything at all. In addition, Tori and Robin were excellent conversationalists, with great stories and humor, while they respected our privacy and provided us with a nice, safe, quiet place to read or count how little money we had left after shopping. And their daughter Elyse helped in the kitchen and dining room, and she was a delight as well.

The breakfasts are superb, and the Barons are VERY helpful and accommodating in determining what will be served every morning. They’re great bakers and they use a lot of fresh, healthy local ingredients.

We stayed in the Pine, Green, and Taupe rooms, and all of us felt our respective rooms were cozy and well-appointed. I stayed in the Taupe room, which had a little basic kitchen, which was really nice to keep water cold and keep leftovers from the great restaurants in the area. And, by the way, both Tori and Robin know and are active in the Freeport community, and so are great guides for their guests in selecting restaurants, pubs, stores, parks, tours, rentals, etc.

The weather wasn’t the greatest when we were there in late June (the whole east coast was socked in), but there was still much to see and do, and the Inn was very comfortable for whiling away a few hours in conversation or reading. We’ll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acbeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

What a great time it was for us as well to have you and your cousins here. It is such a cool story regarding how you found each other - thanks for sharing.

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about us and your stay here. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for choosing us for your family reunion. You all are so delightful and fun - it really was our pleasure. We'll look forward to seeing you again sometime. Until then, keep traveling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 605 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

The James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast was our tenth stay at a New England B&B in the past two years, and we were not disappointed. Tori and Robin welcomed us into their home, providing great food, a wonderful room, and guidance on what to see while in the area of Freeport. Their suggestion of the Popham Beach was right on - uncrowded beauty. We were traveling with our 20 year old daughter, and booked the blue room, which served our needs wonderfully. Robin clearly is in his element with his delectable creations. Each morning there was fresh fruit, homemade granola, yogurt, and a baked goodie. This was followed by the main course. Over the four days we ate bacon, ham, tasty sausage (and I don't even like sausage), quiche, cinnamon swirl french toast, and frittatas. I am a coffee snob, but their special blend that they have roasted locally was the finishing touch each morning. The rooms are clean and generous in size. Weather was in our favor so we were able to enjoy breakfast out on the deck each morning. The inn's location is one block from the main street with all the shopping one can handle. We will definitely be heading back to the James Place Inn.

Room Tip: Blue Room great for three travelers. Provides a queen and a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiiTravelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at James Place Inn. It was wonderful to have your family here and to be able to take care of your daughter during her break from camping and trekking. Thank you for taking the time to write such great things about your stay. It certainly was our pleasure and we are glad we did not disappoint!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were unique in that we stayed at this B&B for a whole week. By the end of the week, I felt like I was at home. The room (Yellow Room) was beautiful and the food was absolutely amazing. The hosts (Tori and Robin) were so welcoming and accommodating---they went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable: offering tips for making the most of our trip to Maine, helping us get tickets for an event, leaving a breakfast for us before our 5:00am flight---Tori even printed out our boarding passes so we would avoid the dreaded Southwest "C" group!

I honestly couldn't have asked for a better experience for my honeymoon. The only downside is that I know the next B&B I stay at will pale in comparison!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

It was wonderful to have you here and to spend some time with you throughout the week. We are honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us and are delighted you had such a great first B&B experience. Thank you so much for writing such warm words. It really is our pleasure to see our guests enjoy themselves.

We hope that the two of you have many happy years together. Perhaps we will have the pleasure of your warm smile again sometime. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our one-night stay at The James Place Inn. Our hosts were Robin and Tori and they were wonderful. We stayed in the Pine Room, which is quite lovely and has a real wood-burning fireplace and a private porch. It was unseasonably warm during our visit, so the fireplace got no use (in fact, we turned on the a/c), but we did enjoy the porch. The bathroom is pretty small in this room, but we still enjoyed the room quite a bit. Breakfast was quite tasty. It is served between 8:00 and 9:00. First there was fruit with yogurt if you wanted some. The hot entrées were Cinnamon Bread French Toast made from home baked bread and a Frittata with local vegetables. Both served with bacon and both were delicious. And cooked by Robin, I might add. Tori helped serve. Great place to stay. I hope we can return for a longer visit next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lojo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to your return for a longer stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed at B&B's all around the US and the world. The biggest problem is the obvious burn out on the owner's face. Bored and tired... it isn't fun or romantic after awhile. Robin and Tori and this B&B are different. They both truly made us feel they LOVED what they did. They are great, open people who have a wonderful story to tell. The breakfasts are huge and delicious, the cookies they leave out are divine and he will send you the recipes upon request! The rooms are so romantic, with beautiful lace edged bedding, nice pillows and the two person jacuzzi in the room was wonderful. After just two nights we felt like Robin was a friend - he came out to the car when we were leaving to give me a few lemon bars (amazing) and a muffin for the road. Oh yeah, the location could not be better, on a quiet side street right in downtown Freeport. Cannot recommend James Place more....

Room Tip: Depends what you want. The ground floor room we had allowed us access to the kitchen and goodies via...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderfully warm comments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do indeed love what we do and are glad it shows! It is important to us that our guests enjoy themselves and feel special and cared for. It is your vacation! Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate it. We hope you come see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The experience was great! The room(rose) we stayed in was clean, well lit, furnished well, and had a great claw foot tub. The bed and linens were comfortable as well. The morning breakfast was simply amazing and fit for Food network. I ate too much and meant too!!! The property was well maintained and inviting. The Innkeepers Tori and Robin were welcoming,helpful, friendly and just overall very pleasant to be around. I suggest that the James Place Inn is the place to stay if your expectation is excellence. I know you will enjoy your stay as much as I did!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Wow - thank you for such wonderful words regarding your stay with us. It is always gratifying to hear that people have enjoyed their time with us and have found the inn and the area to exceed expectations. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This beautiful, quiet location made for a great get away weekend for my wife and I. The accommodations were very comfortable and the breakfast was terrific! Our room was cozy and we loved the in-room two person Jacuzzi tub. Tori recommended a wonderful local restaurant for a special dinner and even made the reservations for us. Thanks to Tori and Robin our stay was very relaxing and pleasant. This is the place to stay if you are going to the Freeport/mid-coast area. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

It was delightful to have you here. We are so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that it provided the relaxation you were looking for. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
15.7 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.5 mi away
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $172 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing