We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Freeport
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Roselle Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Damp Room”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Although the staff was extremely friendly, and provided recommendations for nail salons to restaurants, I would not book here unless there was nothing else available in the area. The first floor room we had was very damp -- to the point where all of our clothes were damp after one day of hanging in the closet area and all of the bedding was damp. The air conditioning was very outdated and didn't work properly, and was extremely noisy. Instead of maintaining a temperature, sporadic blasts of cold air would chill us only for a minute or two. The bathroom and changing area is very small, and there is no privacy in the dressing area. We thought that a curtain that could be pulled across the changing area doorway would've been a good idea (and if there was one to keep closed, maybe our clothes in the closet area wouldn't have gotten so damp). We did have a refrigerator and microwave in our room, which was nice since we had leftovers from dinner one evening. We only got breakfast there one morning, but took it back to our room since the dining area is very small. The orange juice seemed watered down, but the bagels tasted fresh and the self-made Belgian waffles were good. Bottom line is, we got what we paid for at the only available hotel in the area and we wouldn't do it again. I'd rather be further away than to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is very strange and unfortunate that your room was so damp to the point that all of your clothes were wet and the bedding. We are looking into the ventilation in this room to ensure that this does not happen, as it is obviously a very uncomfortable situation. We are definitely going to be upgrading our older AC units in the offseason, so that should help with the air flow in the room. The curtain idea is a great suggestion! We wish that these problems had been brought to our attention when they occurred as we would have done all we could to fix them for you. Thank you for this feedback as it is very helpful in discovering what is wrong and what we need to improve. If you would like to speak further about this, please call me at 207-865-3777 and I would be glad to talk about it. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    103
    64
    36
    26
See reviews for
73
119
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After reading some other TripAdvisor reviews we were expecting a clean, modest hotel stay. I'm not sure if rooms on the other floors are somehow better maintained, but we were very disappointed to find that our first floor room was outdated, the bathroom floor had bits of dried toilet paper stuck all over it, the shower smelled mildewy, the A/C was old and noisy enough that we turned it off and control buttons were grimy and semi-corroded with age, the minifridge was old and dented, there was only one outlet to use to recharge phones and there both flies and mosquitos buzzing around the room.

Granted, this is their busy season and the sole hotel staff person on duty seemed busy. And I can even look past outdated appliances and furniture, as this is an economy hotel. But there is just no excuse for such poor cleaning and maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent experience! I am very sorry that your stay did not exceed your expectations. As you have seen by reading other TripAdvisor reviews, this is not the norm for us. There is no excuse for the poor cleaning and maintenance that you indicated, and wish we could have given you a better room, or cleaned your room properly to begin with. Trust that this information has been passed along to both our housekeeping and maintenance departments and we are working hard to make every guest's experience a great one. If you would like to reach out to me personally, please do so by calling 207-865-3777 and I would be happy to talk about your experience. Thank you again for this helpful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Caribou, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This property is a great place to stay. Needed a cot the night we got there and there was one waiting there for us in our room. Nice breakfast. A welcomed place to come after traveling all day. Would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oleander3-117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you felt it was a "lovely place to stay" and that you felt welcomed upon arrival. We hope that you will stop by if you are ever in the Freeport area again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

After researching places to stay in the Freeport area I found this to be a good value. We only needed a room for one night as we were traveling to a few different areas in Maine. I found the front desk staff to be very friendly. The room was very clean and suited our needs. It was quiet and the location was good. The beds were comfortable and the water pressure for the shower was good. The free breakfast was ok but the room where we ate was small. I would book a room here again in the future. If you plan on staying on the 2nd floor be prepared to carry your luggage up the steps as there isn't an elevator.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel about your experience! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff and cleanliness of your room. It is great that you felt you received value in the Freeport area during our peak season. We hope that you will book a room with us in the future and pass the word along! Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had three rooms on the second floor and stayed for two nights. The rooms were on a small size, but we expected it considering the price. None of the rooms had fridges or microwaves, it was abit of an issue, since we had to store milk for a toddler somewhere. So if it's important for you, make sure you ask for a room with a fridge. WiFi was better than in some more expensive hotels. Breakfast is adequate, and there are tables and chairs scattered around the hotel, so some people would have their breakfast outside (dining area inside is pretty tight). The location is perfect if you're visiting Freeport area. We drove to Portland one day and wasn't too bad. I would definitely recommend the hotel for its cleaniness and the staff friendliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milla18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review for us! It is unfortunate that none of your 3 rooms had a fridge, but we are hoping to get many more in the off-season to fill the rest of the rooms. Thank you for complimenting the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us again and be sure to ask for a fridge if you do! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

In the freeport area for the Yarmouth Clam Festival. This was our second stay here for the Clam Festival and we saw an improvement in the room this year compared to last year. The rooms are neat clean and comfortable. The room rate was very reasonable compared to other motels in the area. It is well situated for trips to Yarmouth and the outlets in Freeport. They supply a contential breakfast. The staff is helpful for any requests and directions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrig and microwave, not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmastrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay the second time around as well. Thank you for the compliments about the cleanliness, value, and friendly staff. We appreciate that you noticed some of our upgrades! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machias, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Worst night I have ever had at a hotel. Up all night long people coming in all hours of the night waking me and my wife up. Slamming doors, kids running around up stairs stumping there feet. I stayed year earlier in the year and had a little noise but still thought I would try it again, I will never stay here again.I had to make a complaint with the front desk at 12:30 in the morning went down there and they asked what room I was in and they said they were going to see what they can do I asked for my money back we will see if they will give it back. 165.00 to stay here for absolutely awful night. Couldn't leave to go to another hotel because everyone was booked solid, no vacancy anywhere.

Room Tip: First ask what's there policy on noise complaints. And do they stand by there rules.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodcritic1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We strive to provide every guest with a comfortable, satisfactory stay and unfortunately that did not happen with your stay. I am very sorry for this. We generally do not have any noise complaints even when we are sold out, as we are every night in the summer. The front desk staff did investigate the problem when you complained at 12:30am, and was unable to find anyone making the noise. I do apologize that your stay was not a good experience, and discounted your room accordingly. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
2.3 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
1.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Property: Econo Lodge Freeport
Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing