We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

First time staying at the Hilton. I did not find the bed that comfortable but my husband did so that must have just been me! Very convenient to all the shopping so you can walk easily. Also close to walk to a grocery store. No free breakfast provided for the price of the room which we were disappointed in but walked to Starbucks and ate there instead. Friendly staff, very clean. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! I am so sorry you did not find our beds to be comfortable during your visit. In the future, one of our king bedded rooms might work better for you. These have our Garden Sleep System beds, which are made to be adjusted to select the perfect level of comfort, from soft to firm. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Freeport!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    315
    55
    17
    5
See reviews for
357
423
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Freeport HGI several times, and they never disappoint. They go above and beyond to make sure that their guests are happy with their stay. The Front Desk staff is superior to most, they are helpful and take their time to make sure that you get the service that you should from an outstanding hotel. I have reviewed this hotel before a year or so ago, but wanted to leave a recent review as I count on Trip Advisor to guide me on my trips and want to help others make happy selections. Things may not always go right at the HGI but they correct it and make any length stay a pleasant one

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have the best views, but ask and they will do their best to get you a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel, not only once, but twice! Thank you for such a nice compliment about our Front Desk staff! We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wow! Beautiful redecoration in lobby and the garden theme carried out well. Was Guest of the Day which resulted in an upgraded room with goodies, meal coupons, etc. Gracious service and front desk reps were all courteous, eager to welcome and please.

Special kudos to Whitney - customer service above and beyond!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana13Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! I am so glad to hear you were chosen to be our Guest of the Day during your visit! I have shared your review with my team and we would like to thank you for your kind comments about our new lobby décor and your compliment about our customer service! Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A truly amazing hotel with fantastic and friendly customer service! Congratulations to the hotel manager and the managers of all of the departments who give such superior and exceptional service! The establishment is extremely clean as are the rooms and the bathrooms! The hotel is situated in a lovely quiet location in charming Freeport, Maine. I travel extensively and I stay in many different hotels on a frequent basis. This is definitely one of the best of the best! The customer service at the Freeport Hilton compares with some of the top rated hotels across the country!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our customer service and want to thank you for such an amazing compliment! Thank you again for your rave review and we look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you are in Freeport!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very happy with this hotel in Freeport. We have tried several locations in the Freeport area over the years, and for the price this is the best! An easy one to two block walk to the center of shopping, Beans, etc. They offer AAA and ARP rates, which makes it affordable for the area. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. Quiet sleeping! (many of the other affordable hotels in town are located along busy roads so that you end up with more road noise). We only heard a train bell once at 6:30AM and the next door TV through an adjoining door between our rooms.
There is a small indoor pool and hot tub, work out room, business center, bar and breakfast (extra charge), plenty of parking across street available.

Room Tip: Rooms along back do back up to RR tracks, but we only heard one quiet train at 6:30AM. Front facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay here with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about your stay and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel! I am so sorry the train noise bothered you during your visit. In the future, we do have rooms facing the front of the building that will be a bit quieter for you. We can always assign you to one of those if you request it! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,217 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We could not asked for more when we chose the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown. The garden surrounded the entrance, the cozy lobby, the comfortable room and plenty of parking spaces. The outlets and restaurants around the hotel kept us very busy on our free time. Much to our surprise, there were much more we can spend our time in this lovely community. We definitely will make it a destination rather than a stop over in the future. Repeatedly, the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown should be proud of their property.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your comments about your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Freeport. We appreciate your kind comments about our accommodations and our central location! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, SD, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As others have stated, this hotel is in a great location if you want to explore the shopping experience in downtown Freeport. However, it is enough off the beaten path that it is quiet, and the grounds are very attractive. The hotel itself is modern, clean, and comfy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only thing I would change is adding some free weights to the fitness center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for staying here with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We appreciate your kind comments about our accommodations and our grounds! Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
935 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
421 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing