We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't step on the floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Freeport
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed March 5, 2007

Booked online to stay at this hotel, and was disappointed. The room doors open right to the outside, no indoor corridor, but there was only one lock on the door. The floor had not been vacuumed and there were hairs and fluff and dirt particles all over it. There was no hair dryer, fridge, coffee/tea facilities. The heat and hot water did work, and the sheets were clean, but I couldn't allow my baby to crawl around. The next morning, although the breakfast was advertised as starting at 7:00am, at 7:15am the doors still were not unlocked, and some of our party had to get the office girl who they'd seen setting food out, to unlock the dining area. This girl was wearing a stained pink sweatshirt and had dirt under her fingernails. Later at 9:30 there was no food left except a bowl of bananas. Each banana's skin had a large split down the side, looked like supermarket rejects. Unsanitary. At checkout, there was a problem over the bill and the same single girl manning the office took twenty minutes to dither through the computer system to sort it out. She didn't know how to do it, and called her supervisor twice on the phone, and he never came to help her in person. She looked about 17, and was not professional in appearance or manner. Overall, I was just disgusted by the floor in the room and the horrible breakfast which was inedible. I would not stay here again.

Thank envoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlinBob-D, owner at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2007

We apologize for your experience. There are no excuses that can justify your experience.

We want to assure you, however, that you caught us at the worst possible moment - we are in the process of renovating the hotel, retraining all staff, buying new or refurbishing all housekeeping equipment and we have a new manager in training.

If you send a copy of your bill, along with this message, we will send you a "Welcome Back" certificate to stay with us once our renovations are complete.

Thanks for your feedback - please know we are working hard to exceed our guests expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Freeport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 291 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2007

This hotel was clean and we were treated very nice. However, it had snowed and we had to step threw the snow to get to our door. Plowing wasn't the best but a good buy while traveling. We only stayed one night. Easy to find. Nice breakfast area with good selection and well stocked.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MacPooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

I had to write this review because I was simply amazed at the quality of this "low priced" hotel. I normally stay at 3 or 4 star hotels and the cleanliness was comparable or better at this Econolodge. The staff were very friendly and they made an accomadation for me with no problem. I suppose I had a preconceived notion about lower priced hotels but I was really surprised. This hotel is less than two minuets from downtown Freeport shopping and seconds from the highway. The outward appearance is appealing also. I am very impressed. Consider this hotel if you want quality without spending a lot of money.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlinBob-D, Owner at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2007

Thank you!

If you visit after April you will find even more value. We are thoroughly renovating our rooms, upgrading some amenities and adding more to our complimentary continental breakfast. We are also investing in staff and management training to provide you with the Best Value in Maine!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
mass.
11
Reviewed May 28, 2006

Was very disappointed to find NO iron, NO hairdryer, NO tissues...also, shampoo/soap dispenser in the shower was completely empty and the ice machine was not near the lobby but upstairs. Staff at front desk unconcerned that Items not available.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlinBob-D, Owner at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2007

As new owners (we took over in November of 2006) we can certainly understand the frustration that guests may have had under the previous management.

Our extensive room renovations and amenity upgrades are being completed over the winter months.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will stop and take another look. We are committed to providing the best value in the area.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2005

I would not recommend this place to anyone. It was dirty, the shower leaked and the staff was less than helpful. I had booked this online and requested a cot because I was travelling with my teenaged son and niece and needed 3 beds. They don't have cots (what motel or hotel doesn't?) and since I had prepaid and couldn't get a refund we were stuck there. It certainly made it easy to leave for a long drive early the next day! There are many nice, moderately priced places in Freeport - this is not one of them.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MPMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stockholm, Maine
15
Reviewed June 5, 2005

Our family stayed at the Econolodge, formerly the Coastline Inn in Freeport on June 5th, and weren't happy with the accommodations. First of all, the room wasn't clean; the bedding wasn't clean, and the bathroom fixtures were old and rusty...There was mildew on the walls around the bathtub that was old and very dirty, and contained cracks. We did not use the shower..Very shabby. I would not recommend anyone staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aidenadara, Mnagement at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2006

This hotel has in the past month come under new ownership and management. I am very sad to read some of these reviews and would love to make them right!

We have worked hard to improve this hotel since we took over. We have added more items to our Continental Breakfast, as well as added a new buisness center. More updated and additions are coming soon.

Our rates are more reasonable, and our staff is even more friendly as we work hard to make every guest, past, preasent, and future, happy!

I do hope that those who in the past had an unsatisfactory stay will give us a try again. give us a call and book your next stay!

Thank you for those who commented and enjoyed their stays, We look forward to accomidating you again. We hope that you enjoy our updated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2004

We stayed at the Coastline Inn in Freeport Maine the Columbus Day weekend for one night to get some shopping in before returning home. The inn was clean and the staff was friendly. We all agreed it was great place to stay and great value for a family just stopping for the night. Great shopping in Freeport!

Thank Hedgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
2.4 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
1.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range: $61 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing