We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a fantastic 2 night stay at the James Place Inn in March 2013. Robin and Tori could not be more friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious, as were the freshly baked cookies and brownies. We stayed in the Pine room which has a lovely fireplace that Robin made sure was "match-ready" for us each day. The Inn is in a perfect location, just a short walk to LL Bean and the outlets.

Room Tip: The Pine room has a wood fireplace which is great for a cozy winter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay here at James Place Inn. We are pleased to hear that the room, food and location were all to your liking and what you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
405
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SJ
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our fourth stay at The James Place Inn and it was exactly as we remembered, excellent! Tori and Robin are great hosts and they make you feel like family as soon as you arrive. They go above and beyond to help with anything you need. They're always ready to offer suggestions on restaurants, shops, and places to see near by.
You will never leave the breakfast table hungry. Robin (and Tori when Robin is away) knows how to cook. If you have room, I suggest you get the "Sampler Platter". It's a little bit of everything, but well worth it. They also have little goodies available throughout the day; just in case you get a little sweet craving mid-afternoon.
We've stayed in 4 out of the 7 rooms and love them all. The rooms are very clean and up to date.
The location of The James Place Inn is perfect. Leave your car in their driveway and walk to all of the shops. No need to worry about parking!
If you're planning a trip to Freeport book a room at The James Place Inn, you will not be disappointed. We've stayed at many highly recommended B&B's, but none compare to the service and quality you will find at The James Place Inn.

Room Tip: We've stayed in 4 out of 7 rooms at The James Place Inn and each room has something we like abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara_A4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We have said it before however, it bears repeating: we love seeing our return guests! It is like welcoming dear friends back and having a chance to catch up on what has been happening in everyone's lives. Congratulations to you two on that front! A busy year with a wedding and soon to be a new addition to your family. We are thrilled to hear this and cannot wait for more updates. Thank you for tkaing the time to write such warm thoughts here. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Maine
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Look no further for a place to stay in Freeport! You have found the ultimate Inn establishment!

Upon our arrival at the James Place Inn we found a new friend in Robin Baron! Greeting us warmly and offering freshly baked cookies he began by showing us the main floor of the Inn and on to our room, which was very well kept, updated, and comfortable! We knew right away that we had found a destination in Freeport. Robin made us feel right at home instantly! The following morning we awoke to wonderful aromas from the kitchen, and upon investigation found Robin hard at work preparing everything from pancakes to frittatas. Robin served us coffee and pointed us to some of his wife Tori's homemade granola. With fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, and of course the wonderful frittatas, breakfast was in fact the best we had ever had! (This statement is not exaggerated in the least.) Main street shops and excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance as well as the flagship store of this town - L.L.Bean. Having a hard time deciding where to go for good food and drink? Robin was ready with the perfect suggestions which was never a disappointment. We stayed for three nights and during that time Robin always had something new and interesting to share with us. Whether it be food or one of his many stories pulled from the memories of a full, well traveled life we came away from our stay feeling happy & rejuvenated. Our sincere thanks to Robin for making our stay a relaxing and memorable experience. We will definitely not be strangers!

Room Tip: The Green Room boasts wood floors, updated amenities, and a large jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivegotm0xie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the warm words and taking the time to write. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the inn, food and location all to your liking. We certainly hope you will not be strangers and we look forward to welcoming you back to James Place Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As a lover of savory breakfasts, I chose the James Place Inn for a long February weekend foray. It's always appreciated when B&B hosts know that many of us prefer savory to sweet foods in the morning. While waiting for the late risers in our family, I sat in the cozy kitchen talking to Robin as he prepared breakfast. Seeing the blueberry pancakes coming hot off the griddle proved to be much too tempting! Thankfully, Robin offers a "sampler platter" so the many, many breakfast offerings can be tried and choices don't need to be made. The pancakes were terrific, as was all of the food - from yogurt, fruit, and granola to the various egg, meat, and yes, the sweet dishes as well. Plus freshly baked goods including a wonderfully rich coffee cake hot from the oven.

The B&B was as everyone has described. Clean, and best of all, with warm hosts who really seem to love their work. The B&B is in a centralized location with easy auto access to Portland as well as outdoor areas such as Popham Beach. We stayed in the Blue Room as there were three of us, and it served us well. The last evening, we were kindly upgraded to the Pine Room so we could use the fireplace during the snowstorm, with a rollaway for the third person.

Robin and Tori were most accommodating, suggesting dining options and sending us home after the weekend with some of the extra baked treats. We look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family here and we enjoyed our morning chats and discovering how many places we had been or lived and had in common. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the feedback from previous guests was accurate! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I am woefully late in writing this review, but had to let everyone know this B&B is the BEST!!! My husband and I stayed here last summer. We had booked for a few days and loved it so much that we returned after driving north over night. Tori and Robin are the ultimate hosts. My husband was dealing with the aftermath of a brain injury and stroke and they were so kind! Their breakfasts are FABULOUS, but when he was cantankerous they fixed him a simple breakfast of his choice. Their sweet daughter Elyse made him her special scrambled eggs, which he loved. Robin helped me map out driving trips that hubby would enjoy and encouraged me to take advantage of the great adventure tours at LL Bean while hubby rested at the inn. I can't say enough about this wonderful experience. Spotless, comfortable rooms; unbelievable , delicious breakfasts; kind, wonderfully helpful, knowledgeable hosts...SIMPLY THE BEST!
Suzy and Garlton, Arkansas

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We hope it brought back all of the wonderful memories you had of your vacation here and throughout Maine. We remember you fondly and the mornings dining on the deck. You and your husband were truly delightful and just likes what he likes (don't we all)! Perhaps we will have the pleasure of your company again one day. Until then, our best wishes for continued good health.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

It was our recent pleasure to spend a wonderfully relaxing weekend at the James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine. We were greeted warmly by Robin who immediately made us feel welcome and comfortable. We later had the opportunity to chat with Tori over a very tasty breakfast. Robin's homemade treats were delicious as well. Tori and Robin were incredible hosts in every way. They felt like good friends and their personalities were enjoyable. Our room was a treat. We loved the hot tub at the end of our two nights. It was a lovely way to relax and unwind at the end of a busy day. The location was perfect for exploring the Freeport area. To sum it all up...A TRULY Wonderful place to stay with two exceptional hosts! We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: all rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the compliments and warm thoughts. It was truly a pleasure to have you all here and have the opportunity to get to know you a bit. The cold that weekend did not slow you down and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Jacuzzi at the end of the day. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed at the James Place Inn for years now as we attend Sparkle Weekend in Freeport. It is by far the best B&B in Freeport. The breakfast, and the afternoon treats, are delicious. Each year we arrive, it is like catching up with old friends when we see Tori and Robin. At the close of our weekend, we make reservations for the next year. (We even stay in the same room). We wouldn't consider staying any where else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Sparkle weekend is so much fun for us as well! We have a house full of guests that we see each year. It is great fun to catch up with everyone and also fun to see the guests greet each other as you all have gotten to know each other over the years. It is so fun in the morning to hear everyone chatting in the dining room. We so look forward to our visits with you. THank you for the kind words and taking the time to write this. We'll see you in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
935 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.8 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing