We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Freeport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Freeport
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very nice hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were able to check out our room before checking in. The breakfast was very good. Love the waffles! I will definately stay at this hotel the next time I visit Freeport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for your review! We are pleased that you found the hotel to be a "great place to stay." Thank you for the compliments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast and especially the waffles. We are grateful for this wonderful feedback and look forward to serving you again the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    95
    58
    35
    22
See reviews for
67
112
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice, clean room, reasonable rates, comfortable bed, easy access, great parking, nice breakfast. It was quiet despite being right on Route 1. WiFi reliable. What more could you ask for when staying at an Econolodge?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKHteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for writing a review about your recent stay! We are very grateful for all of the compliments regarding your room, breakfast, reliability of the Wi-Fi, location, and most importantly the rate. We strive to have top-notch accommodations at a reasonable price. We are glad you were satisfied with your experience. We hope to see you in the future if you return to the Freeport area! Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Room was clean and spacious and staff were EXCELLENT. It was a great check-in, speedy and efficient. Breakfast was standard for included with room--toast, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, etc. The breakfast room was crowded but this was due to the fact they were busy.
Staff gave good recommendations for nearby restaurants.
Our room was quiet with no noise from adjoining rooms.

Room Tip: Short drive to LL Bean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonhobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us such an excellent review! We are so pleased that you were satisfied with your stay. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff and your room. I apologize for the breakfast room being crowded, but thank you for understanding why. We greatly appreciate all of this feedback, and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived late and didn't want to pay much for a room we would only sleep in for a few hours.We got what we paid for.Except the next night we were in Boston and paid exactly the same and had a much better room.The first comment my husband had when he walked in was that he hasn't seen a tube in a tv in a hotel in years.Just minutes later we smelled wire burning and it was the tv.No help for the woman on the shift to replace with another tv so he helped her and changed it out for another tv.The woman was very nice though so the help gets a high rate.Bathroom and beds were extra small also.

Room Tip: Not good for a lot of time spent in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank putty4995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for writing us a review! I do apologize that your stay was "just OK," and that your TV malfunctioned. You will be happy to know that all of our tube TVs are now gone and have been recently replaced with 32" flat-screen TVs. I am glad that the front desk was courteous in helping switch out your TV with one that worked. We appreciate your husband's help as well! I hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in the Freeport area again, as we would love to show you the rooms with the upgraded TVs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The front desk staff was efficient and friendly. Our room was not very large and the bathroom was tiny. Unfortunately, our room had stains on the wall and a VERY wet carpet beneath, so obviously someone had spilled water or drinks down the back of the table. Also there were what I think were wine drips on the bathroom floor and worst of all, body hair on the bathroom floor. We stayed 2 nights and the stains remained on both days. However, the bed was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast room was too small, the food available was average. An OK stay but we'll try for something else next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for writing a review! We are grateful for all feedback, good and bad, as it allows us to see what we can improve. Thank you for the compliments regarding the staff and the cleanliness and comfort of your bed. I am so sorry that you found the floor to be wet under the desk and that there were stains on the wall. This should have been taken care of prior to renting the room to you. I do apologize that housekeeping did not see the stains and did not clean your bathroom properly. I assure you that your experience was well below the high standards to which we hold our staff, and I do apologize. Your feedback is very valuable to us as we know what we need to do to make our team better. We do hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in the Freeport area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Front desk courteous, Restaurant recomendation turned out badly, room was clean, bathroom was clean, tv up to date flat screen, room had fridge and microwave, room was spartan, one night stay, price was right

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel about your recent experience. We are pleased that you had a good stay and the "price was right." We appreciate your compliments about the staff and room cleanliness, but do apologize that you had a poor dining experience elsewhere. We hope that you will stay with us again if you ever return to Freeport! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was here about 3 years ago and they treated me well, so came back. It's still a good news story.

The property is about 25 years old and outside, you can still see the occasional bit of deferred maintenance waiting to be completed. It is very solid construction and no squeaky floors or rattling furniture or sound transfer that you find with older motel properties from the 50's and 60's.

Inside, the rooms are all modern with newer carpet and tile and great beds. House-keeping is great and rooms are well maintained. There was one tiny construction/planning oddity in the room we had. The bath and toilet are in a separate room and the door was framed about a half inch too close - so the door caught on the toilet seat when you went to close the door. No big problem - lift the seat, close the door, lower the seat - not rocket science, just a bit of an oddity that didn't affect the stay.

The breakfast area seats 20 and gets a bit crowded at peak times, but people tend to turn-over the tables fairly quickly, so no major inconvenience. No matter how busy, the staff were very good about keeping items replenished and the last person to arrive for breakfast gets the same choices as the first person in the door. Breakfast is fairly standard (cereals, bagels, muffins, toast, apples, orange and apple juice, coffee) with the nice addition of a waffle maker to cook fresh hot waffles.

Staff are all extremely pleasant and efficient. The rates are decent for the offering, with discounts for AAA. Great coupon special if you get hold of the book. A great choice for a basic, no frills stay in the area. [Ask the staff for directions to the Freeport dock (just a couple of miles) and enjoy a great no-frills seafood lunch or dinner at the Harraseeket Lunch and Lobster (see separate review).]

Room Tip: I prefer further from the office, near the back of the property, away from the roads. There is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawki56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for writing such a great review about your stay! We are happy that you have stayed with us in the past and that you came back to try us again. We appreciate your compliments regarding the decor of the rooms, housekeeping, breakfast, and the staff. Thank you for understanding the oddity in your room and that the breakfast room does get a bit crowded when we are full. We value your compliments and suggestions. Thanks again for staying with us. We are happy you had a satisfactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Property: Econo Lodge Freeport
Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing