We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Verse, Same As The First”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 3, 2007

This was our second weekend at this hotel and we were not disappointed. The room was excellent, service wonderful and staff friendly. All within walking distance of Freeport shopping and LL Bean Summer Concert series. Who could ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank restaurantdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

A clean, modern, new hotel, located just a short walk from LL Bean and the shopping district. A great base of operations for a trip to Freeport. We liked our stay so much, we changed our reservation to stay again on our way back through town.

We stayed in a suite, which featured a bedroom that could be closed off from the living area. (An actual door between the living and sleeping rooms seems to be becoming more of a rarity - particularly at "suites" hotels - but no problem with the suite here.) The large bathroom has doors to both the living area and the bedroom.

The living area features a work desk (with Herman Miller chair), a sitting area with couch and large TV, and then a dining area with table and chairs. There is also a mini-fridge, kitchen sink, coffee maker, and microwave (along with cabinets for storage) in a "mini-kitchen" by the dining table.

The bedroom has another TV, separate climate controls, and a very comfortable bed with adjustable firmness on each side.

There's free WiFi throughout the property, and even the ability to print documents remotely to the 24-hour business center.

There is an attached restaurant and a separate bar, and the front desk has a small sundries shop for drinks and toiletries (but there's a large pharmacy just a short walk away.) The lobby area is very welcoming, with plush couches and chairs, a large fireplace (which must be nice when it's not August in Maine), and free coffee during the day. There is also nice outdoor seating on a patio.

Didn't take advantage of the indoor pool or fitness center on this trip, but we were very impressed with this property.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank primedir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

For the second year we stayed here for the fourth of July festivities. The hotel is great. You can walk everywhere. The service was top notch. Clean and friendly. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sb631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

I only required one nights stay as a layover on the way to Bar Harbor, but I picked the right place. This is obviously a new property and it shows. The facility was immaculate. Bright and sunny public areas, Clean, quiet, comfortable rooms. Good central location for hitting the Freeport shops. Very personable, professional staff. Thanks to Star at the front desk and the breakfast chef for his touch with the omlet. There were other amenities, but I did not have the chance to experience them on this brief stay. I will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

I stayed here for a girl's weekend in January. I loved the hotel. It is in a great location do to all the shopping in downtown Freeport. The pool was warm and clean. We ate in the lounge area and just had appetizers (nachos, buffalo chicken and potato skins) and they were fairly priced and delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationLover58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

We stayed at the Hilton for 2 nights while doing some after Holiday shopping at the outlets. We found the hotel and the room to be very clean and the staff to be professional. The room was pretty well appointed for the price range. There was a writing desk and an office type ergonomic desk chair; a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, spacious bathroom and plenty of pillows. There were sort of odd locations for outlets (these days most people travel with a cell phone charger, camera charger, etc.) and the outlets aren't always in the best locations, but are they ever? We did see the train tracks mentioned in other reviews, but never heard any trains. However, our room was in the front, so you may want to ask for a front room. The lounge had a good selection of appetizers if you need to grab a late afternoon snack after a full day of shopping. This hotel was priced more reasonably than some higher priced hotels. And one of the best things about this hotel was its location - amidst all the shops and close to LLBean. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank patlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Really pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

I think generally that Hilton brands (and the Garden Inn product specifically) are a pretty reliable experience, but there were some unexpected upsides here that made it a very enjoyable stay.

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of LL Bean and all of Freeport's outlets. The property is very clean and inviting, upon entering the lobby on Saturday evening it really had the feel of an independent hotel, with a lot of shoppers in the bar and lounging by the fireplace in the comfortable lobby.

Parking was easy at check-in, and plentiful overall, though later at night it may be necessary to park across the street in the hotel's lot. The lot seemed very safe and was close by, but given that a lot of the guests are doing some serious shopping, I would have liked a little more lighting to make you feel like you didn't have to unload the whole car to protect your purchases.

We chose the Hilton Garden Inn specifically for the comobination of location and pool, which made it enticing for a couple with two youing kids. It was a good choice. The pool was a hit with our three-year old. And, while it isn't the kind of grand affair that a swimmer could use to do their daily laps, even with a few families sharing the space, there was plenty of room for the kids to swim.

Still, be aware, the opol area (even the jacuzzi) is dominated by families and kids, not a romantic spot at all for a couple looknig to snuggle and bubble in the whirlpool.

After the swim, it was back to the room. Reliably appointed in Hilton/Sheraton/Marriot standard furnishing. Two double beds were a little soft for my taste, and the pillows were awful and too few. In fact, the night's sleep was one of the few disappointments of the stay.

Took a stroll out to the lobby bar, where they were more than acomodating in a bottle of beer and juice for the kids back to the room.

The workspace was big and clean, if a bit dark. Internet was easy to access and fast. TV was standard hotel issue, no unique or special programming. Had in-room video games if you were so inclined.

The two big surprises were 1) the active train tracks about 25 feet from the window, and 2) the GREAT room service and in-hotel Hilton restaurant.

The tracks are obvious to anyone who stays at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport, you have to cvross them to get there. Still, I guess we weren't expecting a train that close at night. It worked out for us, the train came through very slowly and the conductor even waved to the kids at the window. But, it was still alarmingly close, and I could see this really bothering some people.

The room service was great. After a little shopping, it was after 8 before we got the kids in bed and everything straightened up. We ordered a potato skin appetizer and a chicken caesar salad. It was unbelievably good. I expected one of those all-iceberg salads, rock hard croutons, some microwave chicken and a packet of dressing. Instead, got a leafy salad with very tender grilled chicken strips, and a great dressing on the salad.

The next day, the breakfast buffet was equally impressive. At $10 per person, it attracts locals and shoppers staying in other hotels, but it wasn't crowded and the portions were HUGE from the buffet line. Pancakes, eggs and omelettes made to order, a waffle iron on stand-by, breakfast meat, hash, potatoes and all the continental offerings.

Took another swim with the kids in the morning, and hit the road after a very enjoyable stay.

Great hotel for families!

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank OTR-WithTheKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
965 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
452 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $152 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing