We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so hot!”
Review of The Freeport Cafe

The Freeport Cafe
Ranked #2 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: The Cafe serves breakfast all day! We also serve lunch and dinner including some of our guests favorites like Fried Full Belly Clams, Baked Haddock and our delicious Reuben. A local hotspot! We make all items from scratch. Baking fresh muffins every morning, and homemade soups daily. We serve award winning Clam Chowder every day! Open daily at 6 AM to 8 PM. Kids menu, bottled beer & wine. Daily specials can be found on our Facebook page.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not so hot!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Went for lunch and was SO disappointed. Place seems to have gone down hill. Soup was horrible and sandwich minimally good. Won't return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelajoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Manager at The Freeport Cafe, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I am so sorry to hear that you had that experience with us. We occasionally miss the mark but always do our best to catch the situation in a timely manner so we can remedy it. The menu hasn't changed much in the past few years. I do hope you try us one more time. Thanks for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    102
    36
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Freeport Cafe - Excellent”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Excellent service, food and value. A must stop. The Freeport Cafe is a great breakfast lunch or dinner choice. All menu choices we have had over the many trips to the Freeport area have been super. Great clam chowder.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Manager at The Freeport Cafe, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for visiting and taking the time to comment. Our clam chowder has won awards! What is even better is that people love the clam chowder and keep coming back! In fact, some will take a quart to go! Looking forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently consistent”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We marvel at the Freeport Cafe and how they serve good comfort-style food no matter what day or time you visit. Their menu is not extensive but more than adequate. You can order breakfast, lunch, or dinner items at anytime of day. The service is efficient and the servers and manager are always on top of their game. The prices are reasonable. If you are heading into Freeport on route 1 just over the Yarmouth line and feeling hungry, you ought to avoid downtown Freeport summer traffic and first get a tasty meal and excellent deal at this "wicked good" restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Manager at The Freeport Cafe, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments and review. I especially appreciate that you mentioned the managers along with the servers. We do our best to work as a team to create a friendly and effecient restaurant while serving good food at a reasonable price. When we are at the top of our game, we do just that. Thanks for visiting. Looking forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lobster rolls”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have been to the Freeport Cafe many times and was happy to stop mid week, mid afternoon when there would be no lines. In fact it was deserted. We both had lobster rolls which were a good value. The price of lobster meat is low this summer, and it was good that the price ($12.99) charged reflected this. Lobster was tasty and served on a grilled hot dog roll with minimal extras. Ice tea was OK, a bit weak. My only real gripe is that all the silver ware was dirty - either with stuck on food or smudged. We didn't need any for what we ate, but it was a turn off.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birdwalk48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Manager at The Freeport Cafe, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for visiting our cafe. We appreciate that you took time to comment on your visit with us. During the summer we get fresh lobster meat daily for our grilled lobster rolls. We often offer specials featuring fresh lobster too! I am disappointed to hear about the silverware! We are usually very careful when setting a table and plating our food. Occasionally details slip our attention. I am sorry that you had that experience at our café. I do hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of food, great service, in-expensive.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is an excellent family restaurant - when you have to feed 5 or 6 people - they serve breakfast all day and nite and it is the best value on the menu. Be advised - the portions here are VERY large; most breakfasts (pancake and egg combo) will easily feed 2 adults (and maybe a small child too).
Super-friendly wait staff who really seem like they enjoy their jobs and will never let your coffee cup go empty. One word of caution - the breakfast combos are very inexpensive ($6-7) but EVERYTHING else is a la carte - a cup of tea or coffee is $2, a small serving of local maple syrup for your pancakes is $2, etc, so ask how much things are before you order them or you may be surprised at the bill.
Definitely a nice place to eat in the neighborhood and does get crowded at breakfast time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAYBIRD1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Manager at The Freeport Cafe, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for visiting our café! I am happy to hear about our super-friendly wait staff. We like to have fun especially in this very busy part of the season. We also enjoy seeing the surprised-look when we bring out the cinnamon roll, another large portion item! Keeping your coffee cup full is my favorite thing to do. Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of our café! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Freeport Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Freeport Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing