We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasently suprised and got a great deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derosier's Market

Derosier's Market
Ranked #22 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasently suprised and got a great deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Decided to take a road trip with my daughter up the coast of Maine. We don't have much money so we were frugal about most things but I didn't want to leave the Southern Coast of Maine without having a lobster roll. It's a must do for any Maine vacation. We happened upon this place walking the main shopping area and it (like every other place in the area) boasts "best lobster roll in Maine". I was skeptical, but couldn't pass up the price of $9.99. What a great deal! The lobster roll was fresh and simple. Basically, a whole lobster on a bun with a little mayo, lettuce, salt & pepper that's it. I think the real art of making the perfect lobster roll is to just let the lobster shine. All of the other ingredients should take a back seat. There were plenty of other sandwiches to choose from as well. My daughter had the cheesesteak & it was decent, but we are from NJ/Philly area so we're a bit biased. I say, order a cheesesteak when you're in Philly, but when you're in Maine get the lobster roll! This place was small and the staff were friendly. I would recommend this to other travelers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyjean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll in Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

For only $9.99 we had a delicious, meaty and fresh lobster roll! We went twice during our July 4th weekend getaway. The sorbet was also very good. I had strawberry vinaigrette which was surprisingly good. They're also one of the few places open late and close to outlets. We would definitely go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StarryMight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Huge portions of ice cream and friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found Derosier's on a very hot day and were drawn in by the ice cream on the sign that could be viewed a block away. What a pleasant surprise once inside to find a quaint local hangout with a large variety of cool treats. The soft serve and hand-scooped ice cream servings were HUGE and were reasonably priced. (I was thrilled to find a childhood favorite-- crunch-cote/twinkle-cote topping!) The young man operating the busy ice cream section was friendly and very patient with kids who were indecisive on their selection.

We were able to score a booth to enjoy our ice cream and were able to absorb some of the local culture with the regulars who came and went and were able to see the regular menu posted on the wall. Will definitely return on our next trip to Freeport and enjoy a meal (and dessert!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hfitzger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dependably good. Sandwiches, pizza, ice cream. 3 booths. Lots of beverage choices in the coolers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We love this little spot. It has a great history too. And you can see some of the original place with the authentic tin ceiling and, in places, on the walls.

Small, inexpensive, deli-style. Less than a block from L.L.Bean, right on the main drag. Plenty of options for sandwiches, wraps and all the fixings. Decent pizza. Nice place to save a little dough and be sure to read up on the history available on the menu.

Always good. Family friendly. Servers are always friendly and prompt. This is a nice little spot we return to over and over again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mango_kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“More eatery than market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had heard one of the locals advise a young couple to get their pizza at Derosier's so stopped in for lunch. The market has been here since the early 1900's run by the same family. They have an extensive menu of cold and "toasty" sub sandwiches as well as pizzas (whole or by the slice). The subs are either whole (12 inch) or half and are excellent. There is an assortment of beverages (my wife had tea and I had blueberry lager). There are only three small booths as most of the business is take out.
Well worth a stop

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1kramer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derosier's Market also viewed

 

Been to Derosier's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing