We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rate for the Off Season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Rate for the Off Season”
Reviewed April 11, 2008

This hotel is considered to be in the Freeport Village. It is very close to the shops and to the LL Bean outlet. We were there in April, so there were not too many people there. That is probably why the rate was so good.

We stayed here on our way to Portland to catch our flight home the next day. It's about 30 minutes away.

It is a nice hotel. Everything was clean and well maintained. We ended up eating dinner there since many of the restaurants were closed until Spring. The food was very good.

It seemed as though most of the shops and other attractions were closed until Spring. We still enjoyed Freeport village and the hotel is in a perfect location. Check this place out during the busy season, if you go for the shopping.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Summerstime1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    309
    52
    16
    5
See reviews for
346
409
30
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

Stayed 2 nights. Very nice hotel, rooms clean and relatively new looking. Pool small but hot tub was great. Location good to walk around Freeport. Nice little boutiques, kitchen store, beads store, English goods store, etc. LL Bean flagship store is an experience. All within walking distance.
Only negative was we heard banging in the pipes in the wall when person next to us (?) was in the shower. That was annoying. It's not the most soundproof hotel either. But really the only annoyance was the pipe banging early in the morning.
We had a pkg that included full American breakfast which was very good and had a good selection.
Found the employees very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again.
Took excursion to Brunswick. Had a great health food store. Cute little main street to walk around. Gelato store was great too--gelato and the coffee.
On the way to Booth Bay there is a restaurant called Edgecomb Eatery (rt 27 I think?) on the right. Had the best lobster roll I have ever had. Large chunks of lobster and NO filler! We stopped there again on the way back from Booth Bay to get another one! Booth Bay is a seasonal town and most shops and restaurants were closed. It was still pretty to drive out on some of the "fingers" and see the ocean.
Ate at Haraseeket Inn in Freeport for lunch in the tavern; was just ok. Dinner in their main restaurant was good--had appetizers and a dessert. Very good service.
Map store on the way to Freeport from Portland airport was cool. The world's largest globe there was interesting too.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Small pool; banging pipes
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mizlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

Read reviews about this Hilton and all I remembered were complaints about the cost. We got two rooms between Christmas and New Years for under $100.00 per night each room. The price was great, the rooms very clean, front desk wonderfull and the breakfast buffet was well worth the money. The location , right in the middle of Freeport could not have been better for reaching all the STORES. Even though I'm not a shopper I enjoyed myself and our family would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank capecodder58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

The Inn is real close to LL Bean. We were unable to book a suite, so we settled for the standard room with a king-sized bed. The room was typically designed - no difference from rooms we have stayed in down the road. Bathroom door always seems to open into the tub and you have to close the oversized door before you can use the toilet. Two of the inn receptionists were cold, the others were fine. As for the in-house pub, forget it! Breakfast is fine, but dinner was a disaster 11.23.07. We sat next to a couple who we overheard complaining about their meal. We didn't think much of it, until our meals came. I ordered salmon which was okay, but was bland. My wife's pub-burger was delivered raw. She had ordered medium. We sent it back. The chef sent another which was so overdone that we couldn't swallow. I ate my meal alone. She ate alone also. The burger was $10. We got an apology from the waitress, but no help with the meal. We paid $143 per night with a 2 night stay which is far less than they usually charge, but even at that price the room is very overpriced. The other problem is that you have to book 2 nights when 1night is really enough time in Freeport. We'll go back to Comfort Suites down the road next time. One more thing - if you want a good meal - do not go the the "Mediterranean Grill", about 100 yards from the inn. We wasted our money there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Value & dining
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chiefarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Booked this hotel after studying Tripadvisor comments. We were very pleased with our choice. We stayed for two nights 22nd - 24th October.
Very easy and quick check in. Front desk staff were pleasant and friendly. Our King-bedded room was located on the second floor. It was a reasonable size, well decorated, with a comfortable armchair by the window. However, it was hardly ' a room with a view' because the window overlooked the wooden cladding of another wing of the hotel. This wasn't a major problem because we didn't need to spend more time than necessary in the room. The bathroom was very clean with a good supply of Neutrogena toileteries. The bed was very comfortable. Maid service was efficient and friendly.
We ate in the hotel restaurant, the first night, because we were tired after our leaf peeping tour of New Hampshire. The food was freshly cooked and very good. We congratulated the Chef who visited our table.
Reception had fresh cookies on the counter so, after dinner, we took a cookie instead of dessert. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate is also available to help yourself.
Hot breakfast was prepared to order at the counter; the buffet had yoghurts, cereals, fresh melon and pineapple as well as a waffle maker, toaster with selection of breads and muffins.
We used the hotel self laundry which was clean and efficient. There is one washer and one dryer - cost $2 in quarters for washer, $1 in quarters for dryer, $0.75 for Wisk liquid in a packet from dispenser. Whilst waiting for washing we utilised the very well equipped business centre with freeinternet access, printers etc.
We were able to park car in car park in front of hotel and walk to local shops. There is a large car park for LL Bean and parking beside other outlet shops.
The second nght we ate at The Azure Cafe - see review.
This hotel is recommended for comfort, cleanliness and hospitality.
We booked a bed and breakfast rate of $171 which we considered a good deal even though there are hotels in the area which were cheaper.
We loved LL Bean. This was our second visit to Freeport for shopping but the first time we have stayed overnight. We would visit Freeport again and would definitely stay at the Hilton.

  • Liked — Comfortable, well decorated, clean: friendly, efficient staff.
  • Disliked — view from hotel room window
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cahow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We recently spent two nights at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport at the end of September. For as much as Freeport is a VERY busy town - I would hesitate to call it downtown!

Unlike many people who were probably in town for tourist activities: lots of shops and restaurants and of course LL Bean we were there to attend a quarterly meeting. Of course we took in our share of tourist activities as well.

This hotel is quite new and expansive. It is located approximately one block east of Main Street; it is a simple walk to just about anywhere in town. Across the street from the hotel is a large lit free parking lot.

I had every intention of posting a number of pictures - which tell the story better than words - but unfortunately my camera's battery was dead and I didn't bring the charger. (Uses non-standard batteries.)

Check-in and check-out was fast and efficient. And my request upon check-in for a change in the room was also quickly addressed. The rooms were large and with numerous amenities. And the entire property was very clean as well.

Our rate included breakfast and it was a great deal. Nice bright sitting area and excellent combination of cooked food along with fruit, cereals, breads, etc. You can also cook your own waffles. There's also a small bar area that's open in the evening - they had a few pretty good beers on tap.

The only complaint we had was the rate - even with reservations well in advance the pricing seems to take advantage of the location. If you want a great hotel in the middle of the "downtown" Freeport action - this is probably the place. If you're looking for a more quaint, out of the way coastal Maine place to stay I'd suggest elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location, secure, quiet
  • Disliked — Price is higher than what I would expect
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

This was our second weekend at this hotel and we were not disappointed. The room was excellent, service wonderful and staff friendly. All within walking distance of Freeport shopping and LL Bean Summer Concert series. Who could ask for anything more.

  • Liked — Proximity to Freeport Village
  • Disliked — Our room this stay had no view. We looked out at the wall of another wing.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank restaurantdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing