We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and affordable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and affordable!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We spent a very good night in this comfortable and affordable Hilton Garden Inn within walking distance of LL Bean. Rooms are spacious and have everything you could ever want (hot drinks and coffee pot, microwave, refrig, iron and board, hair drier etc), beds are very comfortable, and breakfast buffet delicious and hearty! We bought the B&B option and it was well worth it: omelets made to order, fresh fruits and yogurts, make your own Belgium waffles, etc! Staff at desk was friendly and helpful, pool is quite small but adequate, hot tub felt great!
I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srmonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    312
    54
    16
    5
See reviews for
354
414
30
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The people at the desk went above & beyond to make sure we got the room we wanted/needed and were happy with everything. We have stayed at this property before and not been 100% happy but I can say that this is definitely not the case now. It was awesome! Pool was good, hotel is family-friendly. The breakfast is a bit expensive but typical of a Hilton Garden Inn. Location can't be beat in Freeport. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilac7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Drove up to Freeport to do a little shopping at LL Bean and all the other outlets. We weren't planning on staying the night but decided against driving home, I usually keep an overnight bag packed so clothes weren't an issue (and I wanted to do more shopping in the morning). Checked in at the Hilton and what a wonderful surprise. The rate was reasonable and the king size room was great. Very big with a chair, desk, mini fridge and microwave. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning in their restaurant was great. The chef made omelets, eggs, pancakes and french toast to order. You could make your own Belgium Waffles. Yummy. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is our first trip to Freeport - actually to Maine. We stayed here two nights. The front desk was friendly and accommodating - let us check in early. We basically put everything in the room( which was very clean) and went shopping. This hotel is within walking distance of shopping, eateries, and the new movie theater. We stopped back at the hotel before going to dinner and a movie. The bed which is supposed to have duel controls to adjust from soft to firm did not function. While we were out for the evening, the front desk said they would have maintenance look at it. We arrived back at the hotel about 10:30 pm and the front desk said they would move us to another room, but it was so late. However, after being almost swallowed by a mattress, I was awake at 3 am and could not get back to sleep. At 7 am., we visited the front desk again, and they did give us another room. They did not charge us for the first night and gave us a complimentary buffet breakfast - it was very good and the waitress was very friendly. The hotel wanted us to be satisfied, I think they succeeded. If you visit this hotel, check the mattress before you unpack all your stuff. It will save everyone's sanity.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldog07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Just recently spend a weekend up at this hotel which was chosen by our swim team for a weekend meet. I usually stay at "the other big company's properties" but the team chose this one, so here we stayed.

And back we will come.

Aside from the restaurant side, the service was outstanding, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to support staff. This is a very clean and roomy hotel that compares very favorably against some of the best I have stayed at. The location is only about a football field away from L.L. Bean, so shopping and food are pretty much handy. I was expecting less, and got a whole lot more.

The restaurant side was a bit different. They tried hard to accomodate us, but by offering varied menus to a crowd that descended almost all at once quickly swamped the table and kitchen staff. Food for dinner was very tasty (once it came) with good portions, but breakfast was so-so. Not a turnoff, if anything the ambition of the kitchen is something to applaud.

So if you need a hotel in the area and don't mind "crossing loyalty lines" if you don't normally go to Hilton Hotels, from our experience, you would be nuts to travel longer distances with a really good property right here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DieselDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Reception and restaurant staff go way beyond the level of interaction than we find in other hotels.The rooms are very clean and well stocked. The pool and the hot tub are the perfect temperature.Coffee and tea are served late afternoon with cookies. The breakfast is reasonable in price and you can get anything from Maine Blueberry pancakes or my favorite, pineapple upside down pancakes, to any kind of eggs and waffles with berries and whipped cream. There's also bacon, sausage, etc, etc....Yummy, hot and cooked to order. You feel like you're home when you stay here; and someone else is cooking and cleaning for you. !!!

Room Tip: Room 315, a suite facing downtown, very quiet, near elevator.All the rooms we have stayed in are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIRHR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Suite

Very nice rooms, clean, friendly staff.

Enjoyed our stay

Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchvegas_03103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
926 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
415 reviews
17.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing