We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

I only required one nights stay as a layover on the way to Bar Harbor, but I picked the right place. This is obviously a new property and it shows. The facility was immaculate. Bright and sunny public areas, Clean, quiet, comfortable rooms. Good central location for hitting the Freeport shops. Very personable, professional staff. Thanks to Star at the front desk and the breakfast chef for his touch with the omlet. There were other amenities, but I did not have the chance to experience them on this brief stay. I will go back.

  • Liked — Personable, professional staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    304
    51
    16
    5
See reviews for
341
399
30
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2007

I stayed here for a girl's weekend in January. I loved the hotel. It is in a great location do to all the shopping in downtown Freeport. The pool was warm and clean. We ate in the lounge area and just had appetizers (nachos, buffalo chicken and potato skins) and they were fairly priced and delicious.

  • Liked — Great location!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationLover58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

We stayed at the Hilton for 2 nights while doing some after Holiday shopping at the outlets. We found the hotel and the room to be very clean and the staff to be professional. The room was pretty well appointed for the price range. There was a writing desk and an office type ergonomic desk chair; a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, spacious bathroom and plenty of pillows. There were sort of odd locations for outlets (these days most people travel with a cell phone charger, camera charger, etc.) and the outlets aren't always in the best locations, but are they ever? We did see the train tracks mentioned in other reviews, but never heard any trains. However, our room was in the front, so you may want to ask for a front room. The lounge had a good selection of appetizers if you need to grab a late afternoon snack after a full day of shopping. This hotel was priced more reasonably than some higher priced hotels. And one of the best things about this hotel was its location - amidst all the shops and close to LLBean. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank patlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

Really pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

I think generally that Hilton brands (and the Garden Inn product specifically) are a pretty reliable experience, but there were some unexpected upsides here that made it a very enjoyable stay.

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of LL Bean and all of Freeport's outlets. The property is very clean and inviting, upon entering the lobby on Saturday evening it really had the feel of an independent hotel, with a lot of shoppers in the bar and lounging by the fireplace in the comfortable lobby.

Parking was easy at check-in, and plentiful overall, though later at night it may be necessary to park across the street in the hotel's lot. The lot seemed very safe and was close by, but given that a lot of the guests are doing some serious shopping, I would have liked a little more lighting to make you feel like you didn't have to unload the whole car to protect your purchases.

We chose the Hilton Garden Inn specifically for the comobination of location and pool, which made it enticing for a couple with two youing kids. It was a good choice. The pool was a hit with our three-year old. And, while it isn't the kind of grand affair that a swimmer could use to do their daily laps, even with a few families sharing the space, there was plenty of room for the kids to swim.

Still, be aware, the opol area (even the jacuzzi) is dominated by families and kids, not a romantic spot at all for a couple looknig to snuggle and bubble in the whirlpool.

After the swim, it was back to the room. Reliably appointed in Hilton/Sheraton/Marriot standard furnishing. Two double beds were a little soft for my taste, and the pillows were awful and too few. In fact, the night's sleep was one of the few disappointments of the stay.

Took a stroll out to the lobby bar, where they were more than acomodating in a bottle of beer and juice for the kids back to the room.

The workspace was big and clean, if a bit dark. Internet was easy to access and fast. TV was standard hotel issue, no unique or special programming. Had in-room video games if you were so inclined.

The two big surprises were 1) the active train tracks about 25 feet from the window, and 2) the GREAT room service and in-hotel Hilton restaurant.

The tracks are obvious to anyone who stays at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport, you have to cvross them to get there. Still, I guess we weren't expecting a train that close at night. It worked out for us, the train came through very slowly and the conductor even waved to the kids at the window. But, it was still alarmingly close, and I could see this really bothering some people.

The room service was great. After a little shopping, it was after 8 before we got the kids in bed and everything straightened up. We ordered a potato skin appetizer and a chicken caesar salad. It was unbelievably good. I expected one of those all-iceberg salads, rock hard croutons, some microwave chicken and a packet of dressing. Instead, got a leafy salad with very tender grilled chicken strips, and a great dressing on the salad.

The next day, the breakfast buffet was equally impressive. At $10 per person, it attracts locals and shoppers staying in other hotels, but it wasn't crowded and the portions were HUGE from the buffet line. Pancakes, eggs and omelettes made to order, a waffle iron on stand-by, breakfast meat, hash, potatoes and all the continental offerings.

Took another swim with the kids in the morning, and hit the road after a very enjoyable stay.

Great hotel for families!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank OTR-WithTheKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2007

I have been staying in Freeport for over 8 years and was quite happy when this Garden Inn opened. For those of you who know the chain, this one is fairly typical: clean, internet access, free business center, small gym, small pool. The breakfast is nothing spectacular, but adequate.. Staff are professional.

The best thing is the location. You can walk to all the major shops, cafes, and restaurants in downtown Freeport. The hotel is right by the railroad tracks, but I have never heard anything during at least 3 stays.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Nailtrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2007

I travel a lot for business and have come to love the Hilton Garden Inns. Stayed at this one for 20 days from late November to mid December and loved it. The thing I look for the most in a hotel is cleanliness and this place had it. The bathroom was spotless (not sure how old this place is so that could have been a factor if it is brand new). The room while not being furnished with the most modern of items, was kept very nicely.
While I was there it was unseasonably warm and I got to enjoy hiking in the local state parks Just an all around great place.

  • Liked — Cleanlines
  • Disliked — High speed internet was at times, not so high speed.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Supertech75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The hotel appears to be new and the location is wonderful. It is located just a block behind all of the outlet shops in Freeport, so it is easy to walk to the shops and not have to worry about finding a parking spot. The room was large and very clean. The staff was very friendly. We asked where we might find a good seafood restaurant and they told us of one that was fantastic. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Its cleanliness and location.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lkbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing