We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$62
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$72
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Harraseeket Inn(Freeport)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveler rating
732
337
63
18
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
337
63
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain tracksgreat locationll beanwithin walking distancemain streetstores and restaurantsfire pittwo blockspark your carflagship storefront desk staffvery nice hotelplenty of parkingdefinitely stay here againoutlet shoppinggreat place to stayindoor pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
893 - 898 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is in a nice location within walking distance to LL Bean and lots of shopping and restaurants. The front desk was very efficient and very helpful with recommendations. The morning breakfast was hot, fresh and very tasty. Fresh fruit was always plentiful and good. There was plenty of variety and the staff was very attentive. The rooms are large and comfortable. Cleanliness was good. The facilities were in top shape and very pleasing visually. The hi speed internet was great and I was able to get perfect cell reception with both Verizon and AT&T. The only one issue is that the hotel sits right next to the train tracks. If you are in a room at the front of the hotel, you do not hear it. If you are in the back it could wake you up continually through the night.

Room Tip: Amtrak train tracks at back of hotel. If that can disturb you ask for room at front of hotel (I did not hear the trains at all, however colleague at back did multiple times during night).
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balloonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We are glad you enjoyed your time in Freeport and at our hotel! I am so sorry the train was a bother to you during your recent visit with us. The train does not go by the hotel past 9:30pm on the weekends and around 9:00pm during the weekdays. We try very hard to honor all requests for non-train facing rooms. We try to assign rooms on the front side of the building that do not face the train tracks and would be less noisy for guests. We can definitely assign you to one of those if you find yourself in Freeport again. Thank you again for your kind comments about our facility, the breakfast buffet we offer and our staff! We certainly hope to see you again the next time you are in the area!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel overall is nice but I could never get cellphone service in the room (I have both Verizon and AT&T phones and limited service in the lobby. I was there on business and for me this is a show stopper. Also for two weeks in a row they did not email my receipt as requested,

Room Tip: There are rooms that overlook an alley (like 228) that stay dark most of the day and probably contribute to the awful cellphone service.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! I apologize you found the cell phone service at the hotel limited. This is something we are currently working on, with our telecommunications center, to be fixed. We hope that in the future, you can give us another chance during your next Freeport visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a event in Lewiston but alot of the hotels in the area were booked. So even though it was about 25 minutes away we felt we can do some shoping in Freeport at night. We picked teh Hilton for location and I am not disapponited with the Garden Inn. We were not disappointed with thsi one at all. The location is great. It is two blocks from LL Bean but in a quite area of the town. It was very easy to walk to LL Bean and the other stores and restuarants in the area. We did have a first florr room inteh back and one sligth negative is that the hotel is next to the trains tracks. But there was not a lot of train traffic and when one passed by it was not loud. The trains have to slow down and use lower whistle in while passing through town. The interior of the hotel was nicely decorated and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall it was nice stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red-Barchetta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Freeport! We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay! We are happy you enjoyed your time at our hotel and in Freeport! Thank you for your kind comments about our facility and our staff! We to see you again the next time you are in the area!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I did not need to put in for a wake up call as the train came through right past my room at 6:30 AM every morning. Too bad I didn't want to wake up until 7:30. The train noise is very loud and I feel sorry for anyone having to stay on the tracks side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you so much for staying here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! I am so sorry the train was a bother to you during your recent visit with us. In the future, we do have rooms on the front side of the building that do not face the train tracks and would be less noisy for you. We can definitely assign you to one of those if you find yourself in Freeport again. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we hope to have you as our guest in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I picked this hotel for a weekend getaway because as a rule Hilton's are good and you don't have to worry about cleanliness and safety ... I was not disappointed. Located in a great area ... really is walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and things in the area ... extremely clean even the pool was immaculate ... my only complaint - which seems to be at every hotel - is they need bigger/better pillows (rented room with king size bed and had 3 very small pillows) and they never give you enough towels....other than that no complaints at all. Staff was excellent ... we had problem with heat and the maintenance guy knocked on the door not even 2 min. after I called the front desk ... very nice staff and overall a nice experience. We will stay there again as it was well worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We would like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our accommodations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you again the next time you are in Freeport!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews